I got gluten-ed!

July 3, 2009 at 3:32 pm 21 comments

I hate it when that happens and these days I am much better at knowing ingredients so I rarely have problems with accidentally gluten-izing myself. 

BUT…

Yesterday Matt and I got to go out with Little Sis (Callie) and her husband Jason so we jumped at the chance to get away once as adults!  Don’t get me wrong, we love to hang out with our kids, but we haven’t taken time together, alone, since a month before Pee Wee was born and she is now 9 mo old.  Not to mention Cal and Jason are a couple of pretty cool “kids” (ha JK) themselves.

We started off the night racing through downtown Spokane in their sporty little Scion while I told a story that should have taken 2min but I managed to stretch it out at least a half an hour.  I’m the queen of making a short story long! I can’t help myself.  To further illustrate that  point, we skidded into the parkade and dashed up the elevator just in time to watch the last trailer and sat our little rumps down for Transformers 2.  I’m trying to think of the last movie I saw in the theatre and I can’t think of a single one.  Not to mention, I’m sure it has been even longer since I’ve actually made it for the opening scene!

A quick note on the movie. While it was enjoyable for us I have two sons at home waiting anxiously for the word on when they get to go.  My answer… “when you are 20!”  It had more language and provocative scenes than the 1st one.  There were also a couple pretty, might I say, greusome (alien speaking, hard to discribe) scenes as well.   Mikaela (Megan Fox) wore the same boob job flaunting top and clean white pants almost the entire show and had quite a few pin up shots just for the ratings.  Quite a few, as in every 5 minutes Little Sis and I were exchanging glances as Mikaela posed with pouty lips or long legs contorted in strange positions.  Ya, she pretty much lost the tough girl act in this one and turned into the trophy girlfriend.

So, for the kids- NO, not on your lives, for us- okay I had fun but then as I said before it has been nearly a year since they’ve “let us out of the house” so we aren’t hard to please.  Action, laughs, some sort of story… it works for me.

Sorry, that was more than a quick note.

About the gluten…

After the movie we walked over to PF Changs.  I was pleasantly surprised by a full page gluten free menu.  Had I not been warned, I would have also been surprised by the high prices but then, we are use to Wendy’s being a big splurge.

All four of us decided to eat gluten free to make things easier.  We had Egg Drop Soup, Chicken Lettuce Wraps (which were my favorite), Changs Spicy Chicken, Lemon Chicken and a shrimp and snap pea dish I can’t remember the name of.  For dessert the guys each had a gluten infested mini shot glass pie but they were exceptionally careful to wash hands, guard their forks and all the standard things that husbands who’ve had to live with food allergic wives know how to do.  Sis and I shared a Chocolate Truffle Dome beautifully presented with various berries.

We stuffed ourselves and happily made it home to round up the kids and sleep off all the goodness.

This morning though, I knew I’d been gluten-ed.  I texted my sis with a sad face “I got gluten!” She wrote back and confirmed that she too had not felt well.

It’s a sad thing because they have a great menu.  I won’t say that I’m never eating there again because, after all, it is an “at your own risk” adventure any time you eat in an unfamiliar kitchen but I was really hoping to make it out of there with a new favorite.  It’s just as well since at $20 a plate I can only expect it to be a once a year event.  Next year (ha ha) I’ll be sure to remind them that gluten free for me is an allergy not just a preference.  Maybe I can write them a better review next time.

I did learn something today in my discomfort, probiotics actually do help the symptoms.  I had never tried taking anything besides calcium, Tums type antacids (which are only a placebo for me) and today I tried 1/4 teaspoon of probiotics in water on an empty stomach.  That wasn’t difficult since I haven’t been able to eat anything.  After only about 15min I wanted to eat and have had better luck since taking it. 

I also heard that taking probiotics before eating out may help with accidental cross contamination issues.  I think I will start taking them all the time.  I do give some to my littlest for her digestion but I hadn’t gotten around to getting myself in that habit.  For the best results find a brand that is milk free as well as gluten and soy free.

To sum it up, beward of women with perfectly white pants during alien battles and definately try probiotics if you get gluten-ed.

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, Mom stuff. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Beach Bum Snack Kit Gluten Free Style Saturday’s Surprise: Rasberries!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Informal Matriarch  |  July 3, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    HURRAY for you for not letting your kids watch. I LOVE YOU FOR THAT!!

    Are you gunna call the place and they them they poisoned you?? I would, especially if they claimed to have a gluten free menu.

    I’m planning on trying gluten free soon, going to do an elimination diet and see what foods are buggin me. Can’t wait to maybe feel better!!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 3, 2009 at 4:17 pm

      Yes I think I will actually write a letter. I do better on paper 🙂 I really hope you DO feel better!

      Reply
  • 3. Betsy  |  July 3, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Hi, I just came across your blog and had to respond. Thus far we have been lucky with P.F. Chang, but I figure eventually we will get glutened too.

    A few years ago we had a waiter school us in how to tell if certain things were made gf. He told us that gf things cooked with soy sauce will be lighter than the regular version and showed us the lettuce wraps as an example. I now really look at each dish when we get it. Another thing we do is always get the sauce on the side. I figure the gluten will usually be in the sauce and by using less I might be less get less ill if it does contain gluten.

    HTH,
    Betsy – a fellow gf eating homeschooling mom

    Reply
  • 4. Gina  |  July 3, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Jessie,

    I got glutened recently too! I can do dairy, so I drink Kefir and eat lots of yogurt to get back to normal. It still took a week. Probiotics are basically the same stuff that’s in kefir, but with out the milk. I’m glad that helped you – I’ll try probiotics sometime! And I probably won’t try PF Chang’s! It was on my list, but I’ll take it off. Thanks for the warning!

    Matriarch – Good luck with the elimination diet! It helped me figure stuff out, and I hope it helps you, too! If you think you have celiac, be sure to get tested before you have gone off wheat for too long.

    Reply
  • 5. Kathryn  |  July 3, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    I wasn’t that fond of the Transformers movie – speaking as an adult. It just seemed short on the story line to me. Haven’t been blessed with kids of which i would have to make that decision. My cats (which are NOT my children tho i love them alot) never ask to go to the movies!

    I’m not that sensitive to gluten, i think. Because i haven’t totally eliminated it 100% i don’t seem to have as much reaction. But then, maybe it is part of the reason i feel so awful. Seeing a new doc next week who already is thinking multiple food allergies. Which scares me, gluten free vegetarian is hard enough. What else will he remove???

    Hope you feel better soon. I love the pic of you holding the camera. 🙂 Have a blessed day!

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 3, 2009 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks all, Kathryn, Gina, Betsy! Now that the day has worn on I think I actually under-reacted, amazingly. This was not your normal little cross contamination gig. I’m pretty sure something I ate was full on gluten! I feel like I ate a whole loaf of bread. Kathryn, I do get more and more sensitive the healthier I get hope you get to the bottom of your allergies-hard but good at the same time. Boy I don’t know if I’ll try PF ever again now that I’m fully feeling the effects. Ugh, what a bummer.

      Reply
  • 7. Erin Jackson  |  July 4, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Haha, I am also known as the long short story teller! My friends always ask at the beginning of a story, “is this going to be a long story?” That stinks about being glutened but I am happy to hear about the Priobiotics.

    Reply
  • 8. WendyGK  |  July 4, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I hate to say it, but the last two times my daughter and I ate there we got glutened. We both react differently and we both reacted. It was unfortunate because the last meal there was a sweet deal with big discounts and a TV story about our gluten-free group meeting there. OOOPS. They were on high alert and still we got gluten in our meal somehow. I keep hearing people say they are getting glutened there and it is soo expensive. We won’t be going back, I’m afraid. Watching our budget and done with spending several days paying for it in other ways.

    Reply
    • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      Yeah! I am still feeling it both physically and in the pocket book!

      Reply
  • 10. Jennifer  |  July 4, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Wow. That is such a bummer! Jessie, so sorry this happened to you. So far, I’ve had good luck there. I really think it would be good idea to write to them!

    The first time I went there to eat GF, I tried calling some of their PR people to see if I could take photos in their kitchen while they prepared my meal and they wouldn’t let me. I think that should tell me something for the future. I didn’t realize so many people have had trouble there. The last time I went there, the waitress was pretty lax about the whole thing, and I was keeping a serious tone with my order.

    I hope you feel better soon! Take it easy if you can. 😦 It’s good you wrote about it and that warns everyone.

    Reply
  • 11. Billie  |  July 5, 2009 at 4:30 am

    wow pf changs is always the one place i never worry about being glutened b/c they are so careful. not that we go often, but still… i’ve never ever had a bad experience. what a bummer! sorry!

    Reply
  • 12. Billie  |  July 5, 2009 at 4:32 am

    oops i’m signed in at my friend’s house… this is actually henny –

    http://www.hennypenne.lafianzoo.com

    Reply
    • 13. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:09 am

      Hi Henny! Thanks for your comments! 🙂 I bet different locations are better, or worse (in my case) at catering to GF customers. For the record Spokane is terrible, I was sick for two days which in my case means full on gluten not just cross contam. 😦 I hope they will learn from this, I’m writing to them.

      Reply
  • 14. Linda  |  July 6, 2009 at 5:38 am

    I have only gone to PF Chang’s once and that was probably 5 years ago. I got sick, too, though it wasn’t a strong reaction. It has been enough to keep me away, but recently I’ve thought about going back. This may have changed my mind. I’m so sorry you had such a bad reaction!

    I used to be extremely sensitive to gluten, but I’ve noticed over the past year that I don’t seem to react so strongly. It’s hard to know for sure since I only get glutened accidentally.

    Reply
    • 15. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:12 am

      I’m pretty sensitive the healthier I get but if I get gluten it’s usually minute so the reactions are not as bad as in the past. UNTIL PF Changs. There are three of us adults in my family with celiac and at least two of my kids. I also have at least 4 friends locally who eat gluten free (with family/friends of their own). It would be wise for PF Changs Spokane to learn from this mistake! 🙂

      Reply
  • 16. purplemoose  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Yeah, they should TOTALLY give you a free meal. . . second thought, just a refund, I don’t know if I’d want to chance a second time!

    My hubby is allergic to shellfish (iodine really) and once we went to a fancy-shmancy restaurant, where everything is cooked with steak and shrimp. Well he picked one entree off the menu, ordered it, noting to the waitress that “I’m allergic to shellfish, gotta be careful what I order! This is the only entree without shellfish!” Sure enough, when he had taken a few bites he realized that the lovely sauce had shrimp. Ugh. Shoulda complained more on that one, he was fine, but c’mon people!! Allergies are serious stuff!

    Thanks for the movie review, I think we’ll skip it too–So glad you got to have a nice evening though!

    Reply
  • […] 14, 2009 I mentioned in another post about a story I had told.  I decided I’d better get my kicks and share it here too and […]

    Reply
  • 18. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 19, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    PF Changs sent me a giant gift certificate and begged me to try again. It took me 4 months to muster the courage (or stupidity) to give it another go. Thankfully they were AWESOME the second time around. Since I’m not made of money it will be a rare outing when we visit them but I will definately try again.

    They are forgiven for now and after sitting down with the manager I have learned how to detect that my meal is prepared correctly. The first incident was a matter of being served non- GF appatizers on the square plate. If I had been “educated” in advance I would have known the square plate was off limints.

    Moral of the story is, eat at your own risk. 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. mamacinda  |  November 27, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    When I think I’ve been glutened, I take an enzyme to digest the offending protein. I could not survive without these enzymes. The product I use is GlutenEase by Enzymedica. It actually works in the blood stream, as well as immediately in your stomach. This means that it will be helpful the morning after, or whenever you suspect there might be a problem. I used to try to be “frugal” with my use of the pills, but I’m learning that it makes more sense to take a GlutenEase if I have any unexplained body pain (my first symptom). And every time I go into the supermarket, I can count on being glutened. There are traces of flour on the conveyor belt and certainly on the checker’s hands. And an onsite bakery will guarantee airborne gluten for at least the first half of the day. Taking an enzyme as I leave the market has really helped.

    Everyone’s symptoms of being glutened are different. My first clue is neck pain and hand pain. Then if I pay attention, I realize that my heart is beating fast and my breathing is rapid.

    I’ve learned that your symptoms can change the longer you lead a gluten-free life. Some people become more reactive to tiny amounts of gluten, others have entirely new types of reactions which take awhile to identify as a gluten issue.

    Reply
  • 20. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  November 30, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I wonder if that is the cause for my unexplained knee joint pains. Hmmm! Thanks for your comment. I will look into GlutenEase. I’ve never heard of it until now.

    Reply
  • 21. How bout a random round of random dozen? « Blog Schmog  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:38 am

    […] Because of the previous question my options are quite limited but I love PF Changs chicken lettuce wraps. Even though I got glutened while laughing at a chic running from aliens in perfectly white pants. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

