Change

June 30, 2009 at 12:25 pm 5 comments

I was convicted this week that I need to change my perspective on change.

I am a lover of all things old and have a constant longing for “the good ol’ days” which we all know never really existed.

We found old pictures in our storage unit and I was looking through them with this “Aw man, where has all the time gone” sort of lament when I realized all that has changed!  All the wonderful blessings we have been given, all the new things I’ve learned and just how far we have come.  Matt and I have grown so much in our marriage.  We are no longer the insecure, suspicious and frightened kids we once were trying to figure out how to get along with someone in such close proximity.   We are now more of a team, a united front, not afraid to disagree or share our disappointments.  I know that his love is safe not contingent and not tied to a number of flower pedals or dollars spent.

I am still alive even though I lived in a state I claimed I would only live in “over my dead body” and yet I learned things there, made friends and enjoyed many parts of living there.  Beyond that it has given me a greater appreciation for why I didn’t want to live there and makes me appreciate the differences, not taking for granted the place I had always known.

I am older now, not always wiser but I see in both Matt and I a quieter peacefulness that comes with time.  We are more contended. I am still always striving but I dont’ have to be running around from this game to that, finding out where all the “cool kids” are.  I can spend days at home with my family and be happy.  We are also more compassionate and though I didn’t understand this before, passion has become a deeper shade of purple.  It’s not a blinking, fleeting obsession it is a strong and solid force that drives our pursuit to be more like Christ and therefore able to love deeper and more fully!

I’m beginning to embrace change.  Ask me again next week and I will be back struggling with the facets of change that challenge me and make me uncomfortable but today I am happy for the leaves on the trees and the tall tall pines that are a visible product of change.

As I drove around the lake yesterday with the windows down I could breathe.  I could suck in deep breaths of glittering water and cut grass, I could even smell the sun on the bark of the evergreens. 

Change- my enemy, my friend!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , , , , .

Pink Beach Bum Snack Kit Gluten Free Style

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. henny  |  June 30, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    love this post!!! I know totally what you’re saying. with time often brings growth. and as much as I like some memories from the past, I wouldn’t trade the knowledge for anything.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  June 30, 2009 at 4:49 pm

      Then I go even farther and get frustrated when the things I WANT don’t change fast enough! sigh! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Kathryn  |  June 30, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I find that embracing things i don’t care for (& change is one!) is a day by day thing. Sometimes it is moment by moment. I can be “okay” with an issue one day, & find myself struggling with it the next.

    I doubt if we will find true peace this side of heaven, but it is nice to reach a point where i’m more comfortable in my own skin. At this moment. In another hour i may be struggling again!

    Wishing you peace! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. naomig  |  June 30, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Love this post… I’m in my late 20’s and I’ll admit I’m looking forward to my 30’s. Pretty sure those are going to be good years. I totally agree with the “quiet peacefullness” that’s a great way to put it. 🙂 But, acceptance of change is also a daily undertaking… some days are better than others. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. I am me everyone else is taken. « Blog Schmog  |  July 20, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    […] Do you remember our discussion about change?  I’m very resistant to it, I’m married to it and I am living by it all at the same […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

