Summer Slackin’

July 29, 2009 at 10:02 am 9 comments

See I’m silly, do you suspect my serious compulsion? thing 1 pie I have a compulsion for words and I love alliteration! :) 

That aside, I spent the time it takes to brew my morning coffee swatting flies!  Why flies you ask?  My darling Thinglets can not resist the great outdoors but since mom doesn’t cook during the summer they also can’t resist multiple trips indoors for a snack.  During the summer I slack in the eating and the cleaning department, I reserve most of my cleaning rampages for the dreary days of winter.  Please pay close attention to the word MOST as I am not good at practicing what I preach! 

The result is a summer slackin’ mamma, several snackin saps and a serious amount of smackin’ stinkin’ segmented sailing suckers!

Since I’ve been a regular participator in Linda’s weekly blog carnival, previously “What’s for Dinner Wednesday” I decided I couldn’t let down the troops so this week I don’t have a recipe but more of a slackers gluten free survival map!

thing 2 pieNever fear though, I will be back soon with full tummy recipes since in the Northwest summer is but a passing fancy!  We have guests this week and I plan to bring you my brother in law’s (Lil Sis’ Hubby) “Famous Fish Taco” recipe.  So tune in next week!

In the mean time-

Gluten Free Goof’s Slacker’s Survival Map:

The first stop is my sock drawer!  No I don’t have any science experiments brewing in there just a “treasure map” of sorts that helps me get my head out of the clouds when it comes time to eat!  Food preparation is one area that I am somewhat of a procrastinator.  I am not confident, I am picky and yet I have grand ideas that often flop (unless my hubby is helping- he is an uninhibited cook)!  Sooo, it helps me to have a simple plan to fall back on and yet not be bound to! 

Sounds much too complicated for FOOD!  For crying out loud those six mouths are simply six pie holes!

After I have fished out my treasure map I wistfully make a paper airplane out of it and send it sailing off of the deck, past the pigs, the horses, and the vegetable garden where I am reminded there are numerous summertime bubba pietreasures we don’t get to enjoy everyday!  Second stop, garden of weedin where we get our veggies fix’!

If there is extra time and I want to impress the rats I might stop by the BBQ on the way back to the house and create a dish for the critics!

When there is no extra time my map ends up as fuel for the barbecue and I whip up my go to summer meal complete with Sweet Baby Ray’s drizzly grin!

Occasionally I forget the whole thing and let my seven year old create his own masterpiece!

So in case there is any question, my treasures are featured all over this page!  No need for maps or compasses my husband and I have been thoroughly blessed with the four adorable children God has trusted us with!

Psalm 127:3-5
3Sons are a heritage from the LORD,
       children a reward from him.

 4 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
       are sons born in one’s youth.

 5 Blessed is the man
       whose quiver is full of them.
       They will not be put to shame
       when they contend with their enemies in the gate.

pee wee pieAaarg, I hope you’ve enjoyed this treasure hunt, come back next week for a seriously good installment of Linda’s new and improved “What Can I Eat That’s Gluten Free” and don’t forget to visit the others this week!

Entry filed under: How to become a gluten-free goof!, What else is there to eat?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

The School Skinny Way cool root cellar!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  July 29, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    I enjoyed your alliteration and the pictures. You are truly blessed!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 29, 2009 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks! I enjoy participating in the carnival and like the new name btw!

      Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  July 29, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    That’s so cute! Sweet Baby Ray’s would be good on lint! I love the stuff!

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 29, 2009 at 2:50 pm

      Mmmm, linty Ray’s! :)

      Reply
  • 5. Amy Green - Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free  |  July 29, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Ok, I must say that I love seeing your kids. We would love to have little ones running around here but it’s not in the cards today. I was looking at your personality profile and I am hugely introverted, too. I wonder if that’s why I love blogging…I can talk to people and build relationships from the comfort of my own home.

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 29, 2009 at 9:50 pm

      One of my favorite bloggers is extremely introverted. Funny enough from the profile it appears I am just as introverted as I am extroverted! How does that work? I am not shy in a crowd but I don’t necessarily go out of my way to be the center of attention unless I really have something to say. I’m not afraid to speak up in front of people or ask for directions from a stranger but when I need to think I prefer to be alone and I’m not afraid to be alone, which can be a good thing. I guess I’m equally in and out! Pretty funny eh?

      Reply
  • 7. Brian  |  July 30, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Great post, love the pictures.

    Reply
  • 8. purplemoose  |  July 30, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Blessed indeed! happy eating.

    Reply
  • 9. gfe-gluten free easily  |  August 1, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Fun :-) Love all the pics of the kiddos! Who could resist those faces and antics? ;-)

    Shirley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

