I love it when my husband is right, I hate it when my husband is right!

July 14, 2009 at 9:30 am 3 comments

I mentioned in another post about a story I had told.  I decided I’d better get my kicks and share it here too and hopefully in less that half an hour, for your sake! 🙂

A couple months ago the big boys and I were at a friends birthday party and I got to talk horses with their grandpa.  He told me through teary eyes that his health was failing and despite his love for horses, haying and helping out his grandkids, he was going to have to neglect his hobby farming and move out of state for the summer to undergo cancer treatments. I was horrified since I had brought up a subject that he was obviously frightened about.  I mentinoned it to my friend, his daughter-in-law and we had a nice conversation about it. I told her I’d pray for their family and she began to tell me about her plight with the horses that had been his and she was now in care of.

To make a very long story somewhat shorter… she was having difficulty caring for and keeping weight on them and asked if  Iwould like to have one.

I of course was extatic.  I’ve got three horses of my own but it’s a strange motley crew.  One 16+ hand draft horse (tall and WIDE) a short mare (Mountain Mare) I’ve had since she was a baby and an even shorter pony/mare for my kids.  None of them are well suited to your average, everyday, friendly guest who might want to have a tour of our local mountians.  I love taking people for rides so I was excited about the chance to have a regular sized horse.

I told her I would “work on” talking to my husband about it and she should keep me informed on how things were going. 

Over the next couple of months I worked hard at trying to figure out a way to reduce our horse expenses so that I could justify feeding another large mouth, to my husband!  Also over the next couple of months my husbands job became less and less stable seeming and a raise became a  dream of the past.

Sooo, my friend called again this week to ask if she could bring the horse over for me, complete with hay and a round pen.

I asked Matt, thinking that after the conclusion of the pig incident I had this one in the bag! Not really, my husband is not a push over and I am not a horrible manipulator. I’m sure on occasion I’ve used my womanly charms to get my way but let me tell you I’m not proud of those moments and they usually come back to bite me.  We do, both want what is best for our family so it serves us well when we hear eachother out and submit to God’s authority on matters.

This time Matt wisely said “No!” Not in those words but still the answer was no and I had no rebuttal because I knew he was right. We really could (can) not afford another horse!  I was crushed.  I had really hoped I could make it work.

I hate it when my husband is right!

I reluctantly called my friend back and broke the news to her.  She understood but still tried to “sweeten” the deal with more hay and the use of a horse trailer they would no longer be needing.

Just before hanging up the phone I remembered something Matt had said, “I have no problem having another horse at the house it’s just not a wise money decision.” He had even told me I should ask her to board the horse at our place so we could ride together.  I offered this option to her and through a series of details and more phone calls her and her husband decided to give it a try.

The next day Sunny showed up at my house looking like this…

 mare2

I had no idea she had fared so badly.  She is quite old, mind you (great for the kids) but her health and weight are far beyond what I had realized when we first talked.  Upon her arrival I tried to hide my shock.  Since my friend is aware of the problem and is now trying to do something about it there was no reason to rub it in and embarrass her but WOW!  This poor mare will have a long road to health and an expensive journey at that.  Thank the Lord and thank my Hubby she is not our financial burden.  It will be a blessing to be a part of helping nurse her back to fat and happy and help my friend learn how to avoid this in the future!

 I love it when my husband is right!

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden. Tags: , , , .

I Heart Faces 100

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Henny  |  July 15, 2009 at 1:32 am

    oh the poor horse! I hope she puts on some weight. you’re kind ot take her on as much as you can.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 15, 2009 at 10:38 am

      Hi Henny! 🙂 I have a huge heart for animals but funny enough I’m pretty hard on them sometimes. For instance I don’t let my dogs in the house much. I have barn cats NOT indoor cats. Not on the bed, not on the couch… you know the drill 🙂 but I love them all! The mare is already looking better- yipee!

      Reply
  • 3. purplemoose  |  July 20, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Our animals are outside too. One dog, one cat, and a “few” chickens. So I’m with ya on that, the house is for the people, the barn/chicken pen/ great outdoors is for the animals. And good luck with her, I know zip about horses but she does look skinny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

