Who can tell it’s not wheat?

January 28, 2009 at 3:40 pm 3 comments

I've just had the most delicious sandwich!

I've just had the most delicious sandwich!

I have discovered a new grain to use in my gluten free baking! I know, I know “exotic flours” are not easy to come by but this one is worth the effort!  It’s a tiny little cereal grain called Teff that originated in Ethiopia and it makes the most delightful addition to the stand-by gluten free flours.  I’ve added it to my bread recipe (approx 1/4 the flours) and you can’t tell it’s not wheat! I’m so thrilled with the outcome.  In my kitchen I’m blessed to have a small grain mill and was able to grind my flour fresh, it even smelled like wheat when I was grinding it.  Of course there are subtle differences but I highly recommend trying it if you can purchase some. If you can’t find a local mill or health foods grocery to purchase it from you can get the flour at http://www.teffco.com/.  Surprisingly it is grown right here in little ol’ Idaho!

*I will add this note, I have notice in my research on teff that there is some debate as to wether or not it truly is gluten free. Most of what I can find shows that it is certified gluten free. I usually react quite severly to gluten even in the smallest amounts but have not had any reaction to the teff I have been using in my kitchen, neither have any of the kids.  That being said I would definately research it individually before going hog wild! It seems to be tolerable by some and not others. Because of this question I changed the title to “not wheat”.*

GOING!

Look quick before it's gone-It really IS gluten free!

Look quick before it's gone-It really IS gluten free!

GOING!

gluten free sand3

GONE!

img_1596

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Is anybody out there? What CAN I eat? Crazy Beautiful Gluten Free Sourdough

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  January 29, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    No, I wouldn’t mind at all. It has really helped us to have a restaurant list to referrence when we’re trying to plan something. By the way, this sandwhich looks really good…

    Reply
  • 2. Green Key  |  January 29, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog through Gluten Free Girl. That sure looks like a nice sandwich bread. I’m curious about your recipe. I looked around your blog, but don’t see it. Are you willing to share it?

    Reply
    • 3. glutenfree4goofs  |  January 29, 2009 at 2:29 pm

      Dear Green Key, I am still learning the etiquite on all this! I got the recipe out of the book I mentioned in my post about sourdough; Gluten Free Gourmet Cooks Comfort Foods by Bette Hagman. It can be purchase at Amazon. As for the recipes! I am working on some of my own originals -slowly I might add- I keep busy with the four not counting my husband! I am excited about experimenting with teff, when combined with other gf flours it gives great results. Try substituting 1/4 of the flours in a familiar recipe and I think you will be pleased. Jess- Mamma Goof

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

