Dreaming about Dirt!

March 23, 2009 at 10:40 am 6 comments

garden

I spent my weekend plotting the vegetable garden and dreaming about dirt!

Today it’s finally sunny. We’ve had so much rain the springs are swollen and taking their yearly adventure into the nearby fields.  Mud is abundant yet the ground underneith is still frozen.  The Farmer’s Alminac says we have until the middle of May before it’s okay to plant in the ground but I’m going to wait until the end of May to be sure.  I’m sure having a hard time waiting.  I just love to put on my overalls and spend hours with dirt on my knees.  That’s a good position for many reasons. On my knees I’m eye level with my little one’s, I’m close enough to the ground to smell the damp fertile earth and best of all working the dirt reminds me of how wonderfully we are made!

Today our school project is planting the seeds that we can indoors.  We are going to plant a little of everything indoors so the kids can “experiment” with what works and what doesn’t.  I’m hoping to coax some corn up early though I’m doubting wether I can get it safely transplanted.  I also don’t expect the cucumber or beans to transplant well since I haven’t had luck with that before.

Here are the heirloom seeds I purchased for my garden this year:

 

  • Beans, Blue Marbut:  70 days.  A colorful, tasty, southern heirloom. Colorful purplish stems and purple tint to the leaves. Tasty, purple streaked green pods.
  • Beans, Greasy Back Cornfield:  75 days.  Heirloom pole snap bean, white seeds. Grows well planted with corn and using the cornstalks as a pole to climb
  • Carrot, Coreless Amsterdam:  57 days.  Very early. Roots average 6″ long and are straight all the way to the end. Excellent for use as “Baby Carrots”.
  • Carrot, Snow White:  70 days.  Tender, creamy white
  • Corn, Black Mexican:  82 days.  6 foot stalks, with 8 to 10 rows per 7 to 8 inch ear. Starts out pure snow white and turns to purple then black. Eat as a sweet corn when white. Dates to 1863
  • Corn, Blue Pop:  100 days.  I got this from Gurneys close to 30 years ago. It was never all blue like I thought, but is brightly colored blue, yellow and other colors mixed. Ears are nice sized, pearl type.
  • Corn, Clem Bennett:  75 days.  6 to 7 foot stalks, 12 to 14 rows of yellow kernels on 9″ ears. 1 oz
  • Cucumber, Lemon:  60 days.  Super tasty globe shaped lemon colored skin
  • Cucumber, Monastic:  65 days.  Dual purpose, short, fat pickling type, cream colored when young, will also work as a small slicer
  • Garden Huckleberry 90 days.
  • Golden Zucchini:  53 days.  Bush type, bright yellow, 8 to 10 inch fruits
  • Lettuce,Black Seeded Simpson:  50 days. A chartreuse, green-yellow color.
  • Lettuce, May Queen:  50 days.  19th century heirloom, earliest butterhead type, pale green tinged with brown
  • Lettuce, Romaine:  65 days.  Erect, tightly folded plants
  • Lettuce, Waldman’s Green:  55 days.  Large, wavy, frilled leaves, a nice dark green leaf lettuce, tolerates cold weather well.
  • Peas, Alderman (Tall Telephone):  75 days.  I remember how much I enjoyed growing this variety in the cooler Springs in the Northwest. There it would reach 6 feet tall and be loaded with pods. Our rapidly changing climate here makes them shorter.
  • Pepper, (sweet) Early Niagara Giant:  64 days.  A nice, early selection of a green bell. Fruits will turn red in about 95 days
  • Pepper, (sweet) Frank’s:  56 days.  Our most productive pepper ever. Plants are very compact with a solid pack of fruits. Good for fresh use or for cooking. Turn red quickly. Fruits are a medium size, elongated bell shape. Very sweet flavor
  • Tomato, Chipollino:  mid, Ind, round, red globe, 3 oz. fruits
  • Tomato, Yellow Out Red In:  late, SD, solid 6 oz. globe, tart, the best of the keeping tomatoes

     

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Hey What's Goin on Here?.

Consider yourself egged! Let them eat gluten free/milk free crepes.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina  |  March 23, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    I love reading about other peoples’ gardens! Nice sketch – it gets me thinking about my plans, too. I never am able to grow things indoors. I inevitably kill the poor things before it’s time to transplant. You sound like you have a greener thumb. I’ll be eager to hear how it turns out!

    Reply
  • 2. Wendy  |  March 23, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Love your sketch. A very ambitious garden plan. Should be some good eating come harvest time. Just so you know…I adopted you and your noodles at SeaMaiden’s Book of Yum Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger. I have been wanting to try noodles and your photos and description gave me courage.

    Reply
  • 3. purplemoose  |  March 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    How cool! Looks like you have a nice, big area for the garden. Have you planted a garden before? Here we try to get the seeds in the ground by mother’s day, because we have a short growing season. I have never had success in starting seeds inside, then transplanting them outside. They wilt and die. 😦 How do you do it?

    Reply
  • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 23, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Hi Gina, you know, God did bless me with a bit of a green thumb.
    Wendy, ambitious is my middle name 🙂 We’ll certainly have WAY too many tomatoes as we did last year but I plan to can salsa. Thanks for letting me know about Book of Yum. I had never heard of it, now I’m nervous Lol!
    Purplemoose, I love gardening. This is my second year on that plot (about 30′ by 20′) and I am planning so I can remember to rotate. We can sometimes get frost at the end of May so I’ll have to be careful but I’m hoping to transplant using old windows as cold frames. Indoors I will plant in egg cartons and keep them covered with saran until the seeds sprout (hillbilly green house) then move them into a sunny window unless we get a cold night. Will post more as I go. P.s. some plants don’t like to be transplanted like corn.

    Reply
  • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 23, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    P.s. thanks for the compliments on the pic!

    Reply
  • 6. The Casual Perfectionist  |  March 25, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Hi! I’m just stopping over from the UBP, and I can’t wait to read more of your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

