Simple Salmon

March 31, 2009 at 9:54 pm 7 comments

The quickest meals I’ve had are ones I didn’t have to make!  Thankfully my husband is often willing to oblige since someone’s got to feed the baby and well… you know… he can’t.   Actually my husband is a great cook and much more creative than I am.  We spent a couple days out of town and came home to an empty frig so tonight we threw together our family favorite Salmon and Rice.

This is how I he did it.salmon

  1. Thaw frozen salmon patties (mine were from Costco)  under cool running water (I keep them in the plastic for this).
  2. Put rice in the rice cooker or on the stove to cook (remember 2:1 water to rice-Hubby doesn’t need reminding but I do)
  3. Place salmon in a microwave safe plate or glass pan and squeeze a lemon wedge (or lemon juice) onto the fish  then sprinkle with dill seasoning and garlic
  4. Cover with plastic wrap, a plate or Press and Seal (did you know Press and Seal could be microwaved?)
  5. Cook on high until done. Approx. 3-6min depending on the size of the pieces.  The key is to check the temp.  It should register 130 degrees on an instant read therm. My favorite Goof (Hubby) wanted me to revise this adding that salmon is much better pan fried approx 8-10min on med/high  if you have the time.
  6. Hopefully your rice is done now if you didn’t forget to put the rice cooker on “cook” instead of “warm” like I often do.
  7. Serve with rice and enjoy. 

Veggies would be a nice touch but if you read this you’ll know why mine were absent.

For an even better night include a batch of my gooey brownies coming soon mentioned in a previous post.

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” Hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker.  Thanks for stopping and check out more ideas here.

A parting poem since I’m low on my own wit today

Simple Simon met a pieman going to the fair;
Said Simple Simon to the pieman “Let me taste your ware”
Said the pieman to Simple Simon “Show me first your penny”
Said Simple Simon to the pieman “Sir, I have not any!”

Simple Simon went a-fishing for to catch a whale;
All the water he had got was in his mother’s pail.
Simple Simon went to look if plums grew on a thistle;
He pricked his fingers very much which made poor Simon whistle.
He went for water in a sieve but soon it all fell through;
And now poor Simple Simon bids you all “adieu”

Entry filed under: Simple Salmon, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , .

7 things you may not know about me. Mom Time Out

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. purplemoose  |  March 31, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    How funny, we had salmon tonight too! I had to learn how to eat veggies when pregnant with the first one.I’m still not very adventurous.

    Reply
  • 2. Celiacs in the House  |  April 1, 2009 at 5:21 am

    I love salmon and this looks fast. I do love the veggies with mine, though. Hey, that tile fish is so cool. If I’m tagged again, do I have to reveal 7 more things? Oh, no…….

    Reply
  • 3. Brian  |  April 1, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I really like salmon, unfortunately my wife doesn’t care for it so we don’t eat it often. I like to cook it on my BBQ for a little smoky flavor in addition to the lemon. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 4. Linda  |  April 1, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    That’s a much better dinner than having fast food (from a restaurant). It’s always helpful to have quick ideas for when you’re really low on food. I have to buy some frozen fish.

    I’m glad you were able to join in.

    Reply
  • 5. Gina  |  April 1, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I really like salmon, and it can really be cooked in so man different ways. I am often reluctant to cook meat in the microwave because of the texture it gives, but I have also found that fished cooked covered like you describe works really well. I haven’t tried that with Salmon yet. Thanks for the quick dinner tip! It looks great and dill is my favorite.

    Reply
  • 6. Diane-thewholegang  |  April 1, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Great go-to meal. For me the rice cooker is the best. Set it and forget it.

    Reply
  • 7. Melanie  |  April 1, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Another food to add to my list for my shopping trip tomorrow. I was thinking about making salmon this weekend while family is visiting :0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

