Not yo’ nacho!

June 2, 2009 at 10:11 pm 22 comments

I hope I’m not breaking more rules!  You know those blog police are always out to get me.  At any rate I’m going to use a previous post for my first ever Friday Foodie Fix over at The Whole Gang.  I’ve been wanting to participate in the fun since meeting Diane during What’s for Dinner Wednesday’s but between the rock incident, making green smoothies a fashion statement and playing in my garden I just couldn’t find the time.  Finally things are settling in and with the help of my cooking hubby we’ve come up with a recipe that fits the bill!  P.s It is not against the rules to use a previous post, in fact you can even use more that one post.  Whew, I’m off the hook.

IMG_3615

I don’t go to town often and when I do I usually rush home thinking to myself, “I’m never doing that again!”  It’s not that I live outside of a terribly busy town, it’s actually quite quaint.  It’s not that I can’t find the things that I need or want.  It’s mostly my darling two year old who at this point in his young  life is determined to make shopping a chore.

The Bubba, bless his little pink cheeks is bound and determined to live life on the edge.  Literally, I mean the edge of almost everything.  I often find him dangling off the edge of the counter, belaying off of the big boys’ bunk bed or my personal favorite, attempting the back flip out of the child seat (belt and all) of my shopping cart.

Because of his shopping antics I hate to go to town!

My grandmother, bless her heart, went shopping with me the other day and sat in the car so I could make some quick stops and not have to set up a carabiner for the shopping cart experience.

I asked her “If you had the money and didn’t have to think practically what one thing would you have done on a regular basis?”

I suspected I knew the answer since we often think alike and I have a definite number one.

I was right, we would both hire a personal chef!  It’s not that I completely hate to cook (though I’m not great at it) it is a matter of shopping, being responsible for the health and safety (ha ha) of those eating and cleaning up the mess.  If I could school the kids, play in the garden and even organize and clean the house without the worry of “What’s for Dinner” I think I’d have it made!  I might pop into the kitchen now and again and I would certainly continue to experiment with baking each time I got a hankerin’ but I wouldn’t be the “Queen of the Kitchen”.  Grandma and I would gladly relinquish that to anyone else!

My husband got wind of this plan and he mentioned, “Hon, I really don’t mind cooking, in fact I think it’s kinda fun and, no offense, but I’m a much better shopper!”

Yipee!  No way!  My husband wants to be the “Queen of the Kitchen”!  Am I a horrible housewife for letting my husband do the cooking?

You be the judge.

This is what we had for dinner that very night, and in the time it takes to say…

Not yo’ Nacho a $7.00 family meal (serves 6)

Do I really have to go there? (Shopping List):

Note: I’ve been instructed to revise a couple things

  1. 1 bag chips ($3)
  2. 1/2 lb cheese ($2)
  3. 6-8 med. mushrooms (.50)
  4. cilantro (.50)
  5. 1 avocado ($1)
  6. bell pepper (use a sliver from left overs :) pennies)
  7. 1/4 red onion (pennies)
  8. garlic (pennies)
  9. dollop of sour cream (pennies)
  10. olive oil vegetable oil (pennies)
  11. butter

If I can do it, you can do it. Oh wait, I didn’t! (Recipe):

Grate 1/2lb cheese.

Heat 1 Tbsp olive  vegetable oil in a medium saucepan over med/low heat

Add 2 garlic cloves (minced), 6-8 sliced mushrooms and 2Tbsp butter, heat allowing to slow cook for 5-7min. Also in this step add the red onion and 1/4 sliced bell pepper (pretty much left over’s nachos, whatever’s handy in the frig and sounds good).  After the 5-7 min simmer add 2 Tbsp butter and continue to simmer 3 more minutes.

In the meantime melt grated cheese over chips in the microwave or in a toaster oven.

Top the nachos with saute’ mushroom mixture

Garnish with avacado slices, sour cream and cilantro

Enjoy!

THANKS HON!!

Previously this week:

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” Hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker. Thanks for stopping and check out more great ideas here. 

Currently Featured at:

The Whole Gang’s Friday Foodie Fix.

Click Foodie Crossing to enter!

Friday Foodie Fix

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes), Not yo' Nacho. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Photography for Goofs 1 Come Away With Me

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Joy  |  June 3, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Since we went dairy-free about 2.5 years ago (due to my 7yo’s asthma, which we figured out, was 80% caused by dairy), the thing we probably all miss most is nachos. :(

    If money were no object, I would SO keep cooking, but HIRE A MAID. I wish. I love to cook, but the cleaning up? Not so much.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 3, 2009 at 10:51 am

      I’ve actually tried making cheese out of goat milk before, can he tolerate that? It looks like my little gal can’t even have that without phlegm and cough but probiotics in her bottle (since she really, really needs the fat) seem to do wonders but when she doensn’t need it anymore I will prob cut out dairy. I think The Bubba and I need to be careful too but so far in the form of cheese we are okay.
      Have you started the allergy challenge with your youngest yet? I want to pick your brain, I’m stumped as we are STILL working on it with The Bubba but cheese days are totally fine it’s either apples (which seem to give him face rash) or nuts but not all as far as I can tell, and/or eggs but sometimes eggs seem okay. I think I sense another post coming on… :)

      Reply
  • 3. Kathryn  |  June 3, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Ho, boy@ I’m jealous!

    My first thought when you asked this was, “Massage therapist, of course.” But then you mentioned a personal chef & NOT making meals, & i’m like – “Ok, changed my mind. I want that one!”

    How fortunate your husband likes these things. :)

    Reply
  • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 3, 2009 at 10:57 am

    P.s. Karen, I think the saute’ veggies were so good you could eat them over chips without the cheese maybe add some beans and/or rice instead or also! :) Maybe the illusion would be satisfying.
    Jessie

    Reply
  • 5. Linda  |  June 3, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    You’re definitely not a horrible housewife! Some guys really enjoy cooking. My hubby on the other hand can’t cook at all. Oh well. He certainly has plenty of other talents.

    I do nachos for dinner occasionally, but I have to have meat on them to satisfy my crew. Otherwise, it’s just a snack. It’s one of those quick meals that I forget about sometimes, so I appreciate the reminder.

    Reply
  • 6. Linda  |  June 3, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Forgot to say, I remember the days when I hated shopping for the same reasons. I often went in the evening when my husband could stay home with the kids. Now they are big and I don’t have to worry about it!

    I love the pictures of the kids you added to the sidebar.

    Reply
  • 7. Diane-thewholegang  |  June 3, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    If you can get help with those things you don’t enjoy than you are headed in the right direction. Yeah Hubby for stepping up!

    Have you tried an ALCAT test? Tells you what foods, chemicals and such that your body can’t tolerate. Very helpful.

    Also found out that most probiotics contain casein or dairy. I finally found one that doesn’t. I feel a lot better!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennifer Tupper  |  June 3, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Love the prices on everything and loaded nachos are a huge favorite in our house too! Gorgeous photo of that yummy looking plate of food.

    I know what you mean about shoppng w/ a little one that keeps your on your toes. My daughter loves to bolt into the aisles where people are blazing by with their shopping carts and get herself knocked over. It royally raises my blood pressure every time.

    Reply
  • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 3, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Linda- Thanks and thanks! :) Also, since he was playing PERSONAL chef he actually did a meat version for the boys! I like meat on it but as we all know, I need more veggies! My kids do better on that than me.

    Diane- will look for that test and the dairy free probiotics. I did notice that on the label but since it helped and I already had the probiotics I didn’t worry about it right now. What’s the dairy free brand?

    Jennifer- Thanks for the positive review! My Hubby (I call him the safety nazi) is terrified of shopping carts around kids as well! It bothers me too but it terrifies him! I’ve tried a “monkey buddy” which in reality is a leash (BAD MOM!! Ha) and he liked that but it’s hard to rein him in and then I’m spending all my time trying to get him to hold hands because I hate how it “looks” when he is straining at the end of the leash- which is the only thing he wants to do! On the other hand my Hubby thinks that’s funny. I DREAD SHOPPING!

    Reply
  • 10. purplemoose  |  June 4, 2009 at 8:35 am

    And speaking of songs. . .Nacho, nacho man., I wanna be a nacho man . . ok I’ll go away now. :) Anyway, the nachos look great!

    Reply
    • 11. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:49 am

      Ha you got me on one! Your so funny!
      Jessie

      Reply
  • 12. purplemoose  |  June 4, 2009 at 10:43 am

    I can’t take credit for that one. . . that’s a doozy from my dear brother-in-law (who passed away when I was pregnant with #2.) Another of his sayings: he’d ask me what kind of cheese was on his tortilla chips. . . Nacho (not your) cheese! (and then he’d snatch the nachos away.) Good memories!

    Reply
    • 13. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 4, 2009 at 5:52 pm

      Ah ha! Its always good when we can look back with fond memories!

      Reply
  • 14. gfe-gluten free easily  |  June 4, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Looks delish! Take hubby’s help for sure. ;-)

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 15. Diane-thewholegang  |  June 5, 2009 at 6:02 am

    I am loving this new probiotic. Klaire Labs Ther-Biotic COMPLETE is what is on the bottle. It’s not cheap but worth it. I’ve started taking that along with a fish oil, borage, flax combo from Systemic Formulas Bio Nutriment and I feel the difference!

    Reply
    • 16. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 5, 2009 at 9:43 am

      Do you know if those products could be given to an infant? The one I have (though it’s milk based) says “Infant Probiotics” I also give her Omega’s in the form of fish oil and add them to the bottle or her baby smoothie.

      Reply
  • 17. Diane-thewholegang  |  June 5, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Thank you for sharing this on Friday Foodie Fix!

    Reply
  • 18. Brian  |  June 6, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Does this make me “Queen of the kitchen?” That’s it, I quit :) For the most part my wife and I have a balanced life. We share duties around the house so one of us isn’t always stuck in the same rut. Shopping, cleaning, and taking care of everything is a grind. You have to mix it up. I’m glad your husband stepped up to cook one night. By the way the nachos look great.

    Reply
    • 19. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 6, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      Actually our house seems a lot like yours Brian, we do mix it up and often spend the time doing the daily thankless tasks together. He is a much more confident natural cook than I am but I’m home more often at dinner so it all works out in the end! He has got to be a bit of a nut to be married to me eh? And no, neither of you is Queen! :)

      Reply
  • 20. Diane-thewholegang  |  June 7, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Sorry, I don’t know the answers to your questions.

    Reply
  • [...] Jessie2. Jessie at Blog Schmog (stir fry)3. Jenn Cuisine – Maitake and Green Bell Pepper Stirfry4. [...]

    Reply
  • [...] Jessie 2. Jessie at Blog Schmog (stir fry) 3. Jenn Cuisine – Maitake and Green Bell Pepper Stirfry [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

