Let them eat gluten free/milk free crepes.

March 24, 2009 at 10:09 pm 14 comments

crepes

I’ve edited this recipe. My ten year old, Captain Obvious, made these this morning. Here is the improved version.

The beauty of this recipe is that it’s quite easy to whip up, though I won’t say as much for the rest since you have to make the crepes one at a time in the skillet.  If you are a family who waits to eat together (sadly we are not these days) you can heat your oven and keep the crepes warm as you finish.  This recipe makes about 12 large crepes.

crepes4

Let them eat crepes: gluten free style

Do I really have to go there? (Shopping List):

  1. eggs
  2. milk (or rice milk)
  3. butter (or dairy free alternative)
  4. GF flour (experiment with what you like)

If I can do it you can do it! (Recipe):

  • 2 eggs
  • 1C. rice milk
  • 3 Tbsp. melted butter and extra for the skillet
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 C. GF flour mix (I used 1/3 Cup corn starch, 1/3 Cup white rice flour, 2/3 Cup tapioca starch)

Melt a small amount of butter in a skillet over med heat.

Mix all the ingredients in a blender, or with a hand held mixer.

This batter is very thin.

Heat your pan over Med heat and pour the batter into the middle.

crepes11

If I can do it, you can do it!

crepes2

Now pick up the pan and swirl the batter around if needed.

crepes3

In 2-3min gently lift a corner with a pancake flipper or fork and then flip it over to finish cooking.  The middle will look shiny but cooks nicely once you turn it over and let sit another minute or two.

The first one is the Cook’s Bonus – If the temperature is right you can continue to cook the rest.

We scarfed them down with just a touch of powdered sugar.

I mix again each time before pouring out any new batter.

I’m making these again for dinner!

*******Below is the original story behind the madness*********

I had a really relaxing morning!  While I was getting breakfast ready Thing 1 and Thing 2 went down to the mailbox and the dog tried to abscond with a live chicken. Little Pee Wee rode along blissfully in my Moby wrap until I had to strip Bubba down for the second time in one hour because he had happily sat himself down in an ankle deep mud puddle while the big boys watched in fascination. I couldn’t reach around her pink little legs to peel the wet layers off of my chubby toddler.  Pee Wee had to sit in her baby catapult (as Daddy calls it) and she hates the baby catapult because she doesn’t like the slightly reclined position.  It may also have something to do with the fact that the Bubba tried to “share” it with her once while I had my back turned, literally turned, just slightly, you know about two o’ clock, not 5 or 6 o’ clock….  Anyhow I’m peeling off layers of mud caked clothing trying to wriggle them down around those chubby little knees and off of his thick little calves and Thing 1 and Thing 2 decide to help.  2 starts to bounce the catapult while 1 begins the serenade… “Rock-a-BAR- Baby, in the tree top.  When the wind blows the cradle will BREAK, but Mommy will catch you cradle and all.” and back to the beginning, “Rock-a-BAR-Baby….  I had to chuckle what a crazy bunch we are!  Hey diddle diddle…The baby’s at the bar in a catapult waiting for an aspiring sumo boy to “share” her seat and the dog’s run off with a chicken!

After all that I said to myself, “Self, since you have so much free time and are always on top of it why don’t you go out on a limb and make crepes!”  Really, I was OUT ON THAT LIMB hanging on for dear life!

As I’ m pulling out the Magic Bullet the Bubba whose sausage link fingers were still pink from the cold, started shouting at the top of his lungs “Ya Mom, smoo-zee!”

Then taking another big breath for his next exclamation, “Ya Mom, day-doo(thank you)!”

It’s not easy convincing a toddler that not EVERYTHING that goes into the magic bullet turns out a smoothie!  Breakfast has only recently become even more interesting because he seems to have a problem with yogurt (his daily morning staple) and milk.

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” hosted by The Gluten Free Homemaker.  Click the link for more recipe ideas.

Entry filed under: Let them eat Crepes, Whats for breakfast gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Dreaming about Dirt! You’ve got to be kidding me!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melodyofamom  |  March 24, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Crepes…Ahhhhhh crepes! I want some! I love crepes! There is no way they’d turn out right if I made them, though. :0( Love the post…it is sooo cute what kids come up with! Rock a bar baby! hehe

    Reply
  • 2. Gina  |  March 24, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Sounds fantastic! I haven’t been brave enough to try GF crepes yet. I’ll get on it now that I have a solid recipe. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. sasha0382  |  March 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Wow!!! I want to try this too.

    Thank you.

    Reply
  • 4. Cheryl  |  March 25, 2009 at 6:14 am

    I’ve never tried to make crepes, it looks simple enough but I’m kind of intimidated :)

    Reply
  • 5. Wendy  |  March 25, 2009 at 6:53 am

    You are a brave woman. Crepes and kidlets and chicken-stealing canines. Oh, and homemade noodles.

    Reply
  • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 25, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Oh I think you could do this. The blender does the work and when cooking them if you have the heat too high you will have a chubby crepe (call it a pancake) if the heat is too low you’ll have to turn it up and wait a long time and the crepe will not get brown but still will cook. The batter was like milk almost, I thought, there is NO way this will work.

    Gina- I cant wait for your picture I bet yours will be beautiful!

    Please all, comment back if you try and let me know how much liquid you need. I’m amazed at how finicky gf can be in a different house. I’ve been hesitant to post any baking because of that. Time has a tad to do with it as well! HA

    Reply
  • 7. Cheryl  |  March 25, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Thanks for stopping by my book review blog. I think you should go for it, it’s a llot of fun. We re read a lot too with homeschooling and I was just telling my husband the other day that I need to post more reviews from the plethora of kids/YA books I read :)

    Reply
  • 8. Linda  |  March 25, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I always enjoy reading your stories! Crepes sound great. I haven’t made them in a long time. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
  • 9. JoAnn  |  March 25, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Wow, it’s been such a loooooong time since I last made crepes! Definitely back in my gluten-eating days. You’ve inspired me, Jessie!

    Reply
  • 10. Debbie  |  March 25, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Now if I ever feel brave enough I’ll give these a try! I’ve never made crepes that turned out, but seeing your pictures I think I might be able do it! I think I can …I think I can.

    Reply
  • 11. Callie (sister)  |  April 1, 2009 at 7:55 am

    YAY! Jason will love you for this one, he has been talking about crepes since we met and has always said he is going to figure them out gluten free. I dont think he figured it would be this easy, i know what i am eating friday morning.

    Reply
  • 12. Brian  |  May 17, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Jessie, I just wanted to let you know I made your crepes this morning fo breakfast. I filled them with fresh strawberry’s and whipped cream. They were delicious. My wife and I loved them. My 3 year old said they looked like tortillas and she wanted French Toast instead. Two out of three isn’t bad. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Take care,
    Brian

    Reply
    • 13. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 19, 2009 at 1:32 pm

      So glad you enjoyed them! Thanks

      Reply
  • 14. Socks Don’t Lie « Blog Schmog  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    [...] IDEAS: let them eat crepes, barbecuey [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

