Basics

February 15, 2009 at 4:28 pm 4 comments

img_1833It occurred to me this morning as I trudged through the mud and the snow to throw hay (deliriously expensive dry blades of grass in a big heavy block) to my three horses, that I really need to dig deeper into the basics of life.  I love my horses and whenever my husband and I begin to have that talk about budget I always find a way to “justify” keeping them.  Lately it’s more about the inability to sell them to some other poor soul who can’t afford thosebig heavy blocks of grass called hay, than it is unwillingness.  I don’t want to put my family in jeopardy for a hobby no matter how dear the horses are to me.

I tossed them their hay and feeling a bit chilled I climbed onto Oliver’s neck (my big black “tractor” of a draft horse) letting him lift me onto his back then I turned around and lay sprawled out on his wide back to keep warm and to think.  What a dilemma it is feeding a family let alone the animals we need and love.  Horses, as you probably know, are one of the least productive animals on most US family farms. We don’t eat them, we rarely reproduce them and if you make money with them it is by running them silly till they make lots of money for you, or showing them in the big circuits while you spend lots of money on them.

Oliver’s thick neck twitched as he munched and my mind continued to re-play my years of owning and caring for these friendly beasts.  My thoughts came one after the other none of them staying long enough to dwell on but all of them leaving an impression:

Horses… hay…the economy… sweat… mud…$$ dilemma… a harness… a chicken coop on wooden runners I saw in a book…hens…farm eggs…$$-in the black or in the red… HEY!!!  I’ve got it!oliver

Oliver IS a tractor. While listening to his breathing, steady, strong, faithful I realized, “this has potential, he already knows how to pull, I already know how to drive I can put most anything on runners and he can work too.”  I’ve got plowing to do, leveling, ditching, firewood to move, rocks to move, I’m going to get back to the basics and scratch “tractor” off the list of things we are saving $$ for.

Speaking of basics, my  next attempt at the gluten free sourdough is about to go into the oven, stay tuned for results and hopefully I can post a successful recipe!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Bee kind to bees! On the topic of being frugal

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yasmine  |  February 16, 2009 at 7:07 am

    hii wanted to let you know I love your spot here! I homeschool, have a small farm (with 2 horses, so I feel for you regarding the hay comments)with 30 chickens, 4 show chickens, a few goats, and bunny and a kitty, and have 5 (trying to be gluten free ) kids with one baby on the way… Sounds like maybe your a CHristian too, or just maybe love the Lord?, (mee too)… hubby works in contruction, and 3 of my little ones are homeschooled right now…
    Anyway, we live in NY and just wanted you to know I am putting you on my toolbar! Do you ever go to the website welltellme.com. Its grest when the kids are ill or you are and need some healthy info..
    BY By

    Yasmine!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:01 pm

      I’m so glad you like it, my sister Callie talked me into it because she said she thinks my writing is entertaining. Thanks sis and no you can’t have my “tractor”! 🙂 I told her I’m just crazy! But a little goofy goes a long way, actually my husband is the true Goof! Anyway keep visiting I’m always excited to meet other mom’s who are or have been in my shoes! We have a lot in common, I do love the Lord and we don’t work in construction but we contracted and built various parts of our own home last year. I did not find your website, will email.

      Reply
  • 3. Callie  |  February 16, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Hey! I’ve got an idea….I will take Lexi and Oliver since Jason loves him so much…JK i know you dont want to get rid of them but Jason sure does think Oliver is the coolest.

    Reply
  • 4. Consider yourself egged! « Blog Schmog  |  March 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    […] day I tried to sum up my hobbies into a single word and Farm is all I could come up with.  I like so many things, family, animals, crafting, baking, teaching, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

