Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger

May 31, 2009 at 9:49 pm 12 comments

pizzaI have big plans for my “debut” at the Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger Event hosted by the Book of Yum.  Pizza is the recipe for me!

I picked a blogger who I’ve enjoyed getting to know during What’s for Dinner Wednesday’s and with whom I’ve had a couple laughs over the difficulties of trying to feed kids. If you ask my husband though, it’s harder to feed me. I’m sure Brian at Fire and Salt has a few tales of his own and can understand my husbands lament since he blogs about his gluten free journey on behalf of his wife’s celiac.

I did manage to make Brian’s pizza crust but right off the bat I broke the “cardinal” rule and made a change to the recipe. Hopefully Sea will forgive me since I’ve got three growing boys and one who is not supposed to be growing! I doubled the batch!  That’s a heck of a lot of egg whites, whew and fishing all those shells out, I’m a terrible egg cracker.eggs

Anyway I’m a rule breaker.  There I’ve said it I broke the rules and I’m begging forgiveness.

yeast proofingJPGBrian’s post for the crust/bread is very detailed and full of pictures I like that because I’m a visual learner.  Look Brian, we properly proofed the yeast!

As you can see, I enlisted some help.  Thing 1 thoroughly enjoyed  his supervisory roll and even got to help with the crust.

Brian’s recipe intrigued me because he had a solution for making the pizza crust look like it’s wheat counterpart with a nice rolled edge and all. Why didn’t I think of that? All this time I’ve been rolling and squashing, flattening and fluffing like crazy trying to get something with an edge that wouldn’t let all the goodies spill off in the oven. Brian solved it for me with a recipe to boot! assembly

I will be in touch with the Firefigher Blogger to see if he has suggestions for adjusting the recipe for my dry dry climateready for toppings but other than being a tad dry (I’m sure due to the vast difference between Seattle by the sea vs. arid intermountian Idaho) I was very pleased with the outcome and despite my hopes of having extra pizza for lunch on day two, the boys and I polished two pizza’s off in one night.

Thanks Brian and thank you Sea for allowing me to participate in all my rule breaking glory!

pizza done

Ta da!  She’s a beauty!

Jessie

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , , , , .

Well water Photography for Goofs 1

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. purplemoose  |  May 31, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    It’s gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 2. Kathryn  |  June 1, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Yum! You’re making me hungry!

    I did banana bread this week. :)

    Reply
    • 3. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:23 am

      Ooh, banana bread! I am working on a gluten free bread mix (possible giveaway coming soon, I’m still “testing”) but I tried it as banana bread the other day and didn’t put enough banana but I did discover that gluten free bread really likes bananas for the added texture and I wonder about pumpking and even squash for texture not taste! Will keep experimenting.

      Reply
  • 4. Brian  |  June 1, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Your pizza looks great! We rarely have leftovers when I make this too. You could try adding a little more water to the yeast / sugar mix to compensate for the dough being a bit dry. Thanks again for adopting one of my recipes.

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 1, 2009 at 2:45 pm

      Yeah I think I’ll do that next time. I had intended to try a second time before posting because I’m sure it is my climate and not your recipe but I never got around to it. I have a pretty good eye for getting the right texture but I wanted to try once as written and then again with revision so I could add that tid bit to your comments for anyone in drier areas. Will do that soon and let you know! :)

      Reply
  • 6. Tina Hill  |  June 1, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Love your website! Great recipes and great photos! I’m going to share this with a few friends are have celiac disease.
    We are a social site designed to connect people directly to others with similar health conditions/experiences. I’d love for you to register on the site (it’s free and your personal info is never collected on the site) and share your experiences with celiac and gluten-free living with others.
    Also, would much appreciate your help spreading the word about our site.
    Thanks!
    Tina

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 1, 2009 at 2:46 pm

      Thanks Tina, will do!

      Reply
  • 8. gfe-gluten free easily  |  June 1, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Looks yummy indeed!

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 9. Heather  |  June 3, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I tried Brian’s pizza recipe last month, too. I didn’t have the dry crust problem, but we’re in humid Northern Virginia. We made the garlic chicken topping with alfredo sauce that Brian suggested. It was very good.

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 3, 2009 at 10:47 am

      Cool, I’m so glad it worked, I’m anxious for a re-do I’m sure with just a little water I can get the same consistency all of you did :) then Brian can post “more water for goof up’s like Jessie!”

      Reply
  • 11. Rachel  |  June 8, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    I made Brian’s garlic chicken alfredo pizza and it was tasty too. Very easy. I also love reading his blog as I have a just over two year old and can relate to many of his amusing stories. Glad your pizza turned out (for the most part, climate aside).

    Reply
  • 12. Pizza Please with a Cherry on Top! « Blog Schmog  |  September 29, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    [...] made Brian’s pizza crust with great results and decided this time to try using Linda’s Foccacia bread recipe (she recommends it for [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

