The Sourdough Mother

February 8, 2009 at 3:23 pm 6 comments

I’ve decided to give the sourdough another go after more research.  My first attempt worked out all right but I used store bought bread yeast and put the jar of starter right into the frig afterward. I then did my research. I guess I got the cart before the horse this time. Since my mother’s mother didn’t bake and my father’s mother was a busy working mom I didn’t have a teacher in the fine arts of old fashion kitchen basics. Some of you may already know that the trick to keeping a starter alive is definitely not putting it in the frig. Also, with over 200 types of yeast spores known, starting with a bread yeast from only one type, I learned,  limits the health benefits and diversity of the taste. Where my previous post about sourdough starter using potato water, bread yeast and rice flour still works I am intrigued by the inherent benefits of going the “old fashion way” using just water and flour. Besides if you are going to commit to having your very own sourdough starter, how much easier can it get? Suffice it to say, I am starting over!

You can read a wonderful article on the benefits of sourdough, how to start it and some delicious looking recipes in the magazine Mary Jane’s Farm -The American Organic Original, subscribe at www.maryjanesfarm.com. The article is not gluten free but you can keep checking back with me as I intend to try her recipes with my NEW gluten free sourdough mother!

Here is what I’ve learned:

Sourdough starter in your own kitchen is extremely beneficial , it will collect yeast spores from your immediate environment making it easily digestible and familiar to your body.

Mary Jane’s Method is so simple- 1 min a day, 5 min on Saturday.

Ingredients: a good organic flour (I milled Lundberg  brown rice  from Costco) and PURIFIED water or well water (I’m blessed with the latter so my starter is made with water from the Idaho Mountains).

Recipe: If I can do it you can do it!

  • 2 Cups organic flour (sounds snooty I know but non-organic flour will not come alive like we need).
  • 1 1/2 cup purified water (again, snooty but chlorinated water kills the yeast)

Sunday-Mix Water and flour together in a ceramic bowl with a wooden spoon, and cover with a wet cotton dish towel.

Monday-Friday- Each day after Stir in 1/3 cup flour and 1/4 cup water.

Saturday (the 7th day) – The “Sourdough Mother” is ready. Mary Jane’s article describes a “mother” that should have bubbles and smell pleasantly sour — like stout beer. Scoop out 2 cups into a mixing bowl to start a bread and let “her” rest. Do not add anything to your “mother” today.

Sunday start the routine over again, all the while keeping your “sourdough mother” out on the kitchen counter with a cotton dish towel covering her and after the first week place a plate slightly ajar over the towel.

Now, get your Sourdough Mother started, do a little research on the benefits of home made sourdough and next weekend check back and we will get baking!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, Sourdough Starter, What else is there to eat?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Mommie’s and Such A Gluten Free Valentine

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Joy  |  February 9, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Oooh! I’m forwarding this to a friend, who was just asking about g.f. sourdough starter.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  February 9, 2009 at 8:13 pm

      I’m on day two of my new starter. I like that I didn’t have to use yeast but I almost forgot to add to it today. Hopefully I can create a new habit and soon wow you all with a wonderful recipe to use with it! LOL

      Reply
  • 3. More about Sourdough « Blog Schmog  |  March 8, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    [...] 8, 2009 Our whole family has been pretty sick for weeks and I completely neglected the sourdough starter on the counter.  The smell is now pretty strong and the “hooch” on the top (mixture of [...]

    Reply
  • 4. Cyndi  |  March 26, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    I’m itching to find out how your sourdough ‘experiment’ is going? I’ve been reading through the 70+ pages on MaryJane’s forum and hoping to discover someone who has had success with a gluten free starter. My 3 boys are dying for “safe” bread. The store bought stuff is just too expensive and I love the idea of baking our bread fresh every other day or so. My hubby and I aren’t celiac but since all 3 kiddos are, we are following the diet of the most common denominator — huge changes.

    Do you think the same starter idea would work with a gluten free flour other than rice? I’m wondering if coconut flour would work because its higher in protein than rice flour, what do you think?

    Reply
  • 5. mike  |  January 10, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    try spelt

    Reply
    • 6. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  January 11, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      Spelt is not a gluten free product but thanks for the thought.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

