Pizza Please with a Cherry on Top!

September 29, 2009 at 12:29 pm 8 comments

cheeseburger pizzaA cherry tomato that is!

My toddler went down for a nap today with a piece of pizza, unannounced to me.  I hope it goes well and ends up in his tummy not ON his tummy, his face, his arms and legs as well as all over the room.  I’m afraid to look since the damage is already done.

I’ve been crazy with the tomato harvest and I made Mr Stripey’s Saucy Sauce so this week when the Thinglets begged me for pizza I didn’t have much of an excuse.

I’ve made Brian’s pizza crust with great results and decided this time to try using Linda’s Foccacia bread recipe (she recommends it for rolls which would be preferable since they rise really well!). I doubled the recipe (when I bake I BAKE) and froze individual size pizza’s between parchment paper to reheat later.

Earlier this week I made  Mr Stripey’s Saucy Sauce so a jar of home grown tomato sauce was waiting in the frig just for this purpose!  It was SO much better than store bought.

Setting the oven to 400 degrees and topping with all kinds of goodies most frozen crusts (pre baked) heat up nicely in just around 10 min (9-12 to be sure).

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

My all time favorite is Canadian bacon and olives.

Thing 1 likes plain cheese,

Thing 2 enjoyed my latest version, Cheeseburger Pizza with ground beef and sharp cheddar pictured at the top.

Please visit Linda’s new and improved “What Can I Eat That’s Gluten Free” and don’t forget to check out the other great recipes this week!

Entry filed under: Pizza Ideas. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

More Tomato Harvest Ideas I’ve Graduated

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  September 29, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    pizza..yummy. Favorite topping of all time: sausage. Sausage and onion, sausage and green peppers.

    Reply
  • 2. Kathryn  |  September 29, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Well, being vegetarian limits me a lot these days. It used to be pepperoni & pineapple.

    I just found Z Pizza that has gluten free crust & organic toppings. Yummy! I like their vegetarian pizza with artichoke hearts & the marinara sauce instead of the typical garlic sauce. Oh, so good!

    Reply
    • 3. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 30, 2009 at 9:23 am

      I forgot about artichoke hearts! Mmmm! Don’t tell me it’s veggies and I’ll be okay :)

      Reply
  • 4. Betsy  |  September 30, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Tons of veggies! Yum! I miss eating ‘real’ pizza, but I am trying to perfect a gfcf version.

    Reply
  • 5. Rachel Ann  |  September 30, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Veggie all the way! Or mushroom and olive.

    Reply
  • 6. Linda  |  October 1, 2009 at 9:12 am

    With my pizza crust recipe I like to vary the pans I use, sometimes making a thick crust, and sometimes making a thin crust. It works well either way. I love mushrooms and sausage on pizza. Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  October 1, 2009 at 9:32 am

      Was that the pizza crust that I linked? I searched Pizza and I looked through the breads and that’s all I could find but I thought with your other site I had seen actual pizza crust. It worked fine just really rose.

      Reply
  • 8. Brian  |  October 1, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    It’s great to use up all the fresh vegetables. I have to say that chicken garlic pizza is one of my favorites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

