Time for Christmas Cookies!

December 15, 2010 at 5:53 pm 2 comments

Chocolate Mint Layer Cookies
my grandma’s recipe

Hands down, my favorite Christmas cookies of all time! Can you believe I’m going to share it with you? MERRY CHRISTMAS from me! Everyone needs to eat these cookies. :)

This recipe is adapted from my grandmother’s wheat flour version (I’ll include the original for those of you who don’t have to eat gluten free).

Chocolate Mint Layer Cookies:

Cookie Layer -

  • 2 (1 oz) squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 1/2 Cup butter
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1/4 Cup sweet rice flour
  • 1/2 Cup brown rice flour (ORIGINAL recipe:  3/4 c sifted flour instead of the two rice flours) BTW the cookie layer is so thin on these, you could probably use any gluten free flours that float your boat. Also if you want to you could include a slight amount of xanthan gum (1/2 teaspoon). I didn’t find that it needed it but could improve the texture I suppose.
  • 2 eggs slightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Melt butter and chocolate over low heat. Mix flours and sugar. Add to chocolate mixture. Add eggs and vanilla. Pour into greased 9x9x2 in pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 min. I might try covering them with tin foil for part of the time next time I make these. Cool.

Mint Creme Filling:

  • 1 1/2 Cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter softened
  • 2 tablespoons cream or evaporated milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon peppermint flavor
  • green food coloring

Combine ingredients and beat until smooth. Spread over cookie layer. Chill until firm.

Would you believe I got a little “help” from Peewee? She did such a great job with daddy’s wrench. “Mum mum!”

German Chocolate Glaze:

  • 3 oz german sweet chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1inch piece of parafin wax (this is how the original recipe reads. I use probably 1/2 and inch piece from a cube of parafin wax that is approx 1 in square and keeps forever so I have no idea the length it started out to be.

Melt ingredients together. Spread over cookies (quickly it sets fast).

Cut cookies in 1 inch squares. Makes 6 dozen.

I dare you to save them for Christmas day. :)

Entry filed under: Christmas Cookies, Yipee Dessert. Tags: , , , , , .

Recipes for a gluten free Thanksgiving More Christmas Cookies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    I’m making these without the milk in the mint layer as we speak and I’m going to try something instead of the parafin wax. I will let you know how it goes.

    Reply
  • 2. Susannah  |  March 2, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    mint+chocolate=the best!!! I’ve bookmarked this page and am going to make them soon! Yummy!!! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

