Meat Loaf Wednesday

March 4, 2009 at 2:39 pm 7 comments

img_1943smBoy is it hard to make meat loaf look sexy and I apologize in advance if you are on a vegan diet.  Avert your eyes! Get out, get out! 

Okay – for those of you who can and will eat meat, this is a quick and hearty meal.  Thanks Callie (little sis) for bringing it to my attention, she gets the credit for the major part of this recipe. 

 No offense Mom but the mention of meat loaf brings a shudder of distaste.  I hated meat loaf as a kid, those chunks of onion and the celery and salty cold ketchup.  My mom is going to say I’m exaggerating and being a drama queen but seriously it didn’t sound appealing.  Little Sis convinced me mainly on the easiness factor! And no, that isn’t plain ol’ cold ketchup! By the way, be sure your ketchup IS gluten free, not all of them are.

If you are wondering spell check doesn’t like catsup or ketchup so call it what you like – you say tomAto, I say tomOto.

Do I really have to go there? (Shopping List)

  • hamburger 1 1/2lb (give or take, I actually did measure so you could see how much the recipe makes.) Also, I read a helpful magazine article recently that recommends using half ground pork.  Because I really did not want to go there (shopping) I sent the hubby after work and told him ground turkey by mistake. I ended up just using the beef.
  • rice crackers like these.  I got mine at Costco

 

  • 1 egg
  • onion soup base; just add extra onion powder to the soup base (or store bought if you can find a gluten free version)
  • catsup/ketchup (gf of course)
  • evaporated milk, fresh milk, goat milk, or rice milk… you pick!

If I can do it you can do it! (The Recipe)

  • 1 1/2 lb hambuger or 3/4 lb ground beef and 3/4 lb ground pork
  • 1/2  cup crushed rice crackers (the boys loved helping me smash them with a cup in a plastic bag-good fun until the bag broke)
  • 1/2 Cup milk (if you use evaporated milk you can use up to 1/4 cup more)
  • 2 Tbsp soup base or an onion soup packet
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder (better yet saute’ some onion with veggies in cooking oil-I like Coconut oil)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 Cup catsup

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

Gently whip the egg, add the rice crackers and the milk, stir in soup base or packet and extra onion powder if you are using the base.  Next mix in the remaining  ingredients.  Your clean hands work best but a wooden spoon can be used as well.

img_1942smPainstakingly mold the meat loaf mass into a pan that is slightly oversized or you can use an actual loaf pan. Scott Peacock says an oversized pan helps the fat to escape.

Bake for 45min.  You can bake with or without the glaze below…

Glaze:

  • 1/4 Cup catsup/ketchup
  • 1/4 Cup brown sugar (or to taste)

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” hosted by The Gluten Free Homemaker.

Entry filed under: Meat Loaf, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Unraveling the Mystery of Eggs (Recipe 2.a) – Kid Scrambled More about Sourdough

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  March 4, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I’ve never tried onion soup in meatloaf. It sounds good. I keep a small box of instant potato flakes on hand just for making meatloaf. I use it in place of the rice crackers (bread crumbs). It’s so quick and easy and works great. I don’t usually make a glaze, but I might try it next time. It looks so nice in your picture.

    Reply
  • 2. Gina  |  March 4, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    I too hated meatloaf as a child. I’ve occasionally had it as an adult and once I even liked it! This sounds like a good recipe to try. I think it’s very similar to the one recipe I liked. Great idea!

    Reply
  • 3. yasmine  |  March 4, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Well, can I tell you that I am always clicking on my little icon apple on my tool bar that says blogsmog( blogs-schmog doesnt fit) because I cant wait to find a new recipe waiting at the top of your blog for me to read? I LOVE reading your new recipes that you post for us. WHAT FUN it is…I am so-oo making meatloaf tomorrow…MAybe, I’m just really hungry from this litle baby growing in my tummy. Or it could be that my mom NEVER made meat loaf and all the other kids mom’s did, and I wanted it!

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey  |  March 5, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I’ve been looking for a new gluten-free meatloaf recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply
  • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 6, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Thank you all for stopping by and for your kind comments. I hope you will find the recipes easy and maybe even suitable for picky eaters. I am one of those but it’s hard as mom to convince kids to try stuff if we won’t. My husband is on me all the time about that so I started the Blog Schmog to help me get excited about new food choices. An added bonus has been to meet all of you! Thanks

    Reply
  • 6. Callie (little sis)  |  March 9, 2009 at 9:55 am

    hello all, ok so I did a little research cause the “Goof” had some trouble finding gluten free onion soup mix :) or should I say husband of the Goof (BTW I happened to be at Wal-Mart and Brother In Law Goof called me to ask what exactly to get, funny thing is, he was at Wal-Mart too, although he declined my offer to show him which one to get ) So here it is Lipton Onion Soup Mix is gluten free which is the one I get. I am not sure how to post a little pic of it here, so I’ll just give you the big long link that brings you to a pic. Nice thing is you just dump a whole packet of it in there and whaa laa! http://www.americansweets.co.uk/ekmps/shops/statesidecandy/images/lipton_onin_soup_and_dip_mix.jpg

    Reply
  • [...] meat loaf [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

