Come Away With Me

June 4, 2009 at 9:59 am 16 comments

I though you might enjoy a horseback ride today so come away with me to the Idaho mountains… I hope you enjoy the tour. 

Now who will I take? 

Look for the “knob” on the mountain between the big guy’s hocks (back knees), that’s our destination today!ridea

We need a strong fast mount. 

Meet the horse my friends dubbed “Mountain Mare”…ride

Up, up, up the mountain we go.

This is the view part of the way up the mountain.

ride1

Here we are just before we “lost” our riding partners who were not interested in “boonie-bashing” as we call it.  Hiking up deer trails without hesitation is how my mare got her nickname!

ride3

Now where is that big rocky knob?

ride5.5

Come on dogs!

ride4

I think we’re getting close

ride5

There it is!ride6

Too bad horses can’t climb rocks, we won’t be standing up there today.

ride7

That’s okay, the view from here is awesome!

ride9

 Ready for the long ride down?ride14

The sun is getting high and I’m getting hungry!ride15

Thanks for riding with Mountian Mare and I

were glad you came along!

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Mom stuff. Tags: , , , , , .

Not yo’ nacho!

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. purplemoose  |  June 4, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Wow!!! Awesome!! Such a beautiful area you live in.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 4, 2009 at 5:55 pm

      We are truly blessed! I just sat in the garden this afternoon on a log listening to a Redbreasted Robin telling me to “get out” so he could snatch worms for his babies. I watched a red tailed hawk circling the grounds looking for mice or snakes and I even heard a woodpecker carving out a hole in a nearby tree! Wow, is right!!

      Reply
  • 3. gfe-gluten free easily  |  June 4, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    How lovely! This post reminds me of our guest ranch expeditions to Montana and Alberta. Such a neat experience. I’m so glad you are enjoying this type of life on a regular basis, Jessie!

    Shirley

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 4, 2009 at 8:20 pm

      Shirley-Oooh! I love the beauty of Canada and those big mountains vs big skies in Montana!
      Liz- Nice to meet you! How old is your son?

      Reply
  • 5. Liz  |  June 4, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Thanks for stopping by! I look forward to reading your blog more. I homeschooled my son last year (sniff..I miss it). And I also look forward to perusing those yummy recipes of yours!

    Reply
  • 6. JoAnn  |  June 6, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    So beautiful! I really envy you Jessie! 🙂

    We may move to Idaho someday to be closer to my family. Two of my adult daughters and two of my grandchildren live near Boise, while my brother and his family plus my 86-year-old aunt live in Coeur D’Alene.

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 6, 2009 at 9:10 pm

      JoAnn-Huh, maybe my Grandma knows your aunt! 🙂 It’s a small town

      Reply
  • […] of course was extatic.  I’ve got three horses of my own but it’s a strange motley crew.  One 16+ hand draft horse (tall and WIDE) a short […]

    Reply
  • 9. 100 « Blog Schmog  |  July 14, 2009 at 11:20 am

    […] love to ride in the mountains alone – yeah that’s smart […]

    Reply
  • 10. Random 12 – since I can’t spell « Blog Schmog  |  December 1, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    […] 9. Enjoy horseback riding? My favorite thing in the world!  This summer I went close to three times a week.  I came face to face with a huge Bull MOOSE!  He looked me in the eye from about 30 feet away.  I traveled to the top of a local peak and saw the WORLD!   LOVE IT!  Want a virtual tour?  See THIS post. […]

    Reply
  • 11. Deer in my front yard. « Blog Schmog  |  February 9, 2010 at 9:34 am

    […] Here’s the first, with lighter colored ears, who proceeded into the horse pasture, took a bite of hay and went on her way. You can see Mountain Mare’s tail. Click here for a virtual horseback ride into the Idaho mountains. […]

    Reply
  • 12. Jo Kime  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I love your pictures and the horseback ride!! How fun! It was good to see you last night Jess and thanks for the awesome story about the Hebrews! Love ya Jo

    Reply
  • 13. 100 AGAIN « Blog Schmog  |  February 10, 2010 at 5:49 am

    […] love to ride in the mountains alone – yeah that’s smart eh since I have no sense of […]

    Reply
  • 14. Carrie L. Lewis  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Thanks for the ride! I love horses, but don’t ride very much.

    I love the mountains, but have never seen them in person (I live in Kansas).

    These views are fantastic. Makes me want to get out my paints or colored pencils and paint something!

    Reply
    • 15. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:35 am

      Thanks for coming with me! 🙂 Maybe someday you can visit and see, smell, hear my mountains.

      Reply
  • 16. Friday for Fun | Blog Schmog  |  May 6, 2011 at 10:45 am

    […] I am so spoiled, I get to do my favorite thing often. Mine would have to be a nice long horseback ride alone with Mountain Mare! In case you missed last years virtual horseback ride, here is the link. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

