No Noodle Lasagna Recipe

January 31, 2009 at 10:57 pm 16 comments

lasagna  Lasagna without noodles almost seems like a tragedy, or something out of a strange dream but I was pleasantly surprised when my best friend brought this dish over after my daughter (little PeeWee) was born.  I had been telling her that I really miss my mother’s lasagna.  My mom is Italian and she knows how to make lasagna but making lasagna is somewhat of a lost art that I never had the patience to learn so my box of gluten free lasagna noodles has been sitting in the cupboard for probably two years! Every time I see it I think “Man, I miss my mom’s lasagna.” Talk about a bad dream I’m seriously keeping stale noodles for sentimental value.  But sadly even before going gluten free she quit making lasagna when one of the relatives exclaimed (of a Stoffer’s frozen version) “This is the best lasagna I’ve ever had!”

This is not the best I’ve ever had but it sure hits the spot and it’s a cinch to throw together.

Gluten Free Goof’s New Favorite No Noodle Lasagna:

no noodle lasagna

Do I really have to go there?  (Shopping List):

If you have most of the stuff on this list you can relax, light some candles take  a bath, save some gas! YIPEE! Well I don’t know about the bath but at least you would have time to send that thank you to your grandmother for the nice baby gift.  Miss Manner’s said it is better to get a thank you card late than never at all. Oh wait we are making dinner…

  1. rice
  2. eggs
  3. parmesan cheese
  4. shredded cheese
  5. cottage cheese
  6. 1 lb lean ground beef
  7. 2 jars spaghetti sauce

If I can do it you can do it! (The Recipe):

Everybody likes this recipe in our house.  Well, all but one and he will even eat a plate of it if he “has to”!  Tonight when I made this recipe as written I realized it needed a little tweaking.  Since this is a  popular recipe on my blog I left the old version just in case anyone couldn’t live without it! :)  Even if you are stopping by well after the publish date feel free to leave feedback and/or comments. I always welcome the conversation.

  • 3 Cups 4 Cups cooked and cooled rice (Cook the rice before you write the thank you.)
  • 2 eggs 3 eggs
  • 1/2 Cup+ 2tbs Parmesan cheese (Tell you what, just use what works-mix some in and save a  little for the top!)
  • 2 Cups shredded cheese (I don’t know, something Italian, something sharp, something fattening.)
  • 1/2 Cup 1 Cup cottage cheese
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 2 (15oz) jars 1 (24 oz) jar spaghetti sauce – I like Classico brand it says right on the lable if it is gluten free or contains soy or milk, many of their options are safe for all of us.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Did you cook the rice

Version 1. (the right way) Here’s the deal, my recipe says to mix the rice, eggs and 1/4 cup of the parmesan cheese then set aside= rice mixture

Next combine the shredded cheese with the cottage cheese and another 1/4cup parmesan cheese (reserving 2 Tbs. for the top) = cheese mixture

Then brown the meat, drain and add spaghetti sauce (and seasoning if needed-garlic, garlic, beautiful garlic), continue cooking until heated (don’t ask why since we just cooled the rice)= meat mixture

Spoon 1/2 the rice mix into a 9×13 pan then 1/2 the cheese mix, next 1/2 the meat sauce and repeat. Top the whole thing with 2 Tbs. parmesan cheese.

Version 2. (the wrong way) BUT…. The other night after basketball practice, feeding the baby, feeding the other baby, finishing a much needed load of laundry so my Dear husband didn’t have to wear dirty slacks to work etc. I realized it was nearly 6:30.  Ahhh! 

Who needs a recipe anyhow? I cooked the meat then added the tomato sauce then mixed the whole goofy thing together but forgot the cottage cheese.  Grrrr!  What’s lasagna without cottage cheese so I spread that over the top and graded some more parmesan (because I forgot to leave out the 2 Tbs) and sprinkled it on. Prep done in 10 min flat – a new personal best. Not layered not pretty, probably not even lasagna but is it anyway without the noodle? You be the judge…

Bake for 15-20 min at 375 degrees/190C and enjoy!

p.s. I thought about converting the whole recipe to metric but I am a wimp and I don’t want you all to laugh so you will have to be disappointed. I wish we used metric in the states, it makes more sense really.What can I eat

Entry filed under: No Noodle Lasagna, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Dinner’s on in T minus 1hr- Go To Gluten Free Enchilada Recipe Mommie’s and Such

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina  |  February 25, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    I have also had a box of GF lasagne noodles in my cupboard for two years! Maybe now I can make lasagne without having to revive my stale noodles. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  February 26, 2009 at 11:18 am

      Ha ha, we must be kindred spirits! Lol

      Reply
  • 3. Consider yourself egged! « Blog Schmog  |  March 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    [...] not the best chef, and I don’t claim to eat very healthy but I’m aware of it and try my best.  I tend to go in [...]

    Reply
  • 4. Marcy  |  September 26, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    My fiance has been missing lasagna so I will give this a try. We have not enjoyed any of the gluten free pasta except the quinoa/corn based, which doesn’t come in lasagna noodle form.
    Thank you.

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 28, 2009 at 3:12 pm

      I do hope this hits the spot for him! I’m glad you found at least one type of pasta you like. I do not like the texture of corn based pasta’s but I haven’t seed the quinoa/corn combination.

      Reply
  • 6. The Doctors Doctor « Blog Schmog  |  October 14, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    [...] serve them a meal!”  Although this common practice is how I was introduced to one of my favorite meals to date (so I had better not frown too obviously) it’s just not my cup of [...]

    Reply
  • 7. The Doctor’s Doctor « Blog Schmog  |  January 7, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    [...] serve them a meal!”  Although this common practice is how I was introduced to one of my favorite meals to date (so I had better not frown too obviously) it’s just not my cup of [...]

    Reply
  • 8. Kathy  |  January 28, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I will try this too. It sounds delicious! Jessie, I’m a friend of the Nandors. We go to church together and Karen introduced me to your wonderful website because my daughter was recently diagnosed with Celiac disease. I also would like to tell anyone interested that a great (and easy) way to make gf pizza is to fry a corn tortilla in oil, spread gf pasta sauce on it (I used Ragu), top with shredded mozzarella, and Hormel Pepperoni Minis – ta dah!

    Reply
    • 9. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  January 28, 2010 at 4:30 pm

      Awesome, thanks for the idea! Maybe we’ll try them and post a pic. Do you have a blog I can link?

      Nice to meet you and I’m thrilled the Nandors sent you. Jess

      Reply
      • 10. Kathy  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:10 pm

        No, I don’t have a blog. I love yours though. You have done a great job on yours. I read how you are reading House to your neighbor’s husband who had a stroke. What an incredibly loving thing to do. I can’t imagine how much it must mean to him. God bless you.
        Kathy

      • 11. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  January 28, 2010 at 11:26 pm

        Thanks! Well, keep in touch. :)

  • 12. debra  |  April 15, 2010 at 5:11 am

    I know what I am serving for Sunday Dinner this weekend. We do miss pasta.

    Reply
    • 13. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  April 15, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      This meal is definitely a family favorite. It works okay without the cottage cheese too. Enjoy!

      Reply
  • 14. Tere  |  September 21, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Hi, I was looking for some non gluten recipes when i can across your post, For all of you who like pasta (I do) I use 2 things instead of pasta.
    Substitute lasagna noodles with thinly sliced zucchini. Layer your casserole with the zucchini slices just as you would the lasagna noodles. Bake and it tastes delicious.
    Instead of rice, use diced cauliflower. Dice your cauliflower in bits about the size of a grain of rice. Fry up in butter and put a cup full on your plate. Sauté your veggies and add over the mock rice. It will satisfy your craving for stir-fry. The mock rice can also be used in cabbage rolls, stuffed green peppers or to make Spanish rice.

    Reply
  • 15. 2010 in review « Gluten Free 4 Goofs  |  January 2, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    [...] No Noodle Lasagna Recipe January 2009 14 comments 4 [...]

    Reply
  • [...] or no-noodle lasagna (one of my most popular [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

