Beach Bum Snack Kit Gluten Free Style

June 30, 2009 at 7:00 pm 11 comments

The Thinglets and I along with my best friend and her girls spent a good part of the week here…

lake

doing this…

lake5

visiting with friends…

lake1

and this…

lake4

The water is still quite cool at around 60 degrees but oh so refreshing!

lake3

Even the Bubba had his own water slide…

lake6

One of the hardest things about eating gluten free has been finding quick and easy snack foods.  You know, on the go food, ready made, throw in your picnic bag kinds of foods… 

lake2

Popcorn is a winner with all the kids.

Sometimes I throw in fruit snacks, nuts (be careful with trail mix it is often manufactured where they process wheat), larabars etc.  Here is what I had in my survival kit this week…

beach bum

Popcorn and rice cakes, with sunflower butter and/or tuna (the bag kind would have been better but the can was free this time), apples, cheese sticks (eat them 1st, they melt) lots of water and honest kids organic fruit juice (found recently at Wal Mart-my necessary evil).  Don’t forget the sunscreen and you will be set for a day on the lake, or at the park!

Enjoy

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” Hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker. Thanks for stopping and check out more great ideas here.

Entry filed under: Beach Bum Snack Kit, Hey What's Goin on Here?, What else is there to eat?. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Change I got gluten-ed!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Chatty Housewife  |  June 30, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Hey there, found you through Diaries of The Happy Sanitarium (who you found through Pioneer Woman lol) and I am gluten free too. I was just wondering about the white cheddar rice cakes, are they really gluten free? I thought that they weren’t? I use Lundberg farms organic ones a lot.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:43 pm

      Ah ha, well definately stick with the organic rice cakes! :) But as far as the Quaker one’s they do not say Gluten free yet they do not contain gluten ingredients and so far none of us has had a reaction. I really don’t like rice cakes much so I only have them when we need an “on the go sandwich”. If you have something else that works I’m not a fan of the “try and see” method as I’ve gotten so sick from some cross contaminated items but as I mentioned, never these. It didn’t occur to me that I might as I don’t remember seeing the “manufactured on shared equip” warning that I am usually leary of. I’m going to go check right now! LOL

      Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  July 1, 2009 at 5:22 am

    We’re not allergic to peanuts but I have been wanting to try sunbutter-is that the same as sunflower butter?. It sounds really good. It looks like you had a fantastic outing!

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 1, 2009 at 11:21 am

      It’s sunflower seed butter, I’ve been tempted to try making it sometime! :) But trader joe’s has a yummy one.

      Reply
  • 5. Linda  |  July 1, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Looks like lots of fun! I love nut butters and cheese for protein sources.

    Reply
  • 6. Amy Green/Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free  |  July 1, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I love your lifestyle! Looks like so much fun. So glad someone is playing while I’m at work! Your kids are lucky to have you for a mom.

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:53 pm

      Thanks you are sweet! :)

      Reply
  • 8. Hokie Deb  |  July 2, 2009 at 10:31 am

    –>It looks like you had a wonderful day. I’m looking forward to some lake time this weekend with family.

    http://www.websavymom.com/

    Reply
    • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 3, 2009 at 4:21 pm

      It was a blast! Sorry about the late response, your message got sent to spam for some reason.

      Reply
  • 10. Brian  |  July 2, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I’m going to a lake in eastern Oregon in a couple weeks with the family, I can’t wait. It’s always an adventure to pack gf food for a trip. It looks like you did ok.

    Reply
    • 11. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 3, 2009 at 10:06 am

      We survived the munchies that’s for sure! Have fun at the lake.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

