Reverting Therapy

May 6, 2009 at 9:18 pm 3 comments

I’ve sort of reverted to childhood.  “If you can’t beat them join them,” right?  Today I taught Thing 1 how to climb a tree.  We sat in the branches, seeking shelter from the rain after putting up a tepee in the garden.  I was wandering around my property looking for twine or something to tie the logs together and I realized how fun it is to do a project completely free.  I hate buying things but even more than that I hate, not being able to do something because I don’t have the tools or materials.  Kids are so resourceful and I decided I could stand to be a little more flexible.  I had to limb 3 small downed trees but couldn’t find a hand saw anywhere.  The chainsaw needed a new chain and my garden clippers would not do.  Though my back isn’t too happy about it I finally went to work on those trees with an axe and had the tepee poles up in about half an hour. 

I can’t believe I used “hate” so often in that paragraph.  I would never let my kids do that!

I’ve been reading children’s books like mad.  I got them at a two for one sale at our church thrift store and was not sure about reading them to the kids until I had previewed some, so I’m reading them in advance.  I will post my thoughts on individual books once I have a couple read.  I’m one of those crazies who reads every word no matter how terrible it is.  I just can’t bear to miss anything.  I may as well share my insight since I’m going through the torture. Ha, well not really- the books I’ve read so far have been good.

Lastly, since I’m not a kid I have to say, all this “reverting” has really done my soul some good.  I am trying everything possible to get through this PPD quickly and find myself again.  It’s a horrible feeling when you are no one you once knew.  Naively I have hoped that one of these days my struggle would simply disappear, “POOF!”

It has not been that willing but when I’m tired and want to crawl in a hole, I curl up with a book.  When I’m frustrated and can’t keep up, I have hamburger sanity.  When life is crazy and the rain just keeps comin’ I climb a tree!

Entry filed under: Mom stuff, My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hamburger Sanity Un-Recipe “Dead” Sourdough starter?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  May 7, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Good for you, Jessie. It’s good therapy for you, and it’s time well spent.

    Reply
  • 2. purplemoose  |  May 7, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    There is something wonderful about being outside, it has a great effect on a person’s soul. No wonder my kids want to go out to play so much! Tuesday we made paper airplanes & flying toys and went outside, all of us. Fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie  |  May 8, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Being a kid is sometimes exactly what we need. I know after days where I forget my adult worries I feel great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

