Saturday’s Surprise: This little piggies girlie!

June 19, 2009 at 11:33 pm 14 comments

piggieI’m a pig farmer now and Pee Wee is a girlie girl!

About the pigs…

I’ve had the wheels turning in my head about raising hogs for a few years now.  Last year I darn near got a couple to raise but wasn’t able to contact a farmer before the 4-H kids had the whole northern territory spoken for; pink, white, black, green… ha… they were gone like the wind before hooves even hit the ground.

This year I knew better and I contacted a farmer (best friend of my cousins husband) shortly after December, still he put me off long enough that I thought I’d been forgotten among the clovers but just Thursday I got the call.  “Jessie, it’s Ian, awh hay-uv yer howgs!”

“You’ve got WHAT?” I ghasped, I didn’t set up the pen or plan to get feed.  I hadn’t recently prepped my husband as such things require a fair bit of prepping.  He breaks out in hives and just about has a self induced anaphalactic meltdown whenever we have to spend any unexpected money.

Okay, so he is really not THAT bad and I am a pretty sorry tight wad myself but spending a couple hundred dollars on another of my “pets” (no I’m not going to tame them and walk them on leashes to market) gets the eyebrows in a bit of a furrow.  When I spring things on him he often bucks and then I humbly submit and we live happily ever after. ;)

The truth?  I throw big fat baby fits and we have heated debate, I plead my case, he pleads his and over closing remarks we realize somehow we ARE speaking the same language, fighting for the same right cause only coming at it from completely different angles.  Still dizzy from my tail spin I get a glimpse of his purpose and realize, he is fighting FOR me not AGAINST me and then we start to make sense.

Besides, what good would a couple 50lb pigs be if we couldn’t get groceries for the week.  To market to market to SELL a SCRAWNY pig!?

The outcome of our friendly debate!

The outcome of our friendly debate!

Well, after calling a truce we talked about it like civilized people and in the end we both agreed that it is worth the investment and wasn’t really the last minute thing it seemed to be on Thursday.  Although it begs the question are we “civilized people” if we raise hogs?  What is “civilized” anyway?  Tea and crumpets, cocktails and croquet or simply all those folks with running water and a roof over their head trying to make a living and livelihood as “aliens in the land”.  Actually running water may not always be a necessity, but that’s a different story and we aren’t talking necessity are we!?

Speaking of being civilized my other revelation for the day is that my little Pee Wee is becoming quite a girlie girl! 

It was bound to happen, the fourth of three boys and a tomboy mommy whose least favorite color is pink.  Although I do own two very pink shirts to wear with my cute camo capri’s.  I like to dress up and go on the town just like any girl but my idea of dress up is more like cute jeans, dangly earrings and a walk on the board walk followed by frilly coffee while we check out the classic cars parked at a local diner.  Or of course there’s always desert and swing dancing, or line dancing if I’ve downed enough coffee!  Town to me is home where you know everyone and most things stay the same.  I’m an idealist and I like the way “nostalgia” rolls off the tongue.

Girlie

My Girlie

Pee Wee is already beginning to turn that all around.  I even found myself day dreaming about shopping with her.  SHOPPING!  I don’t SHOP and pick out cute clothes or cute decorations for entertaining.  Sigh, I’d rather be getting dirty.

She also has decided she really likes chap stick.  The girl is 9mo old and every time she gets a glimpse of someones chap stick she reaches and makes a little grunt sound.  I’m sure that has something to do with the taste but even a sweet tooth proves my point doesn’t it?  What girl isn’t a fan of chocolate and strawberries?  That was truly all I craved when I was pregnant with her?  Coincidence, happenstance?  I think NOT!

Want to know what I craved with the boys?

The one thing I had never liked before.

The one thing that made me shudder at the though of it.

The thing with the most disgusting texture.

The very thing that now, after craving it through three, boy pregnancies I LOVE!

FISH!

I also discovered this week that she is fascinated with getting her hair brushed.  She has no hair but still, she loves to have the fuzz clinging to her little noggin brushed and brushed and brushed.  I’ve known for a while that she likes hair because one of the ways she self soothes is by winding my hair in her fingers or gently pulling at the little patch of hair on the back of her neck that didn’t get rubbed off in the “bald spot” stage so it is longer than the rest.  If you can picture it you might be thinking Joe Dirt!  Yes, my little girl has a mini mullet.  Ack!  I couldn’t cut it, she loves that “tail”!

Furthermore my little Pee Wee has no problem whatsoever allowing anyone and everyone to dote on her.  She has quite dexterous little fingers yet half the time if you try to hand her a piece of cereal she will hold up her hands and lean in while batting her feathery eyelashes and parting her pink little lips, “feed me!”

She loves nothing more than to be held and totted around and she lives for favors from her brothers.  That little girl has three small boys one big boy and a smitten mamma wrapped around two little fingers and that’s just in OUR household! 

Oh dear!  Not my daughter!?  I was going to have four boys!

Thank you Lord for you know best, I would have never guess how fun it is to have a little girl!

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Mom stuff, My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , , , , .

Three Blogs Meme Just another garden ornament.

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. melodyofamom  |  June 20, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Yay for pink piggies and little girls!

    Reply
  • 2. Gina  |  June 20, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Your daughter is adorable! Her antics sound cute as anything, and of course the tomboy will have the girly daughter! I love reading your posts. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Callie (sister)  |  June 22, 2009 at 7:49 am

    aww you can leave all the shopping and froo froo stuff to me, ha ha or atleast let me drag you out to shop for stuff like that. You know me i could go for days as long as i had the money ;)

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 22, 2009 at 10:17 am

      Sis-Maybe I can sell enough pork to pay for the “habit”! I know you love that :) Lol! I wouldn’t mind it so much either if I had the money, but my favorite is antiques and yard sales!
      Gina – Thanks! :)
      Melody- Pink stinks! Ha Lol! I wasn’t going to write that, it just slipped out, rhyme and all, just slipped right out! :)

      Reply
  • 5. purplemoose  |  June 23, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Ahh, pigs, we raised pigs one year and it was a long story. :) Good ending though. I wore my pink pj’s the other day, and my oldest said, “Mama, you’re so pretty!” so I guess HE likes the lousy color. :) My baby girl now knows one color, *surprise surprise!* it’s “burple.” :) (I promise I didn’t work with her on that!)

    Reply
  • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 23, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Ha ha “burple”! I put PeeWee in a lot of blue but she desperately needs some headbands for her bald little head! You will have to post that “long story” and let me know. I’m getting a feeling I’m going to have to start “chapters” of our “long story” :)

    Reply
  • [...] think of it who wants a denim tulip plopped on top of her head.  After all she is a girl with some fashion sense  unlike her [...]

    Reply
  • 8. Karen Joy  |  June 24, 2009 at 12:21 am

    What a great post!!!! Probably my favorite ever.

    It took me a while to realize my husband was FOR me and not against me, too. :)

    Girlies. So precious. I’m thankful that God gave me my (first) girl after I had three boys, because then I really appreciated her girliness; it was so new and refreshing.

    Fiala’s not quite the same, but she TOTALLY loves everything baby — herself in the mirror, Audrey’s dollies, other babies. It’s sweet. :)

    Reply
    • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 24, 2009 at 12:27 am

      I’m a fighter! :( I fight for my ideas, my agenda’s my will, then God gave me my husband to teach me to be more flexible and I’ve become SO much more peaceful through giving up. Not that I say yes yes yes but I open my clenched fist and let the details go! Mostly :) SO many incredible things happen when God’s in control! And yes, I would have fought the girl thing if I’d have had her earlier, I’m embracing it…did you notice the earrings- HA! P.S. I see you are a nut like me staying up into the wee hours!

      Reply
      • 10. Karen Joy  |  June 24, 2009 at 12:59 pm

        Yes, I totally saw the earrings! I was going to mention them, then forgot. I got my ears pierced when I was 12… it was one of the few traditions my family had for the girls… part of me wants to get my girls’ ears pierced right away, and part of me remembers anticipating the “rite of passage” by getting them pierced at 12. I should ask my hubby what he thinks! Since Davey is bald like my girls are/were, hats and bows are the way to go (even bucket/tulip hats! Hehehe!)! You probably don’t have the problem of people thinking she’s a boy, now that her ears are pierced. I even had one guy say to me in the grocery store, “Why do you have pink on that little boy?” Umm… it’s because SHE’S NOT A BOY, YOU MORON!!!. Hahahaha!

      • 11. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 24, 2009 at 6:04 pm

        Oh brother, I know you can never win. I just got to where I told people it’s okay I think all babies look like old men! :) I thin k my rite of passage was even older than that and I totally remember it. I also totally remember how my little sister got away with everything and got to DO everything early like getting her ears pierced at three! :) I’m still bitter as you can tell ha ha JK! If I had my girl before now I would never have thought twice about making her wait. Terrible to admit I’m perpetuation the “baby” syndrome!

  • 12. Honey Do « Blog Schmog  |  June 25, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    [...] all that to say that the “projects” and the pets and the tending and the fret is how I feel loved.  My husband on the other hand is a [...]

    Reply
  • [...] asked Matt, thinking that after the conclusion of the pig incident I had this one in the bag! Not really, my husband is not a push over and I am not a horrible [...]

    Reply
  • 14. More Piggies « Blog Schmog  |  October 21, 2009 at 11:31 am

    [...] pigs, like girlie girls? I’ve managed to put the two together here. [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

