Bokey or Bokoo, it’s Bokeh

September 24, 2009 at 10:41 am 14 comments

Well I was sitting here, sipping an overly sweet cup of coffee and eating a handful of chocolate chips, feeling sorry for myself having woke up early this morning to dogs barking and my two middle boys screaming at eachother and throwing cars.  Ugh!  I “wandered” over to check out some photo tips at Pioneer Woman and Mizz Booshay had published a challenge.  Hey, maybe I’ll give it a shot said I!  So, crawling out of my funk here is my attempt at capturing fall with bokeh using my little point and shoot camera. 

So what is bokeh you ask?  Beats me!  Okay so I don’t know the technical explination but I like what Jennifer said, “bokeh is that fuzzy dreaminess” in the background.

In my opinion, fall is the best season of all and it is more than just changing leaves, although I love that too, it is about texture…fall bokeh

and harvesting strange ears of crossbred corn (Oops!)…corn bokeh

and the wonder in a childs eyes (does this one count-only a little bokeh)…bubba bokeh

and of course the colors…fall bokeh 1

All pics are straight out of my little point and shoot camera except the one of Bubba, I cropped it to eliminate a nice shot of his runny nose, guess that’s fall too maybe I should have left it! That was fun, thanks for the challenge, I’m temporarily out of my funk!

Entry filed under: I'm no photo-genius, Momtography. Tags: , , .

Tips for making gluten free bread Look to the Rock

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miz Booshay  |  September 24, 2009 at 11:33 am

    You rocked it with the p & s!!!

    What did you set your camera on to achieve the bokeh?

    It’s wonderful!!!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 24, 2009 at 12:26 pm

      Whew, thanks! :) I have a canon rebel and it has digital macro setting. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t. I have to mess with the focus, sometimes finding a spot between the subject and the background to get just the right lighting. Did that make sense? I can not adjust the anti wiggle (or whatever that is) when the camera is in manual mode so for bokeh I have to use macro and hold VERY VERY still, usually I prop on something even my own arm if need be. Looks like that is F 2.8 and usually between 1/320 and 1/400 (the corn was 1/80), ISO 80 (thankfully I can adjust the ISO if needed).

      Kelly mentioned white balance. I usually set and keep mine at Vivid unless there are other circumstances ie. night time.

      Thank you thank you for the compliments, I decided to quit whining about my “handicap” not having an expensive camera and just learn to use what I’ve got!

      Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  September 24, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I agree with you on the flash…it almost always washes out my pictures. Mizz Booshay says I need to do some fiddling with my white balance…guess I’ll give it a try!

    Reply
  • 4. thelumberjackswife  |  September 24, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I cannot believe that Miz Booshay from Pioneer Woman commented on your blog! Who are you, Jessie? Who are you, really? :)

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 24, 2009 at 2:26 pm

      Ha ha ha ha ha! I fell out of my seat, I’m just plain ol’ Jessie STILL! Go and do the challenge it’s fun and she’ll comment on your blog too :) On my way to famous JK

      Reply
      • 6. thelumberjackswife  |  September 25, 2009 at 7:12 am

        Have you seen my pictures? Right . . .

        You were making me feel a little insecure. I was trying to figure out how I could get THE Pioneer Woman to comment on my blog to “show you up!”

      • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 25, 2009 at 9:13 am

        You are so funny! :) Maybe you could just ask her. Bet she has a hard time making friends the blogging way since I bet a good part of her readers just look for the giveaways. She would probably be thrilled to visit a blog that isn’t trying to sell her something or get something free. I’ll look for P Dub’s comment on YOUR blog :)

  • 8. Jen  |  September 25, 2009 at 6:33 am

    you got LOTS of cool bokeh!!!
    woo hoo!!!
    thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such kind words :)

    Reply
  • 9. katie  |  September 25, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Okay, the photo of the crossbread corn kind of freaks me out, but it really is a great shot! :) I’m finding that I use the “supermacro” feature on my p&s a lot…and I’m loving it!

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 25, 2009 at 12:59 pm

      Yeah it was kinda creepy, it looks like the thing has a thumb! :)

      Reply
  • 11. CottageGirl  |  September 25, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    WOW!!! Talk about wonderful bokeh!!!!!!!!! You have the knack, girl!

    Awesome pics! Thanks for the visit!

    Reply
  • 12. BeachMama  |  September 26, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Well you definitely rocked the Bokeh, way to go! It just shows that all you have to know is how to use your camera, not change your camera.

    Reply
    • 13. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 28, 2009 at 3:07 pm

      Practice lots! :) Thanks for the compliment

      Reply
  • 14. Sally  |  September 29, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Oh I LOVE the corn one! Great pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

