Noodles at Noon

March 17, 2009 at 8:10 pm 13 comments

Who knew that noodles would be such a hit!  My Mother in law has been encouraging me to try making gluten free noodles and I’ve been dragging my feet for months. I don’t have any special gadgets and it seemed like it was bound to be far too much work especially when one has Tinkyada noodles .  She insisted that hand made noodles are worth it and really no trouble at all.  Yeah right, thought I, NO trouble you say.  I know trouble, that’s for sure, he naps at noon and makes three messes in time for me to clean up one, this morning he had lipstick drawn on his cheeks and was spooning coffee (Hot-ot) out of my mug in the short time it takes me to change the Pee Wee.  If it really is no trouble at all than I can handle that!

Speaking of that nap at noon I’d better get this thing published and pick up the other 2 messes I didn’t get to yet!

Goof’s Noodles at Noon:

Do I really have to go there? (Shopping List):

  1. corn starch
  2. rice flour (I used sweet rice)
  3. eggs
  4. cooking oil
  5. xanthan gum
  6. salt
  7. boiling water (to cook the noodles)

Not bad eh?  You probably already have all that!

If I can do it you can do it. (Recipe):

  • 1 Cup corn starch
  • 1 Cup rice flour (reserve approx 1/2 for rolling out the noodles)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon cooking oil

Set a large pot of water on the stove to boil.

Combine the dry ingredients (keep out some of the rice flour). In a separate bowl lightly beat the eggs (oops, watch the shells) and add the oil. Now if you want to get fancy and really make them by hand (the “right” way ) pour the flour mixture onto a mound on a clean surface and make a well in the top, then pour small amounts of the egg mixture into the well and start pinching this together with your fingertips as you continue to add more egg mixture until it is all combined. 

OR… you can do what isn’t fancy but still works.  What I did (after trying the “right” method) is:

Pour the egg mixture into the first bowl and stir with a wooden spoon just until combined.  I heavily dusted my counter and hands with approx. 1/2 cup rice flour then dumped out the dough (which should be quite thick and dense like a pastry but still slightly sticky at this point).  Pat out the dough (mixing in some of the additional flour) and roll it out as thin as possible!img_cutting  While you are patting and rolling, continue to add flour as needed, the dough can be quite dry but it is easier to add once you are rolling out dough than trying to mix it in at first. 

Using a pizza cutter cut strips approximately 1/4 in thick.  Then with a pancake flipper take them up off the counter and into boiling water.

This time my first try ended up not right, they were still too sticky and would not come off the counter…img_noodle

I noticed that leaving them rolled out for a 5-10  minutes seemed to allow the dough to settle and I was able to roll them thinner which was just right… Notice there is a lot of flour clinging to the noodles, that’s fine.img_noodle2

Next simply drop them into boiling water and stand there, the noodles will be done in 3-5 min (depending on how thick yours are).  Take one out and test it.  To achieve al’ dente you will not need to cook as long as you would if they were dry.img_boiling-noodles

You can also dry these by leaving them out overnight.  They will curl a little.

Gotta run the Bubba’s got Super Glue!

Check back soon and we will use these noodles in Chicken Noodle Soup for a Crowd Recipe

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” hosted by The Gluten Free Homemaker.

Entry filed under: Noodles at Noon, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , .

What about Organics and Natural Products? Reading

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wendy  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Sea at Book of Yum makes Betty Hagman’s recipe for noodles and I keep wanting to try them. I think you’ve convinced me it’s worth the effort. I love coming by for a giggle and a good recipe.( And the feeling of relief and gratitude that washes over me knowing I’ve survived the glue and lipstick disaster stage. OOPS, now it’s driver’s ed.)

    Reply
  • 2. Linda  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:54 am

    I used to make noodles, before I found Tinkyada. Your second batch looks perfect. I bet they were yummy.

    Reply
  • 3. Gina  |  March 18, 2009 at 9:36 am

    These look great! I’ve made noodles before, an I’ve wondered how corn starch would fare. It sounds like it works really well. Now I’m inspired to try it!

    Reply
  • 4. Wendy  |  March 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    wow! I think I could do this, I’ve always wanted to try but I was afraid. Now, I think I’ll try.

    Reply
  • 5. JoAnn  |  March 18, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Love your blog! :)

    And aren’t you brave, making homemade gluten free noodles with a toddler running around! We have a 2-year-old and a 3-year-old right now, so I know what you’re going through.

    I hope you got the Super Glue away from him in time!

    Reply
  • 6. Marlow  |  March 18, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Wow!!! I’ve never made my own pasta before, but you make it look so simple!

    Reply
  • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 18, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Wendy- I’m glad I make you giggle. My three boys behind the wheel now that’s a scary thought, their little sis will be well protected though!

    Linda- thanks for hosting. I love tinkyada noodles

    Gina – I read somewhere that rice flower makes the noodles grey but I didn’t have that problem using the sweet rice/ corn starch. Let me know if you try!

    Wendy – I think you could do this! I was wimpy but I’m glad I tried. 3 times a charm for me :)

    JoAnn – Aw, thanks! I’m not brave, just nuts Lol

    Marlow – You should try, it’s easier than I expected.

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl  |  March 19, 2009 at 4:43 am

    I love making homemade noodles! We’re not a GF household so I make “regular” ones. But I’m always experimenting with GF as my step-dad has celiacs. I’ll have to make these for him the next time he visits.

    Reply
  • 9. Melanie  |  March 19, 2009 at 5:13 am

    You have inspired me to try and make pasta. That recipe sounds very easy. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  • 10. Brian  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    These look great. I make Bette Hagman’s noodle recipe occasionally for soups and lasagna but yours looks even easier.
    Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
  • 11. Rona  |  March 22, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Yummy noodles.

    Reply
  • 12. Patty  |  March 22, 2009 at 8:24 am

    this is awesome!! I have been wanting to try homemade noodles!!

    THank you thank you thank you!!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Karen  |  April 11, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    oh, yum! I am going to try this soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

