Lemonade Stand- Attitude of Gratitude

June 16, 2009 at 1:50 pm 7 comments

chocolate

Gratitude: the quality or feeling of being grateful or thankful

There is a calmness to a life lived in gratitude, a quiet joy.
–  Ralph H. Blum

Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves.
–   James M. Barrie

A man has to live with himself, and he should see to it
that he always has good company.
–   Charles Evans Hughes

Happiness depends, as Nature shows,
Less on exterior things than most suppose.
–   William Cowper

I’ve learned the great value of the three F’s:
forgive, forget and forge ahead. -Unknown Author

Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues,
but the parent of all the others.
–  Cicero

Happiness grows at our own firesides, and is not
to be picked in strangers’ gardens.
– Douglas Jerrold

The best way to cheer yourself up
Is to cheer someone else up.
–   Mark Twain

The desert shall rejoice and blossom; 
like the crocus it shall blossom abundantly, 
and rejoice with joy and singing.   

–   Isaiah 35: 1-2

[lemonade-gratitude-award_thumb[2].jpg]Blessings and thanks to Kathryn at www.kateekat.blogspot.com who nominated me for the Attitude of Gratitude Lemonade stand award.  I am honored and humbled to be extended this grace.  I don’t always feel like I extend enough gratitude of my own.  Though I feel grateful I’m not as good at showing gratitude.  By the grace of God I will learn that virtue and be able to be generous on every occasion extending grace and mercy to others always.  Here are a few bloggers who deserve this honor (in alphabetical order) though I know some have already received it.

The official rules which I didn’t follow: HA!

  • put the logo on your blog or post
  • nominate at least 10 blogs that show an an attitude of gratitude
  • link to your nominees within your post
  • comment on their blogs to let them know they’ve received this award
  • share the love & link to this post & the person who nominated you for the award
  • tell us how you’ve come to have an attitude of gratitude

1. Christina at ChristinaGPhotography – My friend in real life who is an incredible photographer and a beautiful person.  She is an awesome wife and mommy and has just ventured into homeschooling her 1st grader.  Her blog is absolutely breathtaking with pictures upon pictures upon pictures!  I just love perusing, soaking up her creativity…please, please rub off on me. 🙂

2. Fab Grandma – A fun and sassy grandma blogging about her life in a travel trailer with beautiful pictures of her adventures and gluten free recipes to go along with her fun and unique life.

3. Brian at Fire and Salt – Firefighter, gluten”freer” who cooks for his wife and young daughter.  He has wonderful pictures to go along with his recipes and stories about raising a child that I can totally relate to.  I have enjoyed getting to know him as well as trying some of his wonderful recipes.

4. The Heavenly Homemaker – This blog is beautifully written, chock full of frugal recipes, creative homemaker tips as well as garden tutorials that anyone can master.  She also blogs about crafting and homeschooling her four boys.  Another blogger I can totally relate to.

5. Karen at Only Sometimes Clever – Clever, I’d say yes!  Intuitive and clever for sure, Karen makes me laugh, cry and strive to be a better wife and mother.  I enjoy her candid stories about family and her unabashed posts about faith and love.  She blogs about the tid-bits of life, homeschooling, allergy free cooking, reading, politics, faith, nature…in no particular order.  Always a pleasure to read.

6.  Pig in the Kitchen– This allergy free blog is brilliant and beautiful.  The “Pig” is an anti-blogger like myself 🙂 She is a busy mom who was surprised (like myself) to find the network of blogging to be somewhat alluring but does not wish to be married to it or otherwise expected to perform within a certain set of unseen rules.  She had taken a bloggy vacation but appears to be back and besides her desire to be untethered she is the most consistently funny, and brilliantly creative allergy free food blog I’ve found.  Not to mention, the first  blog I found and read regularly.  Please visit her and wish her “welcome back” to un-blogging!

Another couple of bloggers who deserve this award have already received it but I have tagged them below.

7. Lynda the Gluten Free Homemaker  

8. Wendy at Celiacs in the House

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, Mom stuff. Tags: , , .

You probably should NOT try this at home! Thanks for Summer Two for One Special

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  June 16, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Thanks for the nomination. I like to receive awards, and this one is nice to get.

    Reply
  • 2. Karen Joy  |  June 16, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    That rocks! What a great meme. I will participate… probably tomorrow… 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Kathryn  |  June 16, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Lovely. You did a great job. I think you exhibit gratitude more than you give yourself credit.

    Reply
  • 4. Laura@HeavenlyHomemakers  |  June 16, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Thanks so much for the award!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Thanks for Summer Two for One Special « Blog Schmog  |  June 16, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    […] the noodles and get the cheese to stick), toss in the vegetables and chicken then pour a glass of lemonade, put up your feet and soak in the […]

    Reply
  • 6. WendyGK  |  June 18, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Thanks for the lovely nomination. I have enjoyed reading about your adventures. I’ve had quite a few giggles and belly laughs at the escapades your kids get up to. Thanks, too, for the heads up about the Pig’s return. She cracks me up and I was sorry to find she was taking a break. I’m heading over there to see what I’ve missed.

    Reply
  • 7. purplemoose  |  June 18, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Awesome! Congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

