Anybody want dried sourdough starter?

April 22, 2009 at 9:01 pm 8 comments

I’m about to give up for the time being on my gluten free sourdough attempts, but I have dried some and would be willing to share if there is anyone who would like to try. It works nicely as a mild sourdough flavor added to any bread recipe with the wet ingredients. I have had success with pancakes and bread (when I add commercial yeast). I have also had success converting it to a wheat version and it does fine. I’m just ready to get out in the garden and forget “feeding” my pet for the summer. So before I “put her up” for the summer please comment and I will send you my address then if you mail a self addressed envelope I’ll send you some of my starter. Please reply before the end of April.

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , .

Green smoothie pants and still smiling. Socks don’t lie

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. purplemoose  |  April 23, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Sounds interesting. . . you just add it to the regular bread, or does it have to be tended?

    Enjoy your garden!! Our snow is 90% melted and my hubby has been planning to get seeds for a week. (We don’t start anything inside, and it’ll be another week or three before we’re no longer freezing at night, so there’s not been a hurry for that.) Soon, though!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  April 24, 2009 at 9:56 am

      You would have to re-activate some of the starter using warm water, feeding it (flour and water) for a couple days and then it would need tended as long as you want to keep it alive. When you were done making bread you either refrigerate it and feed it weekly or dry some yourself for another time. The benefit is that the older a starter is the better it works and tastes so it’s better than starting from scrach even though mine is only about 6mo old. Some people have starter 100 years old! Not gluten free though that I know of. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. gfe-gluten free easily  |  April 24, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Maybe your started will become the first 100-year old gluten-free starter. 😉

    Happy Friday!
    Shirley

    Reply
  • 4. Cheryl  |  April 24, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Hi! I FINALLY got to my 7 Things You May Not Know About Me post. Thanks for including me!

    Cheryl

    Reply
  • 5. Cheryl  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Oops, sorry about the repeat comment. On this post I meant to ask if you have any GF cookbooks you’d highly recommend? I’d like to get a good one for my mom and step dad.

    Reply
  • 6. Carolyn Lawver  |  May 13, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Am i too late. I am looking for a starter.

    Reply
  • 7. Carolyn Lawver  |  May 13, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Please resend memo for starter.

    Reply
  • 8. Carolyn Lawver  |  May 13, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    I am very much interested in your starter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

