What’s in a Name?

September 21, 2009 at 10:43 am 10 comments

If you look at Biblical examples many times children were named for the mother’s first impression; Esau (hairy), Jacob (deceiver- he came as a surprise, hanging onto the heel of his elder brother) and so on….

I’ve decided if I were to name my kids based on my current impression they would not have the most flattering of names.  Would I for that matter??

Introducing Lawyer (master of debate and arguing his case):thing 1

 

Here is Ticking Time Bomb (everything is fine until an unknown switch is triggered and KABOOM!):thing 2

 

This is Clown (jokester, magpie, remember-er of everything especially naughty words and apparently “funny” jokes):the bubba

 

Finally the Girl (at least she IS a girl but man can she scream and manipulate and get everyone wrapped around that pinky finger):pee wee

 

Sigh! Then there is me, I can’t even imagine the things I deserve to be called.  Thank you Lord for giving us a “new name” for making us children of the Living God, for allowing us to be know by association of YOU. 

Christian

“Christ follower”

“Little Christ”

“Child of the Most High!”

Revelation 2:17  He who has an ear let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it.

Revelation 3:11-13  11.I am coming soon, hold onto what you have so that no one will take your crown.  12.Him who overcomes I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will he leave it.  I will write on him the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem which is coming down out of heavenfrom my God; and I will also write on him my new name. 13. He who has an ear let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.

Entry filed under: Faith First. Tags: , , , , , .

New Page: On the Subject of Our Value in Christ

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. the most awesome cousin ever  |  September 21, 2009 at 10:58 am

    wonderful post jess! now, you get to tell me where the photos were taken :) especially with the bench. they’re beautiful!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 21, 2009 at 11:30 am

      Seriously?? THANKS! :) The bench pic was in Philipsburg MT and the others in Bannack St. Park and Ghost Town in Montana. Happy driving! Haha!

      Reply
  • 3. Sharyl Williams  |  September 21, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Great post! One time when I was doing a talk I looked up the meaning of the term “apple of my eye” in the Bible, which is what God calls us. It literally meant the reflection of yourself that you see when you look closely into someones eye. So when God calls us the apple of his eye, it means he see’s himself (Jesus) in us. I absolutely love that!

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 21, 2009 at 6:43 pm

      Thats amazing!

      Reply
  • 5. Karen Joy  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    “The Girl” looks so grown up!!! So amazingly grown up. That’s happy/sad, isn’t it??

    And, I’ve decided that I’m happy that my girls have my hubby wrapped around their pinkies. They are so very in love with him, and he with them… he always thinks the best of them, and they’re all so happy to see each other. The phone rings, and Fiala says, “Da da. Da da.” Or, she picks up anything remotely phone-shaped (like a melon baller) and says the same. Audrey wants to marry him when she’s old enough, and I can’t tell you how lovely I think that is. I was scared of my dad when I was growing up; I certainly didn’t want to marry him. So… baby/little girls that wrap the hearts of others around their own… I’m all for it. :)

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:35 am

      OH SOooo true Karen. My husband worried about her being “spoiled” and I told him that as far as I’m concerned it’s a dad’s perogative to show their daughters extra affection and a Godly example of how much they are valued. Make sense? When she chooses a mate I want her to think, “Does she cherish me like my dad does and how he has shown me God does?”

      For the boys I want them to choose a mate thinking “Do I cherish her and care for her like my dad does my mom and sister? Do I meet her needs and show her how special she is?” So yes, you are right I think that’s a-okay!

      Still funny though, I’m so not used to the girl thing :) When she wants something, ANYTHING she looks around to find someone to squeal at then opens her mouth and screams at the top of her lungs. Not mad, just exerting her “authority”!

      Reply
  • 7. Sarah C.  |  September 23, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Another name that is great as a Christian is a “Son Reflector”
    I read about this in ~It’s not about me~ By Max Lucado

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:37 am

      I really like that! In fact that “reflects” what Sharyl said about us being a literal reflection of him! :) So cool!

      Reply
  • 9. Nan  |  September 24, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Amen!

    Reply
  • 10. Look to the Rock « Blog Schmog  |  September 28, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    [...] was thinking about that verse and our discussions on names and I had an epiphany….  what do God’s names mean and what are  they [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

