Unraveling the mystery of eggs! (Recipe 1)

February 22, 2009 at 5:05 pm 2 comments

img_1857smI don’t know about you but cooking eggs has always been somewhat of a mystery to me.  Once or twice I have been succesful but mostly they are only mediocre.  Yet, I am extremely picky about how I eat my eggs.  Darn!  That could be a problem especially since the farm fresh eggs my girls produce for us on a daily basis are one of the few healthy (supposedly easy) protein options for breakfast on a gluten free diet! With four of us eating gluten free a $6 box of gluten free cereal gets polished off in one morning!  If we did that every weekday that’s $100 a month, ifI hold out and get it on sale for an average of $5.  Thanks to Post, Rice Chex (update- and Corn Chex) are now gluten free so less expensive options are out there but it still leaves the problem of protein.

Since eggs are low in saturated fat yet high in protein, minerals and vitamins they are actually quite healthy especially if you can purchase free range farm fresh varieties.  At the same time you will be supporting your local economy. 

The moral of this story is that I have decided to perfect the art of creating delicious, more than edible eggs. I think for the goof that I am, more than edible should be an attainable goal. Forget that bit about perfect!

 It seems that there are approximately 20 different ways to have eggs for breakfast, snacks and even heartier meals.  I will attempt to try most of them and report back to you on my successes (hopefully) and goof ups, so you can learn from them.img_1877sm

My boys keep insisting they don’t like eggs the “easy” way so I devised a plan, “if they don’t look like eggs over easy maybe they will eat them!”  It was a success.  I actually think these are sunny side up but the point is they are easy and I didn’t have to do any magic tricks to get the kids to eat them, unless you consider a stainless steel cookie cutter magic.  Ok, so maybe I am a brilliant magician.

Fried Egg Recipe:

Melt a small amount of butter or marg. in a skillet over medium heat. (300 degrees in an electric skillet)

I like to crack the eggs into my stainless steel 1 cup measuring cup (if not I inevitably get shells in the pan).  Then if using a “form” place it in the pan and pour the eggs directly into it, or right into the pan if you have no need to disguise your “easy” eggs.

Turn down the heat and cover the pan approx 5min.  If Salmonella is a concern, be sure to cook until the yolk is done, breaking the yolk will usually ensure thorough cooking.  I’m a weird one, I like my egg yolk runny.  You will have to practice to get it “perfect” but once you get the hang of them they are a quick and healthy naturally gluten free breakfast. 

If you are making eggs for a herd, simply crack the eggs into several coffee mugs and loop the handles onto your fingers then pour into the pan at the same time.  This too, requires a bit of practice but it sure beats the guesswork and/or having to make them one at a time.

Entry filed under: Egg Kick (3), Whats for breakfast gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Soup Base & Casserole Un-Recipe Crusty Popovers – Delight Gluten-Free Recipe

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana aka Gluten Free In Cleveland  |  March 1, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I absolutely love your eggs in a cookie cutter idea. If it’s up to me, I’d say brilliant for sure!

    Eggs are a fantastic breakfast, and honestly if it’s not eggs or oatmeal, then my day just doesn’t start off right – it’s like I lack the power to go, go, go. I’m glad you found a way to get your boys to enjoy eggs, too!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 2, 2009 at 11:35 am

      Ha ha, thanks! I think I saw shapes for pancakes somewhere, can’t take all the credit! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

