You’ve got to be kidding me!

March 25, 2009 at 7:30 pm 11 comments

glasses

Here I was all geared up to get outside and start walking daily while the boys ride bikes.  This morning there was more snow! Sigh!dirg

We did get to start our “greenhouses” inside today.  As long as Bubba doesn’t dig them up we should see sprouts in about a week.

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Hey What's Goin on Here?.

Let them eat gluten free/milk free crepes. 7 things you may not know about me.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathryn  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Who would have thought that you in Idaho & me just 100 miles east of Los Angeles (but high in the mountains) could have such similar weather? LOL

    I can’t put out plants here until mid-June because of the late frosts.

    I grew up in Western MT (Bozeman) & remember the long, cold, wet, unpredictable springs. It is not like that here, we still have warm sunny days, usually, but the nights get very cold (9 F on Monday) & the chance of freeze far into the year.

    Keep warm! We’ve our wood stove going good. : )

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  March 26, 2009 at 9:09 am

      Yeah for the wood stoves! It’s such a different kind of warm. It could be 72 in the house using the forced air heater and I’m freezing but even just the faint smell of the wood stove (ours is quite tight so not much smell/smoke) and I’m warm!

      Have you ever tried cold frames for spring gardening? I’m going to try using old windows to keep the ground warm earlier this year and protect my little veggies from the unexpected (we’ve had snow on 4th of July before).

      Reply
  • 3. glutenfreeforgood  |  March 26, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Hi there — I found you via a comment Firefighter Brian left on my blog. I followed him to his blog and found you in the comment section. I noticed the GFFG name, which is similar to mine. So I clicked on you — and wow, I like your style! Good writing, caring mom/wife, gluten-free, Idaho, dreamer. Lovely mix. Where in Idaho?

    I’m a mom of 4 (grown now), GF backpacker, telemark skier, and general outdoorsy girl as well.

    I’ll be back!
    Wishing you well!
    Melissa

    Reply
  • 4. hotpants™  |  March 26, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks for stopping by to comment from the UBP!

    Reply
  • 5. Linda  |  March 26, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Jessie, I tagged you in a post. If you don’t do it, I won’t mind a bit.

    http://www.glutenfreehomemaker.com/2009/03/7-things-you-may-not-know-about-me.html

    Reply
  • 6. Gina  |  March 26, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I like seeing your garden starts! Mine usually die when I forget to water them. I’m not sure I’ll even try this year – I always have to end up buying them anyway when mine don’t turn out. Maybe if I have blog reminders this time I can keep a few alive 😉

    Reply
  • 7. purplemoose  |  March 26, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    Thanks for the pics. I think we’ll try egg carton starters this year!

    Reply
  • 8. Cari  |  March 27, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Grrrr… winter will never end here either! Yuck! Stopping by from the UBP to check out your blog. I just started partying yesterday. 🙂 Great blog! Hope you are enjoying the party!

    Reply
  • 9. Carrie  |  March 28, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Oh man. Snow is so wrong at this point. I get bitter when any snow comes after the middle of March.

    I love your little greenhouses. I need to start some seedlings, but I’m afraid the kids will destroy them and I will have a small coronary. So I’ve been ‘letting’ my mom start them for me. HAHA

    Reply
  • 10. Gina  |  March 29, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Jessie,

    I didn’t see an email for you on you blog, but I wanted to let you know that I tagged you in a post:

    http://glutenfreegourmand.blogspot.com/2009/03/7-things-you-may-not-know-about-me.html

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 11. melodyofamom  |  March 30, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Snow? Ugh! I am so glad I’m not where you are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

