10’s and Reese’s

August 2, 2009 at 10:09 pm 10 comments

Reese’s:

I tried to take a picture for you of my depressing Reese’s!

Can you BELIEVE they had the nerve to make them SMALLER!?

Matt brought me a package of Reese’s which I stashed away in the refrigerator for a “rainy” day and when that day came I opened up the package to find a scant representation of what my Reese’s used to be. What once filled the package to the edge barely fit in one corner.  I estimated it is only 2/3’s the size it used to be, I should look up the oz but I was too darn bummed.

Maybe I should look on the bright side since eating a Reese’s now equals less calories but on the other hand, I need three cups to get the previous positive effect. 

Maybe I’m better up giving them up all together because when I open a package now I’m suspicious and crabby instead of swept away with peanut-buttery delight.

What would you do if Reese’s were extinct?

10’s:

I’ve recently been reminded of a past obsession.  I may as well call a spade a spade, right?  Most things I tackle become somewhat of an obsession.  I am not moderate in the things I set my mind to.  This week I heard a nice explination in which I might be allowed to call it something other… it was said that the healthy side of obsession is devotion and the unhealthy side of obsession is desperation.  May I call it my newest devotion?

For the time being I am devoted to the idea of continuing my Japanese language lessons.

When I was 15 our family had a Japanese exchange student who fast became one of my best friends.  The following year I spent 10 days in Japan visiting her and got my first taste of the language.  It was actually my first taste of any foreign language, magnified by the fact that growing up in a small town people in California spoke a foreign language. Haha!  Not really but anything outside of our little town was different and strange not to mention I had changed schools enough to somehow “get out of” taking foreign language in high school.  10 days in Japan was my first taste and I liked it!  What a thrill it was to hear the different sounds, see the signs in lines and symbols and even see some familiar but strangely different sights!  I was hooked.

Years later I spent another 10 days with my my husband leaving behind our firstborn baby who at the time was 10 months old!  I missed him dearly but again I was swept away (not like the Un-Reese’s) by the magnitude of it all.  The sights, the smells and the now somewhat familiar sounds.  I bought numerous Japanese language books and attempted to learn the language.  I could ask for a few necessities and introduce myself.  I even learned to write and read Hiragana, one of the Japanese alphabets. 

Guess what?  I found a blog by a Christian, homeschool family in Japan and at the same time a box of books came out of storage that happened to have those Japanese language texts in it!

My newest devotion… Japanese!

Once I picked up the books I remembered more than I would have thought!  It is fun, it is challenging and I love learning something new.  Since I remember the Hiragana alphabet and some of the Katakana (used for writing foreign words) I am going to begin learning Kanji.  The pictographic representations of thousands of concepts were adapted from the Chinese language thousands of years ago and they are fascinating.  At first glance a jumbled bunch of dashes and lines but upon further investigation they are beautiful pictures and visually make a lot of sense.  I picked up a book with the “1st 100 Kanji” and will begin that this evening.

Do you know a foreign language?  If so what one and why?

Entry filed under: Faith First.

Way cool root cellar! Word of the day-onomatopoeia-and my book pick of the day.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl  |  August 3, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Japan?? How amazing! I’m so jealous 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Linda  |  August 4, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I haven’t bought a Reese’s in a while, but I do love them. That’s a bummer. Learning Japanese sounds really cool.

    Reply
  • 3. Summer  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Thanks for your blog comment. I appreciate the sweet note. I also have celiac disease! I look forward to looking through your blog too 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 5, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Thanks for stopping by ladies! 🙂 My family is in town and I’m having a nice vacation, be back soon when all slows down.

    Reply
  • 5. Liz  |  August 7, 2009 at 12:17 am

    That’s so neat about learning Japanese. I don’t know any foreign languages but I have an obsession with Japanese paper products (the pretty stuff) does that count?
    I’m with you on the Reese’s. Everything is getting smaller. Especially the girl scout cookies. My thin mints are dwindling away…

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 8, 2009 at 6:16 pm

      Pretty paper counts as foreign I’d say and too bad about the thin mints 😦

      Reply
  • 7. purplemoose  |  August 7, 2009 at 8:32 am

    I LOVE languages! I started out in Spanish in 7th grade, then took 4 years of it. In high school I took 3 years of French. (One year I went from Spanish class to French class.) The two languages are similar enough that now they are kinda mixed up in my brain, but I do remember a lot of them. I’ve never traveled to a place where Spanish or French are spoken, sadly. But I love the instruction pamphlets that come with products these days, written in (usually) English, Spanish, and French. I don’t think I’d be able to converse in either, but who knows? I’ve just never tried.

    My current goal is to learn Hebrew, and then maybe Greek. I’m so tired of pastors (and others) talking about the Bible and saying, “the Bible says (whatever) but In the original language it means (something else.)” I want to know what the Bible says, in the “original languages,” for myself!

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 8, 2009 at 6:18 pm

      Oh man I TOTALLY know what you mean about Hebrew. Every time I hear about the debth in the Hebrew and how it’s lost on our language it makes me more and more passionate (not desperate right-hehe) to learn Hebrew! 🙂 We should have a Hebrew learning club.

      I’m impressed that you know some of both! That’s awesome. I used to try to read the shampoo bottles when I was showering. It sounds so “sophistocated”!

      Reply
  • 9. Julia  |  August 11, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Hi,
    I took French in HS. Then did some limited Spanish basic learning by tape but really wish I spoke FLUENT Spanish. Time time time….

    Thanks for visiting at Our Simple LIfe. I can see you have your hands full in similar ways to me. All we need is a few pigs and we could be long lost sisters. 🙂 I’m adding you to my reader so I’ll be back.

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 11, 2009 at 9:43 am

      Glad to meet you. I need to do a reader, I still go the ol’ fashion seek and re-find way!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

