Finally Some Goodies!

July 7, 2009 at 6:40 pm 16 comments

No story, no background just plain ol’ cookie goodness! 

Chocolate chip cookies in two different versions your choice.

Be aware my baked goods are always a work in progress. I am big on texture and therefore if I discover a better way to create a “gluteny” counterfeit I will be sure to let you know.  Who doesn’t love experimenting with cookies?

VERSION ONE

Ooey Gooey Flat and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies: (GF of course)flat and gooey

Dry Ingredients: Mix together the following and set aside.

Oh boy, here we go.  I’ve found that with gluten free baking the flours make all the difference.  You may have other flour combinations you like to use based on your particular tastes so I suggest you try a recipe once and then experiment as you see fit.  Baking without gluten is a finicky business.  Disclaimer: This is not a healthy cookie so I don’t bother with the more expensive, denser brown rice flour and such.  Starches helps you get a non grainy texture.

  • 1/2 C white rice flour

    crush coffee

    crush the coffee

  • 1/2 C tapioca starch
  • 1/2 C corn starch
  • 1/4 C sweet rice flour
  • 1 tsp. xanthan gum (revised from 1/2tsp)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp instant coffee, slightly crushed
  • 2/3 C chocolate chips (or more!)

Gooey Mix Ingredients: You’ll melt and mix the following then add the dry mix to this dough.

  • 1 stick unsalted butter (melted in a saucepan) next time I will try 1/3 cup
  • 

  • 1 Cup brown sugar
  • 3 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 egg (room temp)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla

Melt the butter over low heat and combine with sugars. This is the “chewy” part!

butter mix

Beat the egg and vanilla extract into the butter mixture.

Combine dry ingredients and beat into butter mixture.

combine

Stir in chocolate chips.

choc chips

Now don’t you dare…

eat it

 You didn’t see that!

Drop onto cookie sheet

warm gooey dough

Revisions: Chill the dough at least 15 minutes in the refrigerator. Drop in small teaspoons full on cooled cookie sheets (these spread quite a bit)

Bake at 375 for 6 min rotate the pan and bake another 4-6 minutes until done.

Yield 2 dozen medium cookies

I found these cookies to be sad looking (I’m not a flat fan) but after one bite I was sold! They are an incredible texture and oh so tasty!

VERSION TWO

Not So Chewy Fat and Fluffy Chocolate Chip Cookies: (GF of course)

pretty cookie

 

 

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter (leave it cold this time and cut into small squares)
  • 1 Cup brown sugar
  • 3 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 egg (cold)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C white rice flourdry ing
  • 1/2 C tapioca starch
  • 1/2 C corn starch
  • 1/4 C sweet rice flour
  • 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum (I think I might increase this to help with texture-see what you think)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp instant coffee, slightly crushed
  • 2/3 C chocolate chips (this time you can’t get too greedy, the more chips the flatter the cookie)

Cut the butter into small cubes and combine with sugars.

Beat the egg and vanilla extract together then stir and smash (quickly) into the butter mixture and chill this mixture while you prepare the dry ingredients.

secret

Combine dry ingredients and stir quickly into butter mixture.

Stir in chocolate chips.  Remember, we aren’t getting greedy this time, stick to the recipe.

chocolate chips

Chill this dough while the oven preheats (or wrap in a syran wrap tube and refrigerate for later use).

chilled dough

Bake at 375 for 5 min rotate the pan and bake another 3-5 minutes until done.

Do not use hot cookie sheets.  Don’t get impatient be sure to cool the sheet!

Yield 2 dozen medium cookies

These cookies were beautiful to look at, fluffier and cute but I’m afraid they suffered in texture. I think more xanthan gum may do the trick but I prefer the goey not so pretty version.  Which is your favorite?

Did you spot that picture above with the yellow blob on the right of the dough?  That’s my secret ingredient.  I had a baking dream… uh you might want to get out while you still can… and I saw myself using a secret ingredient to get the yummy flavor of the first flat cookies to lift and fluff into a mile high cookie.  Do you know what that ingredient was?  Guess what I might have sneaked into some of my cookies and come back Friday to see what it was.  It did actually work though I haven’t decided how much goes un-detected.

Don’t forget to check out what we made for dinner its a sticky issue!

Entry filed under: Chocolate Chip Cookies (2 versions), Yipee Dessert. Tags: , , , , , , .

Wall of Promise You’ll poke your eye out!

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. You’ll poke your eye out! « Blog Schmog  |  July 7, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    [...] For dessert check out my new chocolate chip cookie recipes here. [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Gina  |  July 7, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I thought your yellow blob was banana. I’m not sure if that would give you the texture you’re looking for, but that’s what it looks like to me!

    I’m going to make some cookies now!

    Reply
    • 3. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 7, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      Mmmm! I’ve made these twice this week and then again earlier today (with some from the frig) I’m ready for another batch! Can you tell I have a sweet tooth?

      Reply
  • 4. Kathryn  |  July 7, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    I just did cho chip cookies! They turned out good! Duane thought i’d bought the store/refrigerator ones – he thought they had gluten. Surprise! :)

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:19 am

      You should post your recipe. Unless of course it is a guarded secret :)

      Reply
  • 6. Linda  |  July 8, 2009 at 5:33 am

    I say the blob looks like banana too, though at first glance I thought it was pudding. Both cookie versions look good. I’m like you, always experimenting and making changes.

    Reply
  • 7. Amy Green/Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free  |  July 8, 2009 at 9:16 am

    My vote is for banana, too. I was looking at your recipe and wondering if maybe sorgum or millet instead of one of the rice flours might help. I am not a big fan of brown rice flour – if I was the only one eating it I might think differently but if I’m serving it to others I want the right texture. No grit for me. :)

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:24 am

      I may give it a shot with sorgum but I don’t like the way millet tastes in goodies. I use only white rice in the dessert category not brown. It is funny though, the texture of the two is drastically different even though they are identical ingredients so I don’t think it is changing the ingredients but finding a way to make the first (non gritty) cookie fluffier! Although some people really really like flat cookies (the flatter the better). The secret ingredient did help them plump up though. I might try Linda’s cake idea and add sour creme or mayo! Who knows.

      Reply
  • 9. Jen  |  July 8, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Choc chip cookies -huge weakness for me. Great photos.

    sorry for my ignorance, but I noticed that one of the ingredients was instant coffe slightly crushed -not sure I know what slightly crushed means. I’m still learning when it comes to gf baking. I’ve been sticking to Pamela’s cookies, these days.

    I’m sure the answer is simple and i’m making it more difficult than it is! :)

    I’d love to make these cookies. Version 2 would probably be the way I like ‘em.

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 8, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      Sorry about that! :) I got the idea from my mother in law’s wheat cookies. I put the instant coffee (a crumbly powder like substance) in my measuring cup and then smashed the larger bits with a spoon-just so you don’t get a bite of coffee. That ingredient is optional though it tasted delicious with it!

      Reply
  • 11. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 8, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    I need to make a quick revision. I did make these cookies again tonight and it seems if you follow my first Ooey Gooey Cookie recipe add 1/2 tsp xanthan gum (to make 1 tsp total) and then chill the dough they come out very well! The melted ingredients cut out the grainy texture and the chilled dough keeps them from flattening while cooking. I had a hunch that would be the trick. I will try again later and then revise the post if it is consistent.

    Reply
  • 12. Karen Joy  |  July 9, 2009 at 8:18 am

    We have the same vanilla!! I love vanilla.

    I have no idea what your secret ingredient is, but it does look like banana.

    I think that, behind”the perfect GF bread recipe is the perfect chocolate chip recipe — they’re both a continual search, continual refining… and taste-testing!!!! Here’s mine: http://onlysometimesclever.wordpress.com/2008/03/27/chewy-chocolate-chip-cookies-gfcf/

    Reply
    • 13. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 9, 2009 at 9:57 am

      OOh, I can’t wait to try yours! I also want to adopt your lemon bar recipe at the book of yum soon, when I have time ha ha! My “secret” is really only something I’ve been experimenting with but my husband thought it really improved the texture. I don’t use it all the time or I would have put it in the recipe! We’ll see with more taste testing woo hoo!

      Reply
  • 14. gfe-gluten free easily  |  July 10, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    After decades of baking and typically using several cookies sheets to avoid the having to wait for them to cool problem, I discovered that if you wave the cookie sheet several times through the air, they will cool off fairly quickly. :-)

    I made my favorite brown sugar chocolate chip cookies recently for camping and my dad (which I blogged on). Still my favorite gf flour mix is Asian white rice flour and cornstarch. A lot of the starches and alternative grains do not agree with me.

    Your cookies look good!
    Shirley

    Reply
  • 15. Shelly  |  July 14, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I’m quite intrigued by all the Gluten Free stuff you have on your site. I watch a little boy (9yrs old) who is not only a diabetic but also has Celiac.. So I am passing all these things I find on your blog to his mom.. I’m glad you commented on my blog I may have never found this blog otherwise!

    Reply
  • 16. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Yum I love these cookies adapted from my MIL’s wheat version. Loud Kiddington helped me make these again tonight. I don’t know WHY I didn’t double it. Dumb. :)

    I’m making a couple revisions above. Let me know if you bake these.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

