Legacy

May 22, 2009 at 12:47 pm 13 comments

IMG_2603sm

I won’t pretend that everyone likes to write as much as I do but if you are one of the strange ones you might like this idea.  Almost everyone has some sort of baby book, calendar or plans to scrapbook those hundreds of baby pictures from years past.  I have a baby book, scrapbook AND calendar for my first son, a calendar and scrapbook for my second son, a baby book for the third son and a memory card full of pictures for the fourth and only little girl.  Actually the fact that I’ve still got plenty of pictures of all of them is pretty remarkable but as far as organizing them and writing milestones down, wow I’m lucky if I get dinner on the table so the milestones often come and go.

Once I realized the scrap-booking dreams were “gone with the wind” I had to think fast.  Being the oldest in my own family I am privileged to have my own baby book and pictures galore.  It means a lot to me that my mom kept such good records so I didn’t want to “deprive” (ha ha) my children of that privilege.  I am also enough older than my sister (the youngest of three) to remember her lament, “Why are there no pictures of me when I was a baby?”  Now, NO pictures is a pretty big exaggeration but in her defense most of  the pics have older sis and bro in them and as for a baby book… well mom was too busy plucking her off of hooks on the patio and running her back and forth to the ER to have her disconnected arm fixed (not related to the hook incident).  In case you are wondering about that… my brother and I discovered that a good restraint for a 3yr old is an infant life jacket and a bike hook looped through the little handle on top.  No harm done but we kept my mother busy. 🙂

To the point…

It is now my tradition to purchase a journal for each of my children and write in it as often as possible. I keep them on my nightstand and I try to grab them each time I find myself saying “I should write that down” or get a particular inspiration to tell them something.  Sometimes a verse, often a funny story, sometimes praising their accomplishments and personalities.  Lately I have only been writing every couple months but it’s better than nothing. 

I also have the largest ziploc bag I could find, assigned to each of them and I put artwork, certificates and special momentos including favorite children’s book, little league team shirts (though that’s probably overkill) and pictures inside each one.  I have planned to make memory quilts someday when they are all older (maybe for their first baby) so I will include a favorite outfit or scraps of fabric in each as well.

Entry filed under: Mom stuff. Tags: , , , , .

Bath Time Noodle Dish Visitor

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  May 22, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I think what you’re doing is great! I say, you just do what you can. Your kids will appreciate it. My husband’s mom died when he was really young, and he enjoys the journals she wrote in, the photo albums she made, and even reading letters she wrote to family members when she was pregnant with him, and when he was little. Anything they have will mean a lot to them. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  • 2. Linda  |  May 22, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Great idea. I wish I had written more things down. I really thought I would remember better than I do.

    Reply
  • 3. purplemoose  |  May 22, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Ok, I got it . . .infant life jacket, bike hook, check! Thanks for the tip, dear, I think this will make my life a LOT easier. . . . . . . . .

    Just kidding!

    The Ziploc bag is a good idea. Also the journal, I’ve put a lot of moments on the family calendar but the individual journal would be much easier.

    Reply
  • 4. Kathryn  |  May 24, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Sounds like you really have it under control! I’m impressed.

    I don’t have kids, but i have found keeping a journal in a book a chore. I’ve done plenty of it, but i also have a lot of scraps of paper where i wrote down thoughts meaning to write them in the journal & it never got done.

    I’m finding blogging does that for me well. Although, if anything catastrophic ever happened to the internet it would all be lost. If i get pg & have a baby, i will try to journal, some at least.

    I do keep a few journals. The one i’m committed to is a Christmas one. I write what we did that Christmas, & the traditions we are trying to create. With pics.

    BTW, i love the pic on the right of you J. With the chicken & the baby. Precious!

    Reply
  • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 24, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Thanks Stephanie!
    Purple Moose, Life jacket-life saver! 🙂
    Kathryn – Truthfully I’m totally out of control ha! Get a binder with pockets and slip those pieces of paper in, if you get an idea to write, do it but if not all those pieces are somewhere you can find. I find that journaling flows out of me though and I like to feel a book and write with a pen, typing doesn’t work for me- I write first then type! I told you I’m a wild one! I like the Christmas idea, I’ve tried to do that with scrapbooking.
    Thanks, I like that pic too

    Reply
  • 6. gfe-gluten free easily  |  May 25, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    True confessions. I am the mother of an only child. That “child” is now 21. His baby book remains unwritten in, with a little spiral notebook that includes a few milestones, the invitation to my baby shower, etc. Just all thrown into a bag. Maybe I’ll complete his baby book before he gets married. Everyone is shocked when I tell them that, myself not withstanding. Maybe it’s because I had a hard time right after he was born. That PPD thing we’ve discussed here. Luckily, he’s never expressed an interest.

    I love your idea, Jessie. BTW, I finally linked to you as Blog Schmog. Let me know if you prefer linking to you as Gluten Free for Goofs. 😉

    xo,
    Shirley

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm

      The best legacy we leave our children is our presence! 🙂
      I like Blog Schmog, since the blog is a little of this and that, not only gluten free food!
      Jessie

      Reply
  • 8. gfe-gluten free easily  |  May 26, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Thanks, Jessie, for making me feel better about 21 years of slacking. LOL And, glad I made the right choice on the name … the obvious one, of course, but still thanks.

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 9. Callie (sister)  |  June 1, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Love the story ha ha….yes i can say mom was busy, and come to think of it there are tons of boxes of pictures that i bet Mom hasn’t looked at in years! maybe thats where all my missing baby pictures are?

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:25 am

      Well, I don’t think there are many pics of just you! Most have all three of us. I try to keep that in mind when taking pictures of my kids – remember poor Callie without any baby pics of her alone! Ha ha! You turned out okay none-the-less! Hehe!

      Reply
  • 11. I finally got a camera « Blog Schmog  |  June 9, 2010 at 6:00 am

    […] I wrote a post and in it I mentioned one of the funniest pictures our family has here. […]

    Reply
  • 12. portraitwriter  |  June 10, 2010 at 8:46 am

    You sound exactly like me, but when I started blogging I quit on the journaling. Now I need to put my blog in a book somehow and return to journaling because they’re big enough now to tell me NOT to blog about them, it’s embarrassing and now I wish I knew where the baby journals are.

    I’m BEHIND in the scrap booking, but managed to start my youngests book, now she’s at the age she’d probably enjoy helping! I also have boxes or STUFF and just hope they’re in the right order with dates on it for when I finally put them in an album.

    AND my sis was the same way. Always complains there’s not enough pictures of her. One thing I regret is that we didn’t get enough family portraits in the last couple of years. Last big one was when my daughter was 2 yr. Now she’s 8 and trying to get everyone to coordinate clothing and availability is hard. But I’m still trying…hopefully this summer we’ll take one!

    Reply
    • 13. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:29 am

      You can always change a pic to black and white, then you don’t have to coordinate. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

