Famous Yet?

May 28, 2009 at 12:25 pm 13 comments

I’ve been “surfing” a little and have come across some very busy blogs! I’ve then thought to myself, “Am I famouse yet?”

“Yeah right and no thank you!” my practical self reminds me.

“Still, wouldn’t it be fun to have 800+ readers and 400 comments on every post I add no matter how thick or thin it might be?”IMG_3216

“No, no,” reality is a good teacher, “how could you respond to all those comments, let alone read them?”

More than anything I write because I enjoy it. Secondly I write because I need a little piece of my life that I can organize to the gills. Thirdly and maybe a tie with number two, I love to make people laugh, smile and maybe cry a little as long as it is healing tears and we can wipe them together and move on back to the Joy!

So, no thank you to the Famous Blog, you won’t see me on the top ten but I bet if I start posting things like “I hate the Lakers” (even if I don’t) and “New York City stinks” (even though I’ve only been there a total of 2hrs in my whole life so how would I know) I would probably get more readers!

Entry filed under: My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , .

My goofy trick to get kids to eat! I wuv mooseec!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer Tupper  |  May 28, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I know exactly what you mean! I write because it helps me make sense of my life (gluten free and as a mother) and I’ve found it to be such a fun and addicting hobby.

    But I have to admit, I get excited when a particular post has lots of comments. 🙂 Maybe people think I’m interesting. HA.

    I love your blog! Please keep writing for yourself, but know that I’m enjoying it. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. purplemoose  |  May 28, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I’m with you. The whole idea of hundreds of people reading, and commenting on, my blog a day just gives me heebiejeebiers. How would one develop real friendships? I like the small blog best myself.

    Reply
  • 3. JoAnn  |  May 28, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I think I’m one of the least famous of bloggers on the Internet. But I like it that way. How does Pioneer Woman find time to actually READ 500 comments?? 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 28, 2009 at 9:08 pm

      Now how in the world did you know who I’ve been reading! 🙂 It’s addicting isn’t it? I like her style but wow what a “city” she has on her blog and I’d be sure to disappoint when i dediced to take a vacation from blogging for a few days. Ugh, it would be like a job. I do like to write though, if I had to have a full time job I’d like it to be on a horse (been there, done that) or writing (doing that as a hobby now!)

      Reply
  • 5. Kathryn  |  May 28, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    I enjoy her as well. She has thousands of readers. On today’s give away the last winner was #9253! I don’t think she can possibly read all the comments. I lost patience at about #125.

    I love to write also, & also do it for my own enjoyment, mostly. Sometimes i’d like a little more interaction. . . i’ll save being famous for when i write a novel!

    Sometimes i’m a little more jealous of the folks with 80 or 150 readers, but those are my own issues . . . 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Karen Joy  |  May 28, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Hehehe! I feel the same as you. Almost, anyways. I don’t blog for the exact same reasons, but really similarly. I like having bloggy conversations, and you just can’t do that with boatloads of commenters.

    I bet you get hits just based on the quotes in this post! Hahaha!

    I really do hate the Lakers, though. And Phil Jackson is the most pompous jerk in pro sports in the U.S., IMO. Ugh.

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 29, 2009 at 12:17 am

      Lakers who! Hehe! 🙂 I don’t actually know all the reasons I blog, it kind of started on a whim and it seemed that my horrible tales of attempting to learn chef-ery (no such word) would be a good jumping off point and not too personal. My sister actually talked me into it because she said she likes reading what I write so actually my blog is expanding as I realize that most people are not trying to hack my computer or figure out my middle name! Ha ha

      Reply
  • 8. Cheryl  |  May 29, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Haha, I’m with you for the most part…sometimes I think it would be fun to have that kind of “fame”. At least it would be blog fame so you wouldn’t have any paparazzi 🙂 I used to want to be famous (actress or singer) now I know better than to desire that life. I wouldn’t mind being a well known author, that’s a whole different breed of fame than the “hunt you down for your photo and beg you to have my children” hollywood fame lol.

    Reply
    • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 29, 2009 at 8:51 am

      Hollywood disappointed me once I’d finally been there, it is much more glam in the movies. I’m sure the same can be said for fame and fortune lol!The richest (monetarily) person I’ve known was also the lonliest. Gee have I heard that somewhere sandwiched between the leather of a not so dusty Bible? Laura, I couldn’t put my finger on it but you nailed it, exactly my feelings! That too has an age ol’ paralell like how the Jews missed Jesus because there was no fan fare no “blue light special”

      Reply
  • 10. laura (hennypenne)  |  May 29, 2009 at 2:18 am

    blogs which are too famous never interest me! like when a small business turns into a big business – it just isn’t the same. yk?

    Reply
  • 11. Stephanie  |  May 29, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I was so excited when I reached 5 followers on my blog! I don’t think I could handle blogging full time though! Yay for us “underground” bloggers 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. purplemoose  |  May 29, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    But, we already know your middle name, actually your whole name. Gluten Free For Goofs

    I guess that would be two middle names though.

    (Sorry, was that freaky? I’m just being goofy too. 😀 )

    Reply
  • 13. purplemoose  |  May 29, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    BTW, I gotta say I like that you put pics of the kids in the side. They are really cute!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

