Wall of Promise

July 7, 2009 at 11:29 am 17 comments

I just notice I’ve had double the “comments” via spam than I have from real caring people!  Ha what a bummer. I do SO appreciate and enjoy your real, honest and even challenging comments!  Thanks for getting me hooked on blogging. 

This is for those of you who are real living breathing people!  My wall of promise…

This is the wall in my living room/kitchen, a song and verse to remind me of God’s love. The Bible says to write God’s word on the doorpost of our homes and hide it in hearts.

verse1

verse2Song for the day:
“Your love oh Lord, reaches to the Heavens, your faithfulness stretches to the sky! Your righteousness is like a mighty mountain, your justice flows like the oceans tide. I will lift my voice to worship you my King. I will find my strength in the shadow of your wing.”

Adapted from Psalm 36:5-6 by one of my all time favorite bands!

Listen here!

In order to do this in your own homes you do not need to be an artist or great with a paint brush, I promise!

I repeat, no paint! It is not permanent so go hog wild!

All it is is contact paper and a die cut stencil.  Woo hoo! Leave me your favorite verse and if you make your own wall of promise link back here so I can see your pictures.

Have a Christ filled day!

Entry filed under: Craft Coral, Hey What's Goin on Here?, Mom stuff. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Playing “Tars” Finally Some Goodies!

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zdenny  |  July 7, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Your right on target with this!! My brother does the same thing. I didn’t know it was a trend…

    Please send me a friend request on FACEBOOK so that I can get your new post on my page. Just post a link to your facebook so I will see the updates after we are friends. You will get a lot more visits to your post too…Thanks

    http://www.facebook.com/zdennyfamily

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 7, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      I don’t know about trend, ha ha! 🙂 I will look into the facebook thing. I’m pretty cautious so we’ll see! Thanks for the info and your enthusiasm

      Reply
  • 3. Brian  |  July 7, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Very cool, I love the verses!

    Reply
  • 4. Erin Jackson  |  July 7, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    I absolutely love this! I was thinking of doing something similar in my kitchen. Where did you find your star? I keep looking for one but can’t ever find one that large.

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 7, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      Ah yes, my star! I believe I got it at Home Depot. It is fabulous! At sunset it casts a perfect shadow of the Star of David!

      Reply
  • 6. Jennifer Tupper  |  July 7, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    That is so beautiful. I love that you painted that on your real walls at home. 🙂

    Our verse that isn’t painted, b/c I seriously don’t trust my abilities is hung on the wall. It is store bought, but I love it.

    Joshua 24:15: “Chose this day whom you will serve, but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

    Lu-uve Third Day!!!

    Love having a GF sister in the Lord. 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 7, 2009 at 3:01 pm

      Not paint, just stickers! Lol

      Reply
      • 8. Jennifer Tupper  |  July 7, 2009 at 3:21 pm

        woops….that’s what i get for skipping over that sentence. he he he….I still don’t trust my abilities….I royally screwed up the wall paper border in my daughter’s room and my mom had to fix it for me.

        Seriously, even stickers, not for Jen.

      • 9. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 7, 2009 at 4:40 pm

        Then a sign it is girl!

  • 10. Liz  |  July 7, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I LOVE that scripture. Our church uses it in a chorus and I love that song. Beautiful!!!! And lovely view out your windows….

    Reply
  • 11. Kathryn  |  July 7, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    I love this. I’ve very few walls in my house that aren’t wood, but there is just the place in my kitchen. Will have to seriously consider this.

    As for the verse, i’m not so sure. Will have to ask Duane. We tend to not pull out one verse because they tend to be taken out of context that way, but i do love the idea & what you’ve done. Gonna have to give this some thought.

    And, seriously J, i love the pic you have of yourself there with the camera. You are so cute!

    Reply
    • 12. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Karen:Ha ha! THANKS! 🙂 I was frustrated because I couldn’t get anyone to take my picture. Thing 1 tried and tried but it kept coming out wierd so finally I just turned the camera around and took my own picture through the mirror in my bathroom. Hence the goofy look on my face, I was thinking “no way this is gonna work!”!

      On the verse. We pick prayerfully and after great consideration. I’m sure God can give you a life verse of sorts. It doesn’t mean you don’t study the whole passage. On the contrary understanding the context makes the verse you pick that much richer and when someone asks about it you can give them the context or direct them to the word! 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Linda  |  July 8, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Great idea Jessie. It looks perfect where you have it. I’ll have to give it some thought for myself. I’m not sure what verse I would use or where I would put it, but I like the idea.

    Reply
  • 14. Sarah C.  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Thanks for the tiny peek inside your home. I like your wall color and star and looks like a pretty nice view out the window too.I have seen these stickers on home shows and peoples houses and some mag but I have not seen someone do a bible verse LOVE IT!
    Love the song!

    Reply
  • 15. naomig  |  July 9, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Love this… I’m contemplating putting “Set your affections on things above, not on things on the earth” Col 3:2 when I paint our living room this autumn… I LOVE the verse you did tho! I would like to change the wording of the one I want too: Set your heart upon things above, not on things of the earth. And start over the door and go up with the above, and then wrap my way down around the door with the rest of the verse. I’m still working it out in my head if it will look good or not. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. purplemoose  |  July 20, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Wow! That is really cool! Did you make the stickers, or did you find them somewhere? (And can you share directions or source, please?)

    Oh and I am with you on the band, wow! I got to see them a few years ago for my birthday–my hubby surprised me with arranging time off work, and a sitter, and everything. It was a couple hours’ drive for us to go, and I’m thankful he didn’t get me up in the morning and tell me to get ready to go (which was his original plan, HA HA HA! I don’t do spontaneous like that) I think he gave me a couple days’ notice. Definitely one of my best birthday surprises!

    Reply
    • 17. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 20, 2009 at 11:16 am

      OOoo, I would have liked the spontaneous 🙂

      The stickers are a die cut and we used contact paper with the sticky backing. I can get more detailed instructions if you like but I didn’t do the cutting part so I’ll have to ask my MIL.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

