Crusty Popovers – Delight Gluten-Free Recipe

February 23, 2009 at 9:19 pm 3 comments

All that is left of my brand new “Delight Gluten Free” magazine is a few shreds of soggy paper.  Thing 2, who is fascinated by water, was “experimenting” and spilled all over the table. I did not discover it until the pages were completely saturated and stuck together.  I was able to salvage only one of the many recipes I had intended to try and even it is now a dry, wrinkled, two piece, recipe puzzle.  img_1884

To be completely honest I’ve not decided if these were a hit or a flop.  They look “delightful” and remind me of a nice dinner roll in appearance but the taste is nearly non-existent. It was strange to bite into something so closely resembling bread and taste, well, nothing really.  I guess that isn’t a problem entirely, just different than I expected.  I would not call this a “bread” substitute as the magazine claims but they were incredibly easy to make so I will try them again with some flavorful add in’s and I do think I will enjoy them with soup.

Don’t take my word for it, they are SO easy to make, try for yourself and if you come up with something delicious to mix in, let me know.  I really do want to give these another chance, maybe I’m just bitter because it wasn’t my first choice of recipes to be left with!  Thanks to the water “experiment” I had some mixed up and out of the oven in a little over 30min.   That alone, means these are a keeper!

Crusty Popovers – Delight Gluten-Free Recipe

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup tapioca flour
  • 2/3 cup white rice flour
  • dash of salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Preheat a 12-cup muffin tin for 5 minutes.  This is a very important step apparently and I don’t think I allowed mine to heat after the oven had reached it’s preheated time. The magazine says that the “warm muffin tin helps to facilitate the rising of the batter.”

In a blender (I used my magic bullet) mix eggs and milk.  Add flours and salt then mix until combined.  The mixture was very thin and I didn’t think it could possibly work.  It was similar to the consistency of milk.

Pour into greased muffin tin filling 3/4 full and bake for 25min.

These were probably one of the easiest warm, brown things that the kids think is bread I’ve ever made!  So for that I give them  4 stars and I’m pining over a new copy of the magazine.  I think I’ve got that covered too, but I am no good with patience!

Entry filed under: What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Unraveling the mystery of eggs! (Recipe 1) A fun idea!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Otto Mann  |  February 23, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    gluten free is the way to be!

    Reply
  • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  February 23, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Yeah right! I thought you were “addicted” to gluten! By the way, thunderstorms and “peacenquiet” is another oxymoron.

    Reply
  • 3. Sheree  |  April 5, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    I was so excited when I saw this recipe in Delight Gluten Free magazine. Unfortunately they did not turn out good at all. I followed the recipe to the letter. They turned out picture perfect, but that is the only good thing I can say. They were raw at the bottom no matter how long I baked them and had absolutely no flavor. My advice is to leave this recipe in the magazine and don’t waste your time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

