Another Attempt- Macro Monday

July 27, 2009 at 11:55 am 13 comments

My title could be very telling if you allow it some depth of reason!  Are Macro and Mom synonyms?  I wish I was a centipede.

centepede1 One of the major struggles I have in my life is to remember to stop and smell the flowers! 

wildflower

I look at everything through a “macro” lens of critical thoughts and suspicion.  It is such an easy thing to do especially with small children. Instead of feeling blessed by the “quality” time included in picking up multiples of puzzle pieces from several dumped puzzles I get frustrated and overwhelmed.  I need to stop and consider my blessings and enjoy my darling children.

 I found this encouragement on a magnet, author unknown…

EXCUSE This House

Some houses try to hide the fact that children shelter there: Ours boasts of it quite openly, the signs are everywhere.

For smears are on the windows, little smudges on the doors; I should apologize, I guess, for toys strewn on the floor.

But I sat down with the children and we played and laughed and read, and if the doorbell doesn’t shine their eyes will shine instead.

For when I have to choose between the one job or the other, though I need to cook and clean, first I’ll be a mother.

Please visit the others by clicking the picture below!  There are so many great photographers that participate!

Entry filed under: Macro Mondays. Tags: , , , , .

My Redeemer Lives The School Skinny

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tranquility  |  July 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    A great reminder! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer  |  July 27, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Thanks! I needed that today. :) Love your photos too.

    Reply
  • 3. Jientje  |  July 27, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    I love that quote, and your pictures a great! Nice post!

    Reply
  • 4. Regina  |  July 28, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Great shots. wonderful post.

    Reply
  • 5. Debbie  |  July 28, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Jessie, that is perfect! thanks for the reminder as I look at my less than perfect surroundings. :)

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 28, 2009 at 10:21 am

      Perfect is reserved for us in Heaven! If we could attain it here, who would look forward to the presence of Jesus?

      Reply
  • 7. Martha  |  July 28, 2009 at 9:42 am

    What a great entry! Wonderful macro shots too :-)

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah  |  July 28, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Ohh I not only looove the millepede but your words too!! As a mom of 5 and preschool teacher to 6 more here at home..I can relate to all you wrote. Sometimes the mess is not the important part. Nor is it what they will remember..its the games and the reading and the fun. Mine are 5 yrs to 28..looks like yours are a bit younger!! I look forward to chatting with you again!!!
    Sarah

    Reply
    • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 28, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Ah, is it a millepede? I just looked and though, he looks like he has plenty of legs for the task! :) You are a saint to teach preschool. With my own kids those are the hardest years for me.

      Reply
  • 10. Lisa's Chaos  |  July 28, 2009 at 11:12 am

    The first one scared me but once I looked closer I found him rather intriguing. :)

    Reply
  • 11. moorebloglife  |  July 28, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Insect macros are always so much fun just love it. Your flower is looking very nice as well!

    http://moorebloglife.com

    Reply
  • 12. Alisha @ Izzy 'N Emmy  |  July 28, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Love the shots and the quote. Fabulous and inspiring.

    Reply
  • 13. purplemoose  |  July 30, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    A little buggy, but . . . *ahem* Love that poem. A lot of our best school memories are sitting on the couch reading books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

