Is anybody out there? What CAN I eat?

January 28, 2009 at 9:54 am 5 comments

I would like to start an interactive post by posing a question.

What are your favorite foods that are automatically gluten free or with small variations using ingredients from any regular grocery store?

I want to make a list of things we already eat that we can continue to eat after going gluten-free or wheat-free. We had to discover these things on our own 3yrs ago but it sure would have been helpful for someone to give me some perspecitve and point out the things I was already eating!  I ate plain rice cakes  for lack of creativity, until I realized- fruit is gluten-free, salad is gluten-free (check dressings), chicken, steak, rice, enchilada’s (with corn tortilla’s), taquitos and consequently cheese is gluten-free! YIPEE even most coffee, latte’s, and chocolate is gluten-free (almost a life saving revelation). My Kiddo’s are thrilled that most yogurt is gluten free and when my 1st grader makes lunch he always does cheese sticks wrapped with lunch meat. It’s the little things that count.

So, go to it, what are your fav’s?

Entry filed under: How to become a gluten-free goof!. Tags: , , , , .

Extensive list of gluten free blogs Who can tell it’s not wheat?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  January 29, 2009 at 8:55 am

    We use a lot of rice and potatoes for dinner and they usually make good leftovers for lunch. For dessert we love that ice cream is often gluten-free.

    Reply
  • 2. Callie  |  January 29, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Ooo, Classico alfredo sauce is gluten free they have three or more different “flavors”. Its so easy to get some gluten free noodles, cook up chicken, then dump the sauce over it. We also like to do steemed brocilli in our chicken alfredo.

    Reply
  • 3. vittoria  |  January 29, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Well, the biggies like fruits,veggies and meat are all gluten free. Before my ‘official’ diagnosis I went completely grain/starch/carb free and started to feel better. Nuts, as long as they’re not in a commercial mix are gluten free. I make my own yogurt, so I know what’s in it. But watch out for things processed in the same facility or on the same machinery as wheat.

    Reply
  • 4. Heather @ Life, Gluten Free  |  February 4, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    One of my favorite things to whip up quickly is a homemade tomato sauce. I like to keep cans of organic diced tomatoes on hand. I saute some onions and then add the tomato and herbs (basil, oregano, parsley, etc). I usually add some tomato paste as well. And when available, I substitute the canned tomatoes for the real thing 🙂 Then, of course, top over some gluten free rice pasta.

    As for snacks, we eat a lot of rice cakes with sunflower seed butter. My husband likes to top it off with some jelly too.

    It can be hard sometimes, especially when you have allergies and have to cut out other things from your diet besides just gluten (like us…) But it’s still possible! Good luck!

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  February 6, 2009 at 9:40 pm

      Heather, you make me miss my garden!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

