Socks don’t lie

April 24, 2009 at 12:59 pm 5 comments

Thing 2 and I were having a discussion the other day about the holes that seem to mysteriously appear in his socks.  I thought I had fixed the problem by purchasing black socks so that I don’t have the urge to wash the stuffing out of them anymore.  Also Hubby bought the thickest socks that could be found so they can take beating, tugging, stretching from their respective wearers.  I just about threw away every other sock the two big boys own because there are never mates and a huge percentage of them have holes.  Thing 2 had a couple pairs that got holes in them by the second wash! They are just like their dad that way. You might have heard  how I feel about socks, so you can imagine how this “discussion” was going.

“You’ve got to be kidding me, why is there a huge hole in the heel of your new socks?”

“I don’t know mom!”

“Come on 2, you really need to be gentler when you put them on.”

He looked at me with blinking blue eyes, one little curl right in the middle of his forehead, and squeaked, “Mom?”

“Yes?”

“Sometimes, when people lie, they get holes in their socks,” then, just as sincerely he contorted, “but I don’t think I lied!”

So there you have it, socks don’t lie!

I realized this week that I may have “lied” when I claimed I do not menu plan!  Ha!  I was going through paperwork on my kitchen table and came across one of my many “list’ notebooks- THANKS DAD- and discovered my menu plan, nicely written out in plain black and white!  So, wether or not there are holes in MY socks here is the truth.  I do menu plan but most of the time I don’t get around to following it despite my best efforts. It’s not for lack of trying or wanting (because I do love orginazation-again THANKS DAD). The problem is I’m a mom, the menu plan thing works out about once a week, so I much prefer the make ahead  plan that way we have something  to eat the other six days. 

To keep my socks intact I will post my menu plans.  Instead of re-creating the list each week or month I stick to the same 10 meals and vary them.  When I’m ahead of the gang I throw it all out the window and do something fun or cook a huge load of food to freeze!

10 Day Lunch MENU:

  1. rice cake (or gf bread) tuna melt w/ fruit
  2. quesadillas or nachos w/ carrots and dip
  3. deli meat wrap w/fruit
  4. taquitos
  5. mac n’ cheese using white sauce (add cheese)
  6. fruit and cracker tray
  7. hot dogs
  8. soup  (often Progresso)
  9. toasted cheese sandwiches (or rice cakes)
  10. pizza (on rice cakes or frozen crusts)
  11. ADDITIONAL IDEAS: breakfast for lunch, left over’s, egg salad sandwiches

SIDES: fruit or fruit cups, veggies and dip, pudding, chips, trail mix, apple sauce etc.

10 Day Dinner MENU:

  1. salmon and rice
  2. baked potatoes
  3. bbq chicken (easy to make ahead)
  4. spaghetti / or lasagna
  5. hamburgers/ steak/ or chops
  6. stroganov etc.
  7. casserole
  8. asian stir fry
  9. tacos (beef, fish, chicken)
  10. salad and soup

SIDES: broccoli, green beans, asparagus, salad, potatoes, rice, chips, veggies and dip, soup, fruit etc.

There you have it, I’ve come “clean”!  Hopefully my socks are free of holes.

Entry filed under: 10 Day Menu Plan, Hey What's Goin on Here?, Mom stuff, My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored, What else is there to eat?. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Anybody want dried sourdough starter? Fun for the Kids

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. purplemoose  |  April 24, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    That makes sense to me. You have your favorite meals and rotate them periodically. Plus, the freezer meal idea (make a bunch and freeze some for later) is really awesome!

    I guess I gotta figure out what I need to come clean about, my socks are getting holey too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Linda  |  April 25, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    You’re lucky if it’s only socks that have holes. My boys were terrible about getting holes in the knees of their jeans. I would buy the reinforced ones, and they still didn’t last long. We still get lots of holes in the socks.

    Your menu idea sounds like a great plan. I hope you’ve been relaxing and enjoying the sun and your baby.

    Reply
  • 3. MPM: Does this look familiar? « Purple Moose Tracks  |  April 27, 2009 at 8:34 am

    […] different than the “Monday-through-Friday” meal plan, you might check into her menu list; it’s an idea that may work better for […]

    Reply
  • 4. Gina  |  April 27, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Regarding socks: I tend to punch holes in the big toe area pretty quickly. My big toenail kinda sticks upward in such a way that it pokes through fabric – even shoes! To compound the problem, I hate spending money on socks. They’re so expensive for such a small thing! My solutions are these:
    1. Ask for socks for Christmas. Anyone can find them, and I get some interesting ones. Grandmas love buying socks.
    2. When I’m forced by circumstances to buy my own, I find them on sale and get as many as possible of the same kind and color. That way when one gets a hole or goes missing I have others to pair it with.

    Reply
  • 5. Summer Slackin’ « Blog Schmog  |  July 29, 2009 at 10:02 am

    […] my sock drawer!  No I don’t have any science experiments brewing in there just a “treasure map” of sorts that helps me get my head out of the clouds when it comes time to eat!  Food […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930