The Long Long Story- Short Version

July 21, 2009 at 10:31 am 8 comments

IMG_4327Where to begin?

Lost horses?

My internet boyfriend?

Life in the long long trailer?

It’s a story about control. A story about learning to give up the illusion of control. This is my testimony written and documented as a “stone alter” to remind me where I’ve been. Equally it’s the story of my ever growing love for my husband a memoir for my children, a written legacy. It is the story of their parents and more importantly the story of the Lord’s unending provision.

It is not always a pretty story and I haven’t attained all that I’ve reached for throughout the years but thank the Lord I haven’t been given what I deserve! He is a good God, giving good and perfect gifts but sometimes that did not include the very things I had my sights on. The desires of passionate moments faded away and in their place my Jesus has given me a full and passionate life.

How about I start with the short version.  Remember, Jessie doesn’t do short so I will give it my best shot!

I asked Jesus into my heart when I was five.  I can still remember it in vivid living color!  My Daddy and I were sitting on the carpeted landing of our three story, turn of the century home in downtown Coeur d’Alene (Core-duh-lane, it’s French).  My mom fondly recalls how I would tell complete strangers my address pluckily including the “downtown” part in my montra!  There is a different feel in “downtown” and even as a five year old I knew it. 

Each block had a dozen or so quaint old houses. Huge oak and maple trees lined the street yawning with their branches over the road, touching in the middle creating a canopy of glistening leaves in the spring and summer.  Those same trees with swelling roots had pushed up the sidewalk in places but people didn’t mind, they just bumped their baby carriages around the crevasse and went on their way awestruck by the sheer beauty of their surroundings.  We had one such tree but it sat back off the road, almost close enough to climb into from the window at the landing where we sat.

I would sit with Daddy and press my little nose against the glass to watch the Robin’s nesting and caring for their young.  Year after year the same family would return to the cradle in that old maple to gather twigs.  Weeks would pass and the mother would lay thumb sized, speckled blue eggs.  She would sit patiently while father, with his beautiful red breast, would flutter off busily caring for her until the chicks had hatched, and then they both would busy themselves caring for the young.  Sometimes I could see the sharp beaks stretched out from fuzz topped heads blind and helpless, waiting for morsels of goodness.  

I’ve often thought of those brilliant birds as an allegory for how God places us here on earth then watches, drawing us while His truth grows inside us ready to burst through the shell of selfishness into a realization that He is the one true King.  Jesus provided a way for us to get out of our mortal shell and really live, then he carefully feeds and cares for us through His Word (spiritual food) and the fellowship of believers as we mature into strong God fearing individuals. 

But I’m getting ahead of myself and my story is getting long!

Sitting there that day watching the Robins with my dad I asked probing questions about life and our existence.  Soon he could recognize that the Holy Spirit was working and he asked if I would like to have Jesus in my heart!  My own heart picked up it’s pace as I pondered the magnitude of this decision.  As much as a five year old mind could I understood that I could not get out of that shell alone. I needed Jesus. 

Daddy prayed with me and covered me with his protection and guidance for the time being.  I understood the Father because I had the example of my own Daddy and I wanted to grow up to be like him. 

Thus began my journey and consequently my life!

Entry filed under: My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

I am me everyone else is taken. My Redeemer Lives

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah C.  |  July 21, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Beautiful story.

    Reply
  • 2. Stacey  |  July 21, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    It’s wonderful to hear about your journey.

    Reply
  • 3. purplemoose  |  July 30, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Wow! Five years old! I love it. Wonderful beginning. . . of course, you know you’ll have to continue the story some time! 😉

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  July 31, 2009 at 9:54 am

      🙂 Yep, I’m a born story teller! Maybe that’s why I got hooked on blogging, I don’t have to tell the short version. Everyone runs when I want to tell a story because they know it won’t fit into the 15min sitcom (with commercials) model. Half hour if I’m trying to make it short. Ha ha!

      Reply
  • 5. Sam  |  August 31, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Oh, that is beautiful! I love hearing stories of children who trust in Christ at a young age because that’s our hope for our kids. And I love your description of your neighborhood. Do you remember that I used to live across the alley from you?

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 31, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      I totally forgot that! What color was your house? I remember the colors and the trees. 🙂 Stay tuned for the next installment of my long long story!

      Reply
  • 7. Where has the mind gone? « Blog Schmog  |  September 3, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    […] has become infinitely more precious to me this year.  You see, my Dad was diagnosed with Early Onset Alzheimers a disease that robs the brain of memory by depositing […]

    Reply
  • 8. My Testimony: The Teen Years « Blog Schmog  |  November 24, 2010 at 5:45 am

    […] stop on the journey of my life is my teen years. While I asked the Holy Spirit into my life at five I had (and still have) much to learn. Little did I know that was only the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

