Photography for Goofs 1

June 1, 2009 at 9:00 am 5 comments

I’ ve mentioned before that I’m not entirely sure where this Blog Schmog came from or even where it will go “Cotton Eyed Joe!”  Uh oh, sorry!  Have I also mentioned that I often think in songs- the good the bad AND the ugly.  At any rate, this week I’ve had several people ask me what I do to get the pictures I take and if it’s my camera or some technique I have.  So begins the Photography for Goofs tutorial and let me remind you I’m NO photo genius!

My famous technique and my number one advice is PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!  For each good picture I take there are at least three terrible takes of the same pic.  Sometimes I can even up that to 10-1, not in my favor.  What I’ve done since going digital (some of you might remember FILM cameras) is “just keep clicking, just keep clicking!”  Thanks Dori.

To illustrate…photo1

I’m using “portrait” setting with a slower shutter speed so any movement is blurred… photo2

“STOP MOVING Thing 1!”photo3

That’s better…photo4

Here is my favoritephotobest

The last two are pretty good, I can leave well enough alone or I can open with Photoshop Elements 6.0 and do some fancy dancy editing of which I have no idea what I’m doing!

Another amazing tool I’ve found is my camera’s manual!  Funny as it sounds the need to read every word occasionally comes in handy.  Most of the time it is a huge hindrance like the time I couldn’t make mac n’ cheese because I didn’t remember how much water to boil the noodles in.  Would it have been that much of a tragedy to boil noodles in 4 qts instead of 2 qts.  We all know that would have sufficed but I couldn’t wrap my brain around it and so I made quesadilla’s until I could find the directions!  Yeah, I’ve been known to be that bad of a cook!  Can you guess I’m a first born type A kind of gal?

I take all my pictures with a rinky little point and shoot camera.  Actually I really like it and for a mom on the go my dream camera is not practical and if I had one it would probably result in mass mutany or at least less picture taking.  Now that I think of it, that’s probably a sad testament that the Rebel is what my dreams are made of.  Sigh! Okay so that was extreme I’ll just revise that to say “the camera that I think I would really like to have someday but truly I don’t loose any sleep over.”   As it is my trusty little point and shoot Canon can hang on my arm and with a flick of my wrist I can grab that baby like a quick draw cowboy and “just start clicking, just start clicking.”  Oh boy, I’ve lost half of you now since I got that song stuck in your head.  I’m just terrible!

One more quick tip and then I’ve got to get my fanny off this computer.

Whenever possible shoot without the flash.  Now some hardcore photo pros like my friend Christina - ha, she is going to laugh that I called her “hardcore”- would possibly disagree but in the right lighting I seem to get the best results when I turn off the darn auto flash!

What’s the right lighting you ask?  This one I did learn from Christina and maybe we can talk her into a tutorial (hint hint!)… overcast day, morning sun or some shade (without really bright back light).  For example…

Here is Thing 2 with the flash

flash

Here he is again without the flash…not perfect, the sun was too bright through the window and overexposed parts of the picture but overall I’m much happier with the result

no flash

Hopefully these tips are helpful, they are certainly not professional I’m just a goofy mamma trying to get good pics of my busy wriggly kids so this is a lay-woman’s tutorial for all the photo goofs out there!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, I'm no photo-genius, Mom stuff. Tags: , .

Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger Not yo’ nacho!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christina Goold  |  June 1, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Your totally right on the flash advice…. I never use flash either. It tends to always give a different kind of look. Usually a big white speck (circle) in the eye. I shoot in the shade usually, early morning or evening is definitely the best light :)
    You are sooooo funny :) thanks for the blurb! Hope all is well!

    Reply
  • 2. Kathryn  |  June 1, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I think it is fun just to play with the camera. Guess we all have different things that light us up!

    Reply
  • 3. gfe-gluten free easily  |  June 1, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Those are some cute kids of yours! It’s fun to play with cameras. Thanks for sharing, Jessie!

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 4. delightsgal  |  June 2, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Jessie :)

    Soo happy you stopped by the daily delights! You are right…we have much in common…so nice to meet you! You’re kiddos are darling, recipes look delish, and I love your writing style. I had a hard time deciding where to put you on my blogroll…culinary, literary, living? Culinary will have to do, but I know I’ll come back for everything. ttys! trina

    Reply
  • 5. purplemoose  |  June 4, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Hey, we have a set of those cards too! (We don’t use that program, we just like the games.) Oh–and thanks for the photo advice too. :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

