Chronicles of a one armed cook.

May 12, 2009 at 12:31 pm 7 comments

I should have named my blog, “The Chronicles of a One Armed Cook”!  There are always at least two other thing going on while I am trying to make food.  Often times I am fixing a bottle for the Bubba, listening to and helping Thing 1  to read or blending up various foods in the Magic Bullet for Pee Wee.  Thing 2 tends to be good at entertaining himself, for better or worse.

This meal was no exception and though I’m sure I’ve said it before; I am no amazing chef, just a busy mamma trying desperately to find inexpensive and quick meals for a large gluten free family!  I want gluten free to be something that is not allusive, not expensive and at this stage in my life, not gourmet!  Sorry to those of you with lots of time on your hands, these recipes will rarely be for you! :)  I do, however, occasionally make things ahead (late at night) to ease my pain during the week. 

The bbq chicken in this meal is made all at once.  We buy a bag of chicken thighs at Costco, marinade it in Italian salad dressing overnight and throw all of it on the barby the next day.  Throughout the week I use the pre-cooked chicken in various ways.

It seems that I mention Costco often but truthfully we don’t buy a lot of things there…

  1. salmon
  2. chicken thighs
  3. coffee
  4. tortillas
  5. avacado’s
  6. and sometimes diapers

Chicken n’ Rice Soup:

This recipe is not as obnoxiously large as others I have posted since I’m “repurposing” my bbq chicken.  All you will need is chicken broth, chicken, rice and any veggies you would like to include or have on hand.

If I can do it you can do it! (Recipe):

  1. Pour 16 oz of chicken broth into a med pan and set the burner on high.
  2. Add cooked or instant rice (1 Cup will make it quite hearty)
  3. Add shredded or bite size cooked chicken (2 thighs or 1 breast)
  4. If desired add shredded carrots and a bit of cilantro
  5.  bring to a boil (especially if using instant rice) then immediately reduce heat to med/low

Serve with sunflower carrots!

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” Hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker. Thanks for stopping and check out more great ideas here.

Entry filed under: Chicken n' Rice Soup, Soup Simplicity, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Sunflower Carrots The Moon Presides

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina  |  May 12, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    I’m making chicken soup right now! Thanks for another simple and economical recipe – I’ve been looking for ways to cut costs.

    Reply
  • 2. Just Peachy Bonnie  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Ahh… nice to meet another one armed cook! except i’m a newbie at losing one of my arms since being a mom of two, not like a pro like you (mom of 4 and homeschooling while knitting, baking, singing and doing crafts?!! i’m not worthy!.. it’s been very stressful trying to cook while newborn CJ is either crying, spitting up or about to wake up — meanwhile toddler TJ is asking me “why this” and “why that” for the umpteenth time.

    soup is a great inspiration for one armed chefs, like us!

    Reply
  • 3. Diane-thewholegang  |  May 13, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I love soup. Too often I forget it’s a great way to clean out the frig. Hmmm, I see a clean frig in my near future and probably some strange looks from around the table. Hope you get your arm back soon.

    Reply
  • 4. Wendy  |  May 13, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Even those of us who now have time on our hands or cook for fun need quick, easy GF meals when we don’t have time and/or money to eat out or risk getting glutened. I do remember the one armed days when my youngest wanted to be worn in a sling all day. My chiropractor helped after that phase. :)

    Reply
  • 5. Linda  |  May 13, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I love soup. It’s so easy. I usually use leftovers from a roasted whole chicken, but I like your idea of barbecuing a bunch of thighs.

    Reply
  • 6. Brian  |  May 14, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Great dinner idea. I have experimented with homemade soups a bit more over the last year. It’s great to have fresh, tasty soup without all the processed junk often found in the canned stuff.

    Reply
  • 7. Carrie  |  May 19, 2009 at 10:55 am

    That looks like a delicious recipe. I am always looking for recipes to use with pre-cooked chicken.

    I am making a post today, actually, regarding my chicken cookin’ weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

