What, it’s Wednesday? My Baked Potatoes-woes!

March 10, 2009 at 7:49 pm 12 comments

img_1965smCan I just say my dinner this week is somewhat disappointing?  I hope I have not failed to mention that I am not the most talented cook on the block and sometime (lots of times) with four hungry boys, if you count my husband, and a precious but needy infant I get completely behind and dinner sneaks suddenly upon us.  This blog is my way of coping with those crazy gluten free goof ups that happen everyday.  My kids get nutty around meal times and I often feel completely overwhelmed by needing to eat healthy, well rounded, allergen free, yet decent food!

My Darlings try to be helpful but a seven, five and almost 2 yr olds antics around dinner are well, can we say, disastrous?  Thing 2 thought it would be good fun to start off his meal with a nice green — glass of water?!  How did he do it, you ask?  By climbing onto the counter and getting food coloring out of the baking cupboard.  Not too shabby of an idea until he left it all out on the floor and the Bubba (not yet 2) discovered how fun it is to “decorate” the floor, his belly, his hands….  Now that’s helpful!  Meanwhile Thing 1 (my responsible 7yr old) decides to start out with milk and chocolate sauce, helping himself to a wholesome “dinner” as well.  Little Pee Wee is crying her eyes out and Bubba is covered in food coloring while I am frantically attacking the stain on the floor hoping that the new blue will come off! Is it really dinner time?  Don’t tell me it’s What’s for Dinner Wednesday.

Photobucket

“I can pull this off,” the pep talk begins, “just get Mr Frosted Belly into the tub and start some dinner!” 

Fine and dandy I can do this!  But…I also found out this week that Polident makes a pretty aggressive laxative when ingested in large quantities by busy toddlers who have surprisingly nimble fingers and an equally surprising ability to climb.  Bath time was quite an adventure.  Bubba goes into the tub… then out onto the potty for a false alarm, back in… and out onto the potty…in… but before he is clean he doesn’t make it back onto the potty and I have yet another disaster!  Finally after a SHOWER, Bubba is clean and dinner…. OH NO!  DINNER! 

Don’t even ask WHY I had polident in the house, I seriously do not know and no, neither my husband or I wear dentures but I’m sure getting old fast!

My What’s for Dinner Wednesday, sadly is another Un-Recipe.  But, seriously, one of the most valuable things to remember when on a gluten free diet is there are many, more naturally gluten free foods than we first let ourselves believe.  Potatoe’s are one of those wonderfull, natrually gluten free foods and they are really quite inexpensive.

Baked Potatoes Un-Recipe:

Wash please and poke some holes in a couple large potatoes.  Potatoes are grown underground in fertilizer.  We all know what makes great fertilizer!  Always scrub potatoes, they can be a culprit for icky illnesses if you don’t!  I personally like the Yukon Gold and Large Reds, but Russets work just fine.  You can start by baking your potatoes in the microwave.  NO FOIL!  After the magically appearing Polident incident no one can be too careful!  Bake approx. 10min (for large potatoes) while you preheat the oven to 450 degrees and then finish them in the oven for another 15min.   This gives you the best of both worlds; faster baking but not all dried out and shriveled. 

There are so many things you can top a baked potato with:

Good ol’ stand by’s like sour cream, and chives or butter and cracked pepper

Or get a little more creative with salsa, cottage cheese, chili, ground beef or turkey, white sauce with broccoli….

If you don’t prefer regular potatoes there are delicious recipes for sweet potatoes (which also cook up quick with help from a little microwaving) and I’ve heard from a little birdie that sweet potatoes mixed half and half with regular potatoes make a great mashed version.

Leave me a comment including your favorite baked potato topping!

Entry filed under: Baked Potatoe Woes, My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored, Un-Recipes, What else is there to eat?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

More about Sourdough Unraveling the mystery of eggs (Recipe 2.b) Scrambled

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yasmine  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    I laughed out loud by myself at your post today.you are great at relaying your stories of funniness at home! I love to be entertained like this. You poor thing. I think poop disasters are probably the hardest for me…

    And POTATOES!, What a wonderful last minute din din….MY favorite way of prepping taters is this…..

    Boil potatoes, whatever kind with skins on with three to four cloves of garlic.
    MAsh with butter after they and the garlic are strained.(keep in the garlic)
    Add some milk.
    salt and pepper.
    pull out a package or two of gluten free gravy.
    Make it and drizzle on potatoes on each plate.
    I also add with the garlic and potatoes, cauliflower, mabey 1/3 of a head and YUM YUM. Mash it along w/ the rest of it…
    I always have a few packages of chicken legs in the freezer. Put them in the oven on some foil. season them with salt pepper and cinnimon. It’s my Isaac’s most enjoyable dinner.

    Take the leftover mashed potatoes with the garlic and cauliflower for the next night. Mix it with chicken broth and throw in some left over chicken.Even a few noodles if prefered.
    DINNER!

    Reply
  • 2. Linda  |  March 11, 2009 at 6:16 am

    That’s a hilarious story, but it makes me grateful that my kids are past all that. I love your baked potato idea. I don’t make them often and can’t even think of what my favorit topping is.

    Reply
  • 3. Debbie  |  March 11, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I remember those days so well with those bath time accidents.
    Uhh! Still don’t know what’s for dinner tonight, but somehow God gives us grace and we pull it off.

    Reply
  • 4. Diane-thewholegang  |  March 11, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Since this didn’t happen to me, this is hysterical. Sorry you’ve had such interesting experiences. You are totally out numbered. Great job on the potatoes. That is one of my go to fast items too. We like baked with guacamole, beans and salsa (no dairy aloud) or boil with the skins on and smash up with chicken broth and add in chipotle and green onions or bacon for those who don’t like spicy. Good luck with 3 fun kids!

    Reply
  • 5. Dana aka Gluten Free In Cleveland  |  March 11, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Ha!

    I definitely laughed at that story…but suffering from a spastic tummy myself this evening, I totally feel for ‘em. Ouch!

    Potatoes are great foods – or so I’ve learned from my boyfriend. The number of posts I’ve clocked that involve my dinners for him and potatoes is like…astronomical. My favorite potato topping is sauteed spiniach and red pepper with goat cheese. ….But my favorite way to MAKE potatoes is as a kugle – which can be made quickly by blending potatoes, onion, veg oil and a little GF flour and baking for like an hour.

    Next time you need a quick potato dinner, check out this out (though admittedly handgratting everything takes time…so just blend it all and be on your merry way!) : http://glutenfreeincleveland.blogspot.com/2008/12/i-never-met-potato-my-boyfriend-didnt.html

    Reply
  • 6. Wendy  |  March 12, 2009 at 5:32 am

    Too funny. Well, not for you, but the writing and the tale for those of us out of that stage. Good save with the baked potatoes, a most excellent emergency meal.

    Reply
  • 7. Consider yourself egged! « Blog Schmog  |  March 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    [...] might find adventures from many different angles here, but one things for sure, I’ve got my game face on and I’m “here for the [...]

    Reply
  • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 23, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    I’m up late tending the fire and realized I had not said BOO to all of you who so kindly visited and commented.
    Yasmine- I tried your chicken-it was a hit with the boys! As always,I’m glad I could be of service in the laugh department
    Linda- I’m SO sick of Potatoes to tell the truth but they are cheap and easy, sigh! We built a small house just before the recession so money is real tight. Eating GF doesn’t help that usually
    Debbie- I live for God’s Grace and Mercy
    Diane- I never thought about guac I’m an avacado convert :) I used to think I didn’t like those green things but after having a tree at our first house I’m hooked
    Dana- Thanks for the potato tips you have 2 ways I actually have NOT eaten them and that’s amazing
    Wendy- If I don’t laugh I cry :)
    Again, thanks for visiting
    Jessie

    Reply
  • 9. Bubba Donna, previously Grammy Donna  |  March 24, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    For any of you who may be a little curious about the aforementioned ‘Polident’. It’s Grammy Donna’s fault, aka, BUBBA, calls all of his Grammy’s that. Anyway, we are totally de-junking our home. Well last summer after I cleaned out my fathers apartment he had a new box of the stuff. I figured it would be good for something so I toted it home with other stuff to go through of his. Someone, I thought it was Grammy Loomer, aka BUBBA Loomer, told me it was great for stains. So being the thoughtful Grammy I was sure that I was, I gave it to Jessie one day. Probably with other things I was dutifully returning! So there you have it, Grammy’s fault:) Sorry!

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:38 pm

      Ha ha! I really had NO idea where that came from! I kept finding little packages and half eaten tablets.

      Reply
  • 11. Hamburger Sanity Un-Recipe « Blog Schmog  |  May 5, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    [...] can make them just as easily.”  Yeah right, between rocks that ruin menu planning and body painting toddlers I’ll take the patties. [...]

    Reply
  • 12. Jen  |  July 8, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    this must be the post you were referring to….hadn’t read it. thanks for letting me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

