I did NOT stick to the plan.

June 9, 2009 at 8:10 pm 5 comments

You might remember this…garden

its my overly ambitious garden plan and yet even this was not enough for me!

I’ve had everything in the ground for over two weeks now and most everything looks great but I was getting impatient waiting for the cucumbers, bell peppers and a few other things to come up.  Yesterday it poured rain and today I have brand new baby cilantro, bell peppers and cucumbers!

But….

Before visiting the garden today I had an appointment in town, while there my Grandma and I with all four kids just happened to take a walk to a garden store of all places.  Now I’m sure you all know that was not planned!  We  just had to walk off our large helpings of ice cream and who would have known there is a great garden shop just a few blocks from Grandma’s house?  Oh dear, how many veggies can I carry?  Well, I’ve got three kids who walk on their own and the two of us that makes five new plants right?

I did get two of the one thing I was looking for.  Now that’s an interesting anomaly.  I really wanted to try eggplant this year even though I’m doubtful if I will like the texture.  Most people I have asked suggested getting a unique variety not the long Japanese type since I’m picky.  So of course when they had two different types I had to try one of each.

Wouldn’t you know they also had Early Girl Tomato’s.  I neglected to plant one this year and couldn’t pass her up.  Not to mention I’ve got five other tomatoes in my garden! ACK!  Thank goodness the cilantro came up.  Can you guess what everyone is getting for Christmas?  Canned salsa… you know you want some!

I also found a cute little plant that claims it is a deer resistant, drought tolerant and vigerous growing variety of ornamental rasberry.  Ooh, I couldn’t resist!

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Mom stuff. Tags: , , .

Spring Clean Ahh SUN!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  June 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Your garden sounds lovely. Cilatnro…yummy!!!!
    I’ve never attempted a vegetable garden. I wish we had the space!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 10, 2009 at 10:05 pm

      I tried cilantro before AND failed terribly but I decided to try from seed. Ask me why THAT’s a good idea? I don’t know but I thought it was a no-show and yesterday- “op, there it is!” Another bad song reference! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Linda  |  June 11, 2009 at 5:55 am

    I’m trying a to grow a few things this year. Nothing as ambitious as what you’re doing. I hope you enjoy the eggplant.

    I missed you too at What’s for Dinner Wed. I always enjoy your funny stories. I hope you’re feeling better soon.

    Reply
  • 4. gfe-gluten free easily  |  June 11, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    I think you’ll end up liking some new foods–cool! And, I think your salsa will make great Christmas presents. 🙂

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 5. purplemoose  |  June 18, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Salsa is a really cool gift. . . I mean hot! Our garden is doing good. The potatoes are going gang busters, the lettuce and cabbage and carrots are tiny. We got some jalapeno pepper plants and are keeping them inside (the day time temps are about 60 degrees and we haven’t yet transplanted them outside!)

    The biggest disappointment is the lavender. I try every year. It’s really too cool here to grow, but I think Maybe this year. . . I tried from seeds this year and they got about 2 inches and then stagnated. (Maybe I just need to transplant them and call it good; maybe they need more room than the jiffy pots are giving them?)

    I gotta say, I’m kinda jealous of your tomatoes! They grow well here in green house only. We don’t have one. (Maybe we could keep them with the peppers.)

    Good luck and happy gardening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

