Things that don’t mix!

January 28, 2009 at 2:30 am 3 comments

  Thanks to Thing 1 and Thing 2, with a little help from The Bubba, I have just learned that burn out contests with a remote control monster truck and a pot full of dirt in the basement, DO NOT MIX!
  I was happily baking a yummy loaf of gluten free brown bread and trying to think of something to go with it for dinner when it hit me; those boys have been much too giddy in the school room downstairs so I snuck a little peek.  Squinting my eyes and peering through a cloud of dirt I could see that the three had nearly covered the entire basement in a film of dirt.
  Oh NO!?
  Oh YES!
  Apparently “The Bubba” had unearthed a tree I was hoping to transplant in the spring.  “Thing 1” and “Thing 2” then took the opportunity to use the new dirt track for their monster truck and in no time flat the floor, in a 10×10 area, was covered as well as the hands, feet and clothes of the three hombres.
  “Clean this up, you boys!” I exclaimed.
  “Thing 1” and “Thing 2” raced, each one trying to be the first to grab the vacuum (what fun for young boys). “2” made it first and started the clean up crew. I grumbled back upstairs to check on my loaves.  The vacuum started and I heard screaming and laughing . Screaming and laughing is never a good sign with boys. I reeled back on my heels and hurried down again through an even thicker cloud of dirt which now covered our school desks, papers, books, chairs, every item of clothing in the snow clothes bin and was settling happily on the heads and shoulders of my two oldest. “The Bubba” had retreated since vacuuming is not yet his favorite pastime. I had to dig black clots of dirt out of the corners of my eyes just to see and un-happily discover that “Thing 2” (my mini mechanic) had removed the vacuum tube on the shop vac and replaced it on the blow side before turning it on, using it to blast the “dirt track” throughout the rest of the basement!

Entry filed under: My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , , , .

You must learn to make sauce! Handy-Easy White Sauce Recipe Extensive list of gluten free blogs

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Consider yourself egged! « Blog Schmog  |  March 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    […] Blog Schmog was inspired by my 7 and 5yr old  boys and their antics. Affectionately I call them Thing 1 and Thing 2 (from Cat in the […]

    Reply
  • 2. Chronicles of a one armed cook. « Blog Schmog  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    […] May 12, 2009 I should have named my blog, “The Chronicles of a One Armed Cook”!  There are always at least two other thing going on while I am trying to make food.  Often times I am fixing a bottle for the Bubba, listening to and helping Thing 1  to read or blending up various foods in the Magic Bullet for Pee Wee.  Thing 2 tends to be good at entertaining himself, for better or worse. […]

    Reply
  • 3. My Tootsies « Blog Schmog  |  July 20, 2009 at 8:58 am

    […] you go away thinking, “Her boys are so well behaved” I will include a little playful proof otherwise along with some mother to mother (parent to parent) encouragement in the form of one of my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

