Mayo Clinic Research: Celiac becoming more common

July 6, 2009 at 10:22 am 7 comments

I found this link to be interesting and somewhat confirmed my thoughts that genetic altering of common grains could be part of the problem for those of us with celiac. Check out this article.

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, How to become a gluten-free goof!. Tags: , , , , .

Saturday’s Surprise: Rasberries! Playing “Tars”

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kerry Robb  |  July 6, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    That’s a good article. I’m wondering, have you ever tried sprouted breads? This link (http://www.westonaprice.org/foodfeatures/be_kind.html) speaks to why sprouting, as well as fermenting and sour leavening, are the only healthy ways to consume wheat and other seeds. I’ve heard of sprouted breads (particularly those from Alvarado St. Bakery) helping people with wheat sensitivities, but I’m not sure about those with Celiac… Any experience with these products? Thanks, my readers would appreciate the knowledge!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 6, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      While I’m sure wheat sensitive individuals may be able to eat sprouted breads (and I don’t doubt the immense health benefits) celiacs can not tolerate the protein in wheat and other grains (barley, rye, spelt-a variety of wheat) it damages the intestine and renders the “cilia” useless in digesting the food, no matter what form it is consumed in.

      Reply
  • 3. Kerry Robb  |  July 6, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Good to know. Thanks, this is a great site. I’m going to add it to my links!

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 6, 2009 at 3:28 pm

      Thank you! 🙂 I enjoy meeting and learning from other bloggers.

      Reply
  • 5. Your EG Tour Guide  |  July 6, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    What beautiful eyes!

    Reply
  • 6. gfe-gluten free easily  |  July 6, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Glad you shared this article, Jessie. I find it interesting that diet is mentioned at the very end. Our wheat of today is definitely not the wheat of Biblical times. I think of this increase in celiac, much like the increase in other conditions like autism, bipolar disorder, etc. Diet, environment … lots now to cause these issues.

    Shirley

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 7, 2009 at 11:02 am

      Shirley, you bring up a valid point I’ve often though, if I lived in Abraham’s time I would have been able to eat that bread, I’m sure of it. Sometime though, I’ll have to tell you my communion story. 🙂 Anyhow I wish we could salvage some of that wheat right off the threshing floor of the Bible and plant it on our own, un-altered and original. Someday my friend, someday! Striving toward our Heavenly homes we remember someday!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

