Unraveling the Mystery of Eggs (Recipe 2.a) – Kid Scrambled

February 28, 2009 at 10:20 pm 4 comments

I’m going to give you two options for making scrambled eggs, the first I’m ashamed I even know and I’m not going to guess if there are any nutrients left afterward. It’s MICROWAVE! Seriously sad that eggs can be scrambled in the microwave but that little diddy is a necessary evil in our household.  I spent an entire winter in a camp trailer and I learned to bake everything either in the microwave or on top of a wood stove. 

Except the time I burned my eyelashes off trying to bake gluten free brownies (pregnancy craving) but that’s another story all together!  You will all have to pray that I remember my brownie recipe and then I’ll have to tell that story.  I lost that recipe somewhere between the fog of baby number 4 (a girl-hence the fog-lol) and finding out that Wal Mart, another necessary evil, stopped carrying my favorite yogurt.  I don’t even LIKE yogurt – it was well disguised!

I hear you!

“Weren’t we on the subject of eggs Goof?”

And yes, you are right on with the eggs.

Often I have those sort of days when the butter dish gets broken and my husband thinks a plate will do just fine until one of the barn cats gets in the house and I am in the middle of bathing my darling Thinglets so I don’t notice when a whole stick of butter gets licked to smithereens. When I realize what happened I plop down another stick of butter, after shooing the cat outside and scramble (see I’m getting there) to get everyone dressed but realize there are no clean pants for any of the kids so I quickly toss in a load of laundry while The Bubba slips on a pair of over sized boots and lets himself out onto the front deck (I had no idea he could reach the handle yet) in just a pair of boots and a diaper (in 35 degree weather and a sciff of fresh snow) when the dog rushes in, straight for the kitchen (I swear the cat started the search and destroy mission) and lops up a second stick of butter before you can say “Boys, where’s your BROTHER?”

Sooo, after all that Thing 1, Thing 2 and The Bubba are back inside but still half dressed and everyone is getting hungry. I finally sit down with a cup of coffee and wonder, how many moms across the country have gone fetal (like I’m about to do) on their living room floors at this very moment.  Feeling sorry for myself I stare into the swirl of cream and breathe in the steamy goodness and am just about to sink back in the chair for a couple sips when my stomach growls and I realize all we had this morning is cereal; nothing with protein, no hearty, stick to your stomach, feed your brain protein!  This is the kind of day that screams for microwave eggs!  I don’t even get time to drink the coffee and Pee-wee is crying so I pick her up slump back in my rocker and commission the oldest, Thing 1, to make us all eggs.

Scrambled Eggs in the Microwave – Kid friendly

  1. 1-2 eggs cracked into a microwave safe coffee mug
  2. a splash (approx 2 Tablespoons) of milk or water
  3. whisk with a fork
  4. Microwave for 2 min. (if you have a small mug the eggs may try to escape over the top)

It seems to be that 1 min. per egg is the ticket but I’ve never tried more than 2 at a time.

If you are not horified by my suggesting it, you may try these in a pinch.  If the thought wierds you out I hope you got a good laugh!

Entry filed under: Egg Kick (3). Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Sourdough Pancake Success(gluten free of course) Meat Loaf Wednesday

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

