You’ll poke your eye out!

July 7, 2009 at 7:48 pm 11 comments

We almost had an eye casualty on the Fourth of July and all because of my brilliant idea to make Sish Kabobs.

When there are small (and medium) kids in the house… okay even adults… use extreme caution with skewers, especially those of you who are hand talkers!  Poor Thing 1 took a stick to the corner of his eye when his younger brother wheeled around to say something.  The whole thing went down rather dramatically and when the smoke settled even Daddy had to apologize for overreacting.  But dang, those things are tricky. 

So, if you dare you might want to try this recipe we whipped up in red white and blue for the 4th.

This is my Honey, who is the star of this recipe and how I see him most days…daddy's girl

I’m very short, hence the upward angle and he wants you to know he “cleaned up” his gotee after I took this picture. 

Little Pee Wee is often tagging along with him in the evenings but only if the Bubba is busy elsewhere!  Mr “I’m Sooo Teeooo (2)” is quite jealous of Daddy time.

Honey Lemon Chicken Kabobs:

kabobs 

Do I really have to go there?  (Shopping List):

The truth is this is a recipe you can make with almost anything you have lingering around in your refrigerator or need to use from the garden.  Just beware of that bottom shelf, it’s a doozie no telling what might be “lingering” there. Ha

  • red/white/blue baby potatoes (any will do but these were so cute)
  • tomatoes
  • red onion
  • sweet peppers
  • chicken
  • 1 lemon
  • honey
  • oh and rice, I almost forgot Jasmine Rice (my favorite)

If I can do it you can do it! (The Recipe):

This is another of those recipes where it would be smart to make the rice first but I forgot so I had to wait.  Darn.  After various taste tests we have decided that Jasmine rice is a family favorite.  What is your favorite rice?

Cut chicken and veggies into bite size pieces for “skewering” and if necessary cut baby potatoes in half.

Squeeze one small lemon, 2 heaping tablespoons honey and 2 tablespoons olive oil into a small bowl.  Combine and coat chicken pieces with the lemon dressing.  Drizzle veggies with any remaining dressing.

red white blue

Grill to perfection starting with the potatoes then chicken and finally veggies.  I’m not even going to attempt a Grilling lesson, my husband told me never step in on a man’s grill! :) Make sure the chicken is cooked through.

Serve atop a bed of rice and enjoy!

For dessert check out my new chocolate chip cookie recipes here.

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” Hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker. Thanks for stopping and check out more great ideas here!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, Honey Lemon Kabobs, My Lighter Meals and Lunch. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Finally Some Goodies! Banana

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. henny  |  July 7, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    i don’t let my kids have toothpicks for that reason… so giant sized toothpicks are definitely outta the question! heh

    but wow that looks so good!

    Reply
  • 2. Sue  |  July 7, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    That looks so good! I haven’t had kebabs in a long time. I will put that on my summer recipe idea list!

    Thanks for your comments on my blog. To answer your questoin, we only lived in Tokyo for the first year of our marriage. Other than that, and those first two summers I spent here, I have always lived in Saitama Prefecture, just across the river and a little trek from Tokyo. My husband commutes into Tokyo every day for work. I would love to hear about your experience in Japan. Have yo uever blogged about it?

    Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  July 8, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    LOL, I’m sorry but boy have I been there! I’m glad no one was seriously injured. The grub looks delicious. I haven’t had kabobs in years!

    Reply
  • 4. Karen Joy  |  July 9, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Looks fabulous!! I love kebabs. However, we always slide the stuff off of the skewer onto the kids’ plates, to which they always moan, “Why won’t you let us have the poker???” Duh.

    I think that’s the first time I have seen a pic of your hubby!

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 9, 2009 at 9:57 am

      Yeah, he is hard to “catch” hehe!

      Reply
  • 6. naomig  |  July 9, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Your pic pointing up at your husband cracks me up… my hubby’s 10 inches taller than me, so I always catch the bottom of his chin in pics. :-) The kebobs look awesome!

    Reply
  • 7. naomig  |  July 9, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Leaving you another comment after the one you left me, just to make sure you get it… here is the Chelan PUD link with a decent list of the plants, although I think they’ve added more to the garden this spring… Anyway, it is a great way to get started!

    http://www.chelanpud.org/xeriscape-plants.cfm

    this website is also a great resource…

    http://www.highcountrygardens.com/catalog/browse/xeriscape-perennials/

    Ok, I’ll stop now, we had to landscape our entire lot when we moved in, and I’ve done it almost completely with xeriscaping perennials, so I can really get going on this subject. :-)

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 10, 2009 at 1:36 pm

      SO cool! We have a new house (we built last year) and the landscape is mostly native weeds and clay dirt. :( Some of the weeds are very pretty but nothing you want entirely surrounding your house. My other problem is $$ so I usually plant free stuff (nurse back to health) or things that people will let me split but the deer like to eat most of that! You should write a post about it! :)

      Reply
  • 9. gfe-gluten free easily  |  July 10, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Glad all came out okay! The kabobs look yummy. :-) I can be dangerous with pointy things myself … I’m a hand talker, too. LOL

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 10. purplemoose  |  July 20, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Looks like a fun 4th of July! I’m glad everyone made it out ok.

    Reply
  • 11. Finally Some Goodies! « Gluten Free 4 Goofs  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    [...] forget to check out what we made for dinner its a sticky [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

