Sourdough Pancake Success(gluten free of course)

February 26, 2009 at 12:41 pm 2 comments

I’ve been painstakingly attempting to create good, easy bread with my bubbly sourdough starter and it has definitely not been without pain!  Attempt number three went to the dogs and after feeding “Mother” again I decided to take a different approach for now. 

Some of the ladies on Mary Jane’s Farm who get the pleasure of using wheat flour in their starter, had a little trouble getting started as well so there was a pancake recipe that I modified and made this morning for the gluten free folks!  I think it turned out quite well. This may sound strange but I assure you it is quite good, almost like a buttermilk pancake and quite mild in taste.  Here is what I did…

BEGIN THE NIGHT BEFORE!

Sourdough Pancake Success GF:

Do I really have to go there? (Shopping List):

Hopefully you have a well stocked pantry of essentials and then you will not have to drag all the kids out, or if you have no kids, put the dogs in their kennels and hope they don’t bust out while you are gone and wreak havoc in your laundry room!  You will not have to trudge through late February snow and into the store where you probably won’t find what you need and you will be starving when you get there so on the way home you will have to stop at McDonald’s for a yogurt parfait (practically the only gluten free option on their menu that the kids will eat) and the whole day will be a waste! 

Sooo… here is what you need to have on hand to save yourself all that trouble!

  1. gf flour ( I used tapioca starch and brown rice flour)
  2. water
  3. sugar or honey
  4. salt
  5. baking powder
  6. baking soda
  7. cooking oil
  8. eggs

If I can do it you can do it! (The Recipe)

PART 1 – the night before

  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 1cup tapioca starch (corn starch often works the same)
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1/2 c starter

Remove the starter from your sourdough mother by pouring or spooning out but do not use metal!  Beat the flours warm water and starter together in a new bowl (not metal- I keep forgetting so this is for me!) and let it sit overnight with a light towel covering it.

NOTE* This mix will be very thin almost like milk. If you have a thicker “Mother” to begin with don’t make adjustments until the morning, if yours is very thin like mine, you may need to pour off the hooch (that clear liquid on the top) before mixing and removing the 1/2 cup.

Part 2 - the morning of (T= Tablespoon, t= teaspoon)

  • 2 T sugar (honey can work as well)
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 3 T oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 t. baking soda, dissolved in 1 T water (save this step for last, just get out the baking soda and set in next to your sink so you don’t mistakenly pour it in when it calls for baking power – classic Goof move!)

To feed your mother this morning just pour 1/2 cup of the new mix backinto her (no “scoopy” no using metal-sorry to be redundant but I keep trying to stick my metal measuring cup into the bowl) then you may continuewith the recipe as follows. We have to first give back what we took from the sourdough mamma!  Isn’t that wonderful? “If Mamma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!”

Carrying on…

Heat a skillet on medium (275-300 degrees on an elec griddle)

Whisk into the overnight creation; sugar, salt, baking powder, oil and eggs (this mix still looked quite thin to me even more than the usual “gluten free thin”) you will then need to dissolve the baking soda (waiting by the sink) into 1 T warmwater (always use warm water with mamma) then gently stir this into the pancake mix but not too much. 

Here is the fun part, your mix should begin to bubble and foam up a little and thicken slightly, you will pour this onto a hot griddle and watch it go!  My first couple were very, very thin (I think that is because my mother is thin to begin with).  When I poured them onto the griddle they spread out immediately and had bubbles throughout from the start.

 I made a slight adjustment by adding approx 1/4 c more gf flour.  My second batch was perfect and I could tell it was time to flip when bubbles began to show through the top (approx 5min) flip and cook another 2-5min (depending on your stove or griddle)

I got overzealous and thought, “I bet more flour would be even better” (they were not “big and fat” like I had envisioned) so I added too much flour and in the last version I never did see the bubbles through the pancake they just cooked  with a smooth top and became a bit more dense.  By no means were they bad but I tell you this because it is a good gague of whether or not your mix is too thick.  You should begin to see bubbles on the surface, if not your mix is too thick and you can carefully add warm water 1 T at a time.  Make one pancake and do it again until you get those bubbles after cooking about 5min.

I hope you are able to try these, it was fun to have some sort of sourdough success.  I’m excited about the benefits of the healthy bacteria that you get when eating true sourdough and hope to come up with many more good recipes.  A special thank you to the ladies at the Farmgirl Connection for sharing their sourdough experiences, even if they can eat wheat!

Entry filed under: Sourdough Pancakes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A fun idea! Unraveling the Mystery of Eggs (Recipe 2.a) – Kid Scrambled

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessy  |  February 27, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Ok, let me just say that you’ve made my day=) I am sitting here eating a nice, warm piece of toast and it is delicious! My mom (Sharyl) delivered the bread that you made to me tonight, and I had to try it when I got home =) Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness, although I don’t know if I can ever go back to those dry, old GF bread mixes! I couldn’t believe how moist it was and that it tasted like good old fashioned bread. Kind of a strange compliment, I know…but I’m sure you understand! I would love to have the recipe if you want to share. I’ve been following your blog and I look forward to your sourdough bread recipe, and I plan on trying those pancakes….I love sourdough! Anyway, thanks again for the bread, it is wonderful =)

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  February 28, 2009 at 12:53 pm

      I will email you, it is actually quite a production to get that bread but my “home bakery” is bustling with orders! Thank you for the compliment I DO know what you mean, I’m thrilled that you like it! About the pancakes, have you started a sourdough mother? I’d like to know if they would work if a person was to just let the 2c flour and water rest overnight. Probably not as “sourdough-ee”! We made them again this morning and forgot the xanthan gum! HA, still good but quite flat! PS. tell your mamma to GO GLUTEN FREE! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

