Consider yourself egged!

March 21, 2009 at 9:07 pm 18 comments

img_1891smI am participating in 5 min. for Mom’s Ultimate Blog Party with prized and fun for all.  Visit the link on my sidebar to enter for free.  To kick things off I thought we would have a good ol’ fashion egging!  Occasionally I come up with some brilliant recipes to share but most of the time I’m just a busy mom of four trying to survive.

My Blog Schmog was inspired by my 7 and 5yr old  boys and their antics. Affectionately I call them Thing 1 and Thing 2 (from Cat in the Hat).  

I’m Jessie and I’m the Goof, I like all things farm and old fashioned and a few things modern and convenient-like parties on the Internet where Mom’s can meet and support one another. 

One day I tried to sum up my hobbies into a single word and Farm is all I could come up with.  I like so many things; family, animals, crafting, baking, teaching, gardening, singing, drawing, building, researching, horseback riding, strange pets, hiking, motorcycling, traveling, playing blocks with my three boys and rocking with my baby girl.  Since I can’t narrow it down you might find adventures from many different angles here, but one things for sure, I’ve got my game face on and I’m “here for the party”! 

I’m really on an egg kick lately.  I’m sure a big part of that is because it’s been our first sign up here at the farm that spring is indeed coming, though old man winter is hanging on for dear life giving us a majestic thunderstorm the other night followed by a day and a half of snow.  Today though, it is sunny and brisk again and the Girls (chickens) are back to work clucking happily and laying eggs.

Along with a hard winter we have had a difficult flu season.  With six of us in the house a single illness can last nearly a month then when one of the kids brings home a second we are out for a whole season is seems. This has been discouraging as I’m sure many of you experience.  This last bout of colds put the littlest in the ER with RSV, thankfully she is fast recovering but it got me thinking about nutrition again.  I’m admittedly not the best chef, and I don’t claim to eat very healthy but I’m aware of it and try my best.  I tend to go in waves!

Eggs are rich in vitamins and minerals as well as being one of the few foods containing an essential vitamin D.  This is especially important to those of us living in areas where winter does not go quietly into the night.  We need our sunlight, we need our Vit. D!  We also need a great deal of chocolate to “take the edge off”!  But that’s a different story.

For my contribution to this fabulous party you may now consider yourself egged.  Enjoy surfing and come back soon to see what’s happens next here at the anti-blog (because they-you know who they are- coerced me to write)Blog Schmog by Jessie

p.s. Don’t forget the free giveaways! It’s hard to choose but my top picks are a pair of shoes for my Pee Wee from See Kai Run or books from Bilingual Fun.  I also like USC 13, 118, 123, 78, 65, 72, 80!  There are too many to choose from!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, Mom stuff, My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Reading Dreaming about Dirt!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  March 22, 2009 at 5:23 am

    OK, I am so glad that you visited my blog because I found YOURS! I’ve enjoyed browsing around reading, and I’m definitely going to add it to my list of regulars!

    I love the chicken/baby picture. My husband just walked by the computer and said “Hey! There’s a cute baby and a chicken!” and laughed. hehe

    I also try to be aware of nutrition, but am not a great cook by any means. So it’s hard. And we slip up sometimes because of it.

    We’re in the middle of a month long cold that is actually on it’s second round through our family. It bites.

    Thanks again for visiting me — I’ll be back! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. MB  |  March 22, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog party! Your farm sounds wonderful, though honestly, I would only visit as I am definitely not a farm girl. 🙂 My boys do have Thing 1 and Thing 2 shirts though. Hope you are having fun party hopping!

    Reply
  • 3. Rona  |  March 22, 2009 at 6:25 am

    My hubby is a diabetic so I am interested in gluten free cooking and eating. Thanks to UBP for introducing me to your blog.
    I hope that you’re enjoying the UBP!
    Yes, spring has finally arrived. I can hear the brisk wind doing damage on our property. Just another windy day in Vegas!
    Enjoy your day!

    Reply
  • 4. purplemoose  |  March 22, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Hey, thanks for visiting my site! The sight word links look great, I think we’ll be able to use them ourselves. Thanks!

    And i’ll have to stop by your blog more often. 🙂 Good luck with the sourdough.

    Reply
  • 5. purplemoose  |  March 22, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Oh, and by the way. . . guess which song is running thru my head now?

    Reply
  • 6. Patty  |  March 22, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Lovely blog, and I will definately be back.
    Found you on UBP!! Enjoy the party!

    Reply
  • 7. SisterTipster  |  March 22, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    I love your nick names for your boys…I call my kids boy thing one and girl thing one! It’s fun like that isn’t it?

    Great blog for an antiblogger and we love farm fresh eggs too!
    Partying on down the line!
    blessings
    SisterTipster
    homeschoolblogger.com/SisterTipster/
    ladygraceful.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 8. Kris @ Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers  |  March 22, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s nice to meet you, too!

    Reply
  • 9. melodyofamom  |  March 22, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    I’m blog partying and found your blog schmog. I would love to be a farm girl like you! My husband was raised on a farm but that’s as close as I’ve gotten. :0)

    Reply
  • 10. Muthering Heights  |  March 23, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    So, at the risk of sounding like a complete moron (and suburbanite), do chickens not lay eggs in the winter??

    Reply
  • 11. Donna  |  March 23, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Hi, Jessie! Thanks for visiting my site – I’m glad you dropped by! N Idaho is one of our fav places – still considering relocating there. I see Auracana eggs in there – we hope to get some new layers as soon as I get the coop ready. Have you tried the sponge method of bread making? Love your photo of a chicken, a chick (you) and your chick-a-dee! I would love to be a follower on your blog to keep up to date and to chat – have you thought about adding that feature? Blessings!

    Reply
  • 12. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 23, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Hi all ,so glad you came!
    Carrie, can’t wait to get to know you- I HATE that cold!
    MB, would love to have you visit-I’m am way out but only 20min to the nearest mall!
    Rona, educate me about Diabetes, I just found out a friend of mine (who eats here on occasion has it) I’d like to know more. You and I need windmills!
    Sister Tipster, party on- you and your “Thinglets” are welcome anytime
    Kris-your blog name cracks me up
    Melodyofamom-I’v always been a wanna be just finally convinced someone else this is where I was meant to be! Thanks Hubby! 🙂
    Muthering Heights-Not an idiot! 🙂 Chicken’s need daylight to lay eggs. Mine were chicks last spring and even though they might have been able to lay eggs in winter (with enough artificial light) they chose to wait till a more natural time. Good question
    Donna – you could be my neighbor! I have only one Aracana left. Is the sponge method sourdough-if so yes? How do I add that feature? I’ll check into it!
    Thanks everyone you brighten my days!

    Reply
  • 13. Steph  |  March 24, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am learning alot here on yours! 🙂

    Hope you have a great week!!

    Reply
  • 14. Stephanie@ Snyder News  |  March 25, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I have completly enjoyed your blog! Arn’t 4 kids fun!!! Thank you for the visit to my blog. I will be adding yours to my blog list that I read all the time. Nice to meet you.

    Reply
  • 15. purplemoose  |  March 25, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Regarding the sponge method. . . What my bread making teacher did is to take your warm water, yeast, sugar (I use honey), oil, and a little bit of the flour and mix them, then let them sit for a few minutes till it gets bubbly. But, I’ve never made sourdough, maybe it’s something else?

    Our chickens have laid over the winter. It’s super cold outside, so we have them in a heated outbuilding. Now some of them are molting, so they aren’t laying.

    And I’d also be interested inknowing how to add a “followers.” I’ve seen it on blogger blogs, but not on wordpress!

    Reply
    • 16. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 26, 2009 at 9:05 am

      Regarding the “followers” I added an RSS feed and I believe people can now subscribe through that. You should be able to choose your reader and/or receive the feed through your email. I should look into Twitter, it looks like that’s how a lot of people keep in touch, but I hardly have enough time for this! 🙂

      Regarding Sourdough… I do usually make bread using the “sponge” method, but sourdough is a pancake batter-like starter that holds live friendly bacteria (yeast) and is supposed to be used instead of yeast in bread. I have yet to have it work by itself and I’m beginning to wonder if gluten free bread just needs a bit of yeast to work. I’m still trying though! Made another yesterday that looked promising until the rise and even though I could tell the starter was active the bread never rose.

      Reply
  • 17. Baba  |  March 26, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Hi Jessie! So nice to meet you. Living on a farm we get on egg kicks all the time too. Lots of chickens here. Party hopping and participating too so stop in for a visit.

    Reply
  • 18. Deborah  |  March 28, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

    Ta!

    I want to invite you to the Mommie Daze Virtual Baby Shower that I am hosting May 15 to June 8. This is an international even and there are prizes! Stop by my blog for all the details.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

