Chime in-Gluten Free and/or Caseine Free Meals that Freeze Well

January 27, 2011 at 3:16 pm 3 comments

Did ya miss me? Huh, huh, did ya?

Just in case you’ve been dying to know where I’ve gone… here I am in all my baby glory.

It’s no wonder I haven’t had time for two blogs. To keep up with the most recent events visit Blog Schmog.

As most of you know cooking is not my favorite thing to do but since the majority of our large family has to eat gluten free, some need dairy free and one needs several other dietary considerations, I don’t get out of it often. EXCEPT when my Hubby and favorite chef gets into the kitchen. I’m so blessed!

So, I posted the following question on a gluten free group I am a part of and got a ton of feedback. Would you like to add your two cents? We can keep this list going over the years and hopefully it will be a good resource for others as well.

Okay everyone, desperate times call for desperate measures.

The baby should be coming in less than five weeks and we’ve eaten up all the freezer meals I made in advance.

That’s what happens with six people in the house already!

Needless to say I’m tired of the same ol’ same ol’.

So, your mission is to post or link your all time favorite freezer meals.

Here are some of the ideas we have already come up with.

  • seasoned taco meat (not pre packaged seasoning/most has gluten)
  • broth for soups (noodle soup with easy homemade GF noodles, veggie soup, egg drop, chicken and rice, onion soup, beef stew with rice or potatoes)
  • cooked chicken
  • freeze rice for meals or breakfast (with cinnamon/brown sugar)
  • pot roast
  • season meat while fresh and freeze to put into a crock pot with carrots and potatoes
  • meat balls
  • lasagna or no-noodle lasagna (one of my most popular recipes)
  • muffins (recipe linked below)
  • pancakes
  • mushroom soup to add to casseroles. If you like it creamy make a roux and add the soup with the liquid.

EDITED TO ADD:

The Nourishing Gourmet had a similar post and tons of great ideas too.

Entry filed under: GF and/or CF Freezer Meals, Mom stuff, What else is there to eat?. Tags: , , , .

2010 in review Gluten Free Cranberry Rice Bran Muffins

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  February 6, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I don’t know if you want to take the time to make these, but I have successfully frozen them. I have not yet made them dairy free, but it should work.

    http://www.glutenfreehomemaker.com/2009/12/gluten-free-calzones.html

    I don’t do much freezer cooking, though I think it’s a great idea, especially for situations like this. I think this one would freeze well after being cooked.

    http://www.glutenfreehomemaker.com/2010/10/chicken-cacciatore-slow-cooker.html

    And this probably would too:

    http://www.glutenfreehomemaker.com/2010/11/ham-loaf.html

    I don’t think I’ve ever said congratulations on this baby! Praying all goes well.

    Reply
    • 2. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  February 11, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks so much Linda for giving me some great ideas! Right now all I have is time, no energy but lots of time cause I can hardly do the busy body things I used to do. I love your ideas.

      Thank you for your prayers. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  February 21, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Okay, so my all-time favorite freezer recipe is my mom’s gumbo. It’s highly customizable, so will likely work around your family’s dietary needs. I personally make it gluten free, and using rice flour still gives it the same flavor from the roux.

    This does take a bit of labor to prepare, with the chopping, but if you’re really not in the mood to do that, just buy the pre-chopped veggies at your grocery store, or have your husband chop things for you ahead of time (I bribe mine with promises of gumbo, and that works every time).

    http://bedaub.johndoe.org/journal/archives/326

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

