You probably should NOT try this at home!

June 15, 2009 at 12:56 pm 9 comments

I’ve not been feeling well the past week or so (we’ve got a bug in our midst) so food has been low on my priority list but with the potential for visitors and my husband firing up the BBQ yesterday I got a great  idea!  How bout I try baking potato chips!

Can’t be too hard right?  I’ll just do what I do for oven french fries only leave them longer like I have done for crackers.  Fries/crackers. What could go wrong?  This was my thinking at least.  Make sense?  No I didn’t think so either but I just went with it. 

I used my slice and grate to cut the thinnest rounds I could manage out of 4 large yellow russets then I put them in a bowl of cold water to soak off the starch for about 10min.

Next I dried them off one by one… dry potatoes

soak

dry

pat

pat

pat! 

 

 

We had three different cookie sheets going so we could determine which one yielded the best results.  It was fun to get creative with the seasonings.

First though, we coated each cookie sheet with vegetable oil.  Next we sprinkled the sheet with salt and pepper (with a little red pepper flake if you like a bit of zip) for the first, salt and onion powder for the second and for the third we dipped the potatoes in Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce.  I placed the potatoes on the seasoned pan and then sprinkled more over the top.

Heat the oven to a whopping 475 degrees!

Here they are before going into the oven.season potatoes

I covered each sheet with tin foil and baked with the tin foil on for 20 min.

I removed them from the oven (it’s REALLY hot!) and took off the foil to investigate the progress.

Next I returned them to the oven (without the cover) and baked another 20min at 425 degrees.

At this point what I needed to do was remove any that were done (mainly the potatoes around the edge of each cookie sheet and flip the others, returning them to bake only 5-8min at a time.  Instead I was over confident since they appeared to be going so well. What potato chip couldn’t benefit from a little extra crunch right?  After all, I wasn’t going for french fries! 

I flipped them all over, removing one or two of the crunchiest one’s to “test”.  MMMm! Then returning the whole lot of them to the oven I put another 20min on the timer and went outside to water my veggies.

Twenty minutes later….oops potatoes

Ahhh! 

The SMOKE…

open the windows…

open the doors…

SHUT the oven!

Well, I do have to tell you the couple that I tried were delicious but I believe I will leave potato chip making to the professionals!

Entry filed under: Potato chips if you must, What else is there to eat?. Tags: .

Ahh SUN! Lemonade Stand- Attitude of Gratitude

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  June 15, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Good try though!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Kathryn  |  June 15, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Oh, you’re funny! I bet with some practice (if you want to bother) they would turn out fine.

    I sent the link you asked for. It is called the “Attitude of Gratitude” award.

    Reply
  • 3. Brian  |  June 15, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Who doesn’t like a good extra extra crispy chip? Now you have some leverage for getting the little ones to eat their vegetables. Just tell them; “You can either eat your vegetables, or eat one of mom’s potato chips.”

    Reply
  • 4. gfe-gluten free easily  |  June 15, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    After reading the beginning and seeing the photos, I was so hopeful for you, Jessie!! I made some potato chips a while back from Karina’s recipe. Don’t hate me, but they turned out well. Ultimate oven fries are the bomb, too. Just google them. I’ll post on them soon if you don’t want to bother. 😉

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 15, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    I’m sure I can be persuaded to try again but I need to be more attentive next time, obviously! 🙂 Brian, I do think you have a plan only do I have to abide by the new “rule” too? If so I’m going to have to perfect this recipe (don’t bake so long and do not leave unattended-there it’s perfect). Shirley I will look forward to your post! I loved the chips I did eat prior to burning three pans full!

    Reply
  • 6. purplemoose  |  June 18, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Well, they started out nicely!! Oh, man!

    Reply
  • 7. MPM: Sorta Back « Purple Moose Tracks  |  September 21, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    […] Sunday: Grilled burgers, cooked turnips and rutabagas, and baked potato chips. […]

    Reply
  • 8. purplemoose  |  September 21, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Hey, this is me NOT doing what I’m told. 😉 I tried it at home and it worked out ok. I over cooked them too, and I waaaay over-salted them. They were ok. The saddest part is I made them specifically for my 4 year old who doesn’t like mushy potatoes and he did NOT like them!!! I’m not sure what went wrong. 😦 Just when I think I’ve got that kid figured out, he goes and thwarts me. *Sigh!*

    Reply
    • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 22, 2009 at 10:06 am

      Ha ha, kids are so funny. Mine are like that especially with bananas. Thanks for giving them a try I think it is just way too high maintenance for a busy mom 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

