Mom Time Out

April 3, 2009 at 7:25 pm 5 comments

I’m having a mom time out. That’s where I sneak off to jot down a couple words and hopefully catch up on returning emails. The problem is I’m having a bad attitude. The weather stinks and Pee Wee is teething. I wish I had a hot tub to climb into for my “time out”!

I have a Spring Resolution: I am going to get to the bottom of why I hate menu planning and GET OVER IT so I can simplify my life! I need order and I need a plan otherwise kids, weather, sickness, life… runs out ahead of me and I spend my days flailing behind out of breath and frustrated.

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , .

Simple Salmon Sprouts!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. purplemoose  |  April 3, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Oh, I’m with ya for the time out! Sorry it’s a rough day for you.

    I’l tell you why I don’t like meal planning. I don’t like to be stuck in a plan, I want to be free to change ona whim and do something else. Fly by the seat of my pants, as it were. But the menu planning I’ve been doing has been really helpful.

    Good luck with yours!

    Reply
  • 2. Carrie  |  April 4, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Time out is a good thing. I always waste my time out doing things I don’t even want to do though. Go figure.

    I love menu planning. I hate cooking. Great combo.

    Reply
  • 3. Kathryn  |  April 4, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Not a mom (wanna-be!) so can’t comment there.

    But i understand the frustration & dislike of meal planning.

    I’m also hampered by the fact that i usually eat vegetarian, & my husband often does not like what i cook. Discouraging. What i’m finding, however, is that failing to plan turns into planning to fail & we end up eating not so good stuff or going out. I have to work at this.

    Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 4. Gina  |  April 4, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Hmm… meal planning. The closest I get to this is to conceive of one big dish to make on the weekend and then I have leftovers all week. This week it’s lasagna. For your family this might not work, as I imagine you never have leftovers with so many people to feed!

    Maybe you could do a half-way measure and plan out just a portion of your meals each week, then wing it for the others. So you could stock up on the ingredients for say, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday dinner the weekend before, then use your imagination for the other meals.

    Reply
  • 5. gfe-gluten free easily  |  April 5, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I tend to plan a couple of meals for the week and then semi-wing it. That actually works out better for us because my husband might bring over leftovers from a group luncheon (say glutenous pizza for example) or something and say he’d like to eat that for dinner. Then I just fix myself a great salad or tuna salad or something. But, it is only two of us with my son a college student, so that makes it far simpler to wing it. One idea I’ve always heard that I thought was a good one for menu planning is to make certain days a theme, like Tuesday chicken, Thursday stir fry, etc. I think that can help one focus, but, of course, you can still wing it on days in between. You definitely need some quiet time to do menu planning, but not much. I tend to do my own menu planning, but I did subscribe to Leanne Ely’s low-carb menu planner for a while. It was easily adaptable to GF. It’s at savingdinner.com. I got some terrific recipes from there that I continue to use (like Garlic Lime Chicken) now that I no longer subscribe. A 3-month subscription is something like $10 and then you could just repeat it on your own if you liked. You get a shopping list for the week with the recipes. Most folks say they save money and all the hard work is done for them.

    Mom time is required! That way you can go back to all your babies refreshed and renewed. 🙂 Hope PeeWee’s teething angst is over. Tough for all.

    Take care,
    Shirley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

